We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Imperial Hotel Tramontano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
Ranked #31 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Hayle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,058 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 545 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

We had three days here a while back,cannot praise the place more highly. The staff from the moment we arrived went out of there way to make us feel welcome.
Room overlooked the bay of Naples and below us a private beach. Situated a short walk from the center we spent most evenings sauntering around enjoying he atmosphere of Families and the young folk just having fun without the drunken habits of the Brits at home.

Food was good, have had better but the service made the difference, then there is the pool area....you have to say that after a day out and about a swim and a glass by the side of tha pool is just about right.

Room Tip: Just up the road,two min;s are some great little shops with great buys on good wine and spirits{shou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoyL65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    605
    263
    120
    39
    21
See reviews for
223
550
18
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

We went to Sorrento for our honeymoon and we couldn't have asked for a better hotel. We got an amazing room looking direct on to the Bay of Naples and Vesuvius, and as it was our honeymoon we had a lovely chilled bottle of Prosecco waiting for us. The breakfast in the morning are great, all you could ever want was available and the staff really efficient. When you stay at this hotel you have free access to the beach which is accessed via a lift from the hotel and if you require towels you can get them for free from the pool, I thought this was a great service. All in all we had an amazing stay here and when we visit Sorrento again, this will be the hotel we book.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanHGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol england
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

The view from our 320 euro per night room was just what you would expect from a hotel on the coast but I am unable to say it was value for money,I found the hotel pennypinching with the room extras and the bathroom was very small with only a shower over a very small bath and was difficult to use if you are over 30.The breakfast was a good selection but was very bland so we did not eat any other meals in the hotel,the Wi-Fi was 25 euros for 1 week but it only worked for 4 days and only in the reception and bar a lot of the suits in reception did not care and were unfriendly but some of the other staff were friendly and helpful. I would not stay at this hotel again there are better for less money in the area,the Sorrento area is very nice and the week we spent there very hot it is also between 1-2 hours from the airport

Room Tip: make sure you tell them if you have any walking problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barry n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornchurch
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

We have just returned from our third visit to the Tramontano and although we visit Italy at least once every year this is the only hotel we have ever gone back to, which speaks for itself. As many other reviewers have said the hotel has an excellent location with stunning views across the bay of Naples to Vesuvius, a lift that takes you down to the beach so you can walk along to get the boat to Capri or Positano and just a step outside the entrance and you right in the middle of old sorrento so there is easy access to bars, shops and restaurants.

The pool is lovely and I have always found there are plenty of sun loungers, although you have to relocate yourself after lunch if you want the sun all day. The real bonus of this hotel are the staff. They are friendly and we have always found the service excellent especially in the bar and restaurant.
The cliental in June was mostly older couples(40 plus) its not really a hotel for children and if you want a hotel that offers entertainment this is probably not for you but if you want good professional service in a lovely setting this hotel is hard to beat.

Room Tip: Many of the seaview rooms have french balconies so you cant sit out to enjoy the view, Its worth co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spyderfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife Scotland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

Just back from the Tramontano today (1st July). We had a great time and the hotel is full of old world charm but there is definitely room for improvement. We stayed in a junior suite on a bed and breakfast basis. The first negative is with regard to the check in. The reception staff are the most unfriendly I have ever come across. I do not expect a song and dance routine but the occasional smile would not go amiss. The room itself was large, clean with well maintained furniture and an excellent balcony with wonderful views across to Vesuvius. The breakfast was in my opinion very poor. Its not about quantity but quality. The service was good but the food quality poor. Cold eggs, weird tasting juice and the worst coffee I tasted during my whole Italian holiday. The coffee served at the pool is miles better but then again that costs £4.00 a cup. That brings me on to the pool area. We haved stayed in many quality hotels but the pool area at the Tramontano takes some beating. It is kept immaculately clean and as per the room the poolside furniture is perfect. Yet again there is a downside and as our friends from the Emerald Isle will testify its with regard to the towels. They provide one towel and god help you if you wish two or even a replacement. Its one towel for the day which in a hotel of this cost is downright silly. If they need more towels to go around then go buy them. The poolside lunch is very good quality but the cost of drinks is ridiculous. £4 for a small tin of Coke or Sprite !!! Overall good quality hotel but needs a shake up. I suppose the ultimate test is would we return. Yes to Sorrento. No to the hotel.

