We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$270
US$225
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Belair(Sorrento)
US$402
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento(Sorrento)
US$345
US$338
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$481
US$451
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$222
US$215
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento(Sorrento)(Great Value!)
US$114
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$182
US$169
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$316
US$306
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bellevue Syrene(Sorrento)
US$1,067
US$888
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cesare Augusto(Sorrento)
US$220
US$213
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,226)
Filter reviews
1,226 results
Traveller rating
701
316
136
48
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
701
316
136
48
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewbay of napleshotel lifthistoric hotelthe cliffprivate liftbar terracepastriespool areaour honeymoonmount vesuviuslovely hotelpublic roomsbreakfast roomjunior suitelarge balconyfew minutes walk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
674 - 679 of 1,226 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We were there for a couple of nights last weekend. We took 2 rooms with the ocean view. One for ourselves and one for our children. The rooms were very spacious and comfortable. Overall the staff was very nice. However, the rooms smelled of cigarettes and there was mold all over the ceilings of the bathrooms in both rooms. Having been to many hotels both expensive and budget, this was the first time I experienced mold in a hotel. I mentioned it to the staff at the front desk and was told it must be recent due to the location (near the ocean) and the moisture in the bathrooms. Let me tell you, based on the amount of mold that was present, there is no way that it happen overnight. It would take many months. At the prices that they were charging, over $400 a night, this is completely unacceptable and they should be ashamed of themselves. It's too bad because the hotel itself is very pretty and is in a great location. Short walk to ferry to Capri and 1 block away from town.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Stayed here for a week in August with family. The hotel we had originally been booked into told us days before that the hotel was overbooked! On arriving at the hotel, we were shown to our rooms on the fourth floor. We were so disappointed when we saw the size of the rooms and how basic they were. We had been upgraded to a sea view rooms. Our children had a sea view next door but with a very small window and no balcony. We had a sea view with a balcony but not enough room to sit outside and enjoy the view. The hotel itself is a beautiful old building and is very clean and the staff seemed very pleasant indeed. The location is fantastic, as it has easy acces to everything i.e. shops, restaurants, ferry, train, bus but the hotel still manages to remain quiet and away from the hustle and bustle of the main square. The pool area is lovely, with beautiful tropical gardens. It is a little on the small side for the hotel and you have to queue for beds in the morning to get a good spot! There is a little corner shop just nearby where you can buy wine, soft drinks and crisps very cheaply, otherwise you will pay five euros in the hotel for a glass of coke. I wouldn't stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sanroc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012 via mobile

Stayed for four nights as a family group and had three rooms altogether. On arrival, only one room was ready, so we all went to that room which was 421. I was shocked on entering the room at how poor it was, small, very dark with one tiny window looking out onto a flat roof, the window had bars on it. The room and bathroom were old and dated, but clean enough. I would have complained about that room, but some of the group who had stayed in the hotel before said they'd take it. There is no way that that room is 4* standard, even taking into account that Italian 4* is really 3* elsewhere.
Later we and the other couple were given rooms 338 and 339, they were both the same, very small with twin beds, you couldn't fully open the minibar as it hit the bed it was that small, but the rooms were much better than 421 as they were bright, faced the garden and had balconies, but no views of the Bay of Naples as requested.
The toiletries in the bathroom were the worst I've ever used, the shampoo