Room Tip: If you like a long lie do not take a junior suite on the 1st floor as its under the restaurant and y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HenrikFifeScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drogheda
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

Stayed in the Tramontano for 7 nights at the end of June 2012. This is a very old hotel but still bright and airy and spotless. First impressions on arrival good. Staff at the front desk friendly enough. Our room faced onto the pool area but had no balcony (our fault!), if you can afford a balcony get one. Plenty of positives.. pool is excellent (and very clean), lovely temperature and I have to say all the guests in the pool area were very friendly. Breakfast was also good, cereals, breads, cakes, fruit, not sure what the cooked breakfast was like, but didn't look great. We didn't have dinner in the hotel so I can't comment. Lunch in the poolside snackbar was very good, if a little pricey, but more about that later. The location is excellent, only a couple of minutes to the centre, but still in a quiet location. Our room was cleaned daily, but I would expect that in a 4 star hotel. The negatives, staff are pleasant but not overly friendly, just professional. The cleaning staff were very nice though! We had no tea/coffee facilities in our room and no iron. The hotel provides an ironing service but at a price. Speaking of prices, the pool snackbar is quite expensive, 8 euro for an orange juice, 4 - 5 euro for tea/coffee, but they are in line with Sorrento prices in general. My main negative is the provision of towels (Ian will understand!!). The pool staff will only provide one towel per person, you really need two towels for each sunbed. As this is a 4 star hotel, and I was paying a lot to stay there, I decided that I was getting two towels. I was told there wasn't enough towels to give each guest two towels (there was by the way!) I had a bit of a "discussion" and the pool-man nearly threw the towels at me. In the end I got my two towels! Overall a very positive experience and I would stay here again, but I would get a room with a balcony, and bring my own towel. If you're looking for a hotel in Sorrento, you won't go wrong here.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor and no problems. Didn't hear any complaints about the rooms. Try and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dublindrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

The location couldn't be better for this Sorrento hotel. You are steps away from the historic centre of town but the hotel is set in its own large garden, so it is very peaceful. We loved the view out over the water from our room. The hotel has an elevator directly to the beach down below, or you can walk down through a tunnel in the cliffs. Access to the beach is free if you stay in the hotel, and you can rent lounge chairs and sun umbrellas. Once you get over how unusual the idea of private beaches is to North Americans, you can feel quite pampered by the service provided. You can order cold drinks and food from the pleasant family-run cafe at the beach. The breakfast buffet was included in the room and, as others have noted, it was extensive, with breads, cheese, eggs, and delicious pastries. You can enjoy the amazing view of the bay over breakfast. The only other meal we ate at the restaurant was lunch one day. The food was very good and the staff were friendly and helpful, providing us with a complimentary appetizer to start. We shared several courses so we could sample different things, and the staff were very willing to provide extra plates or divide courses so we could share. The hotel has parking and it was handy to have our car nearby for the sightseeing trips we took to Pompeii and along the Amalfi Coast. But we enjoyed the hotel so much we both agreed to cancel our plans one day and just spend it relaxing at the hotel and on the beach. That was a great day. The only minor complaint was that the internet didn't work in our room and cost extra. This hotel is a little pricy but the view, location and ambience make it well worth it. I look forward to going back.

Room Tip: Paying for an ocean view is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#24 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,204 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Regina Sorrento
Hotel Regina Sorrento
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel Tramontano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel Tramontano

Property: Imperial Hotel Tramontano
Address: Via Vittorio 1, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#26 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#31 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Hotel Tramontano 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Imperial Hotel Tramontano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Sorrento
Imperial Tramontano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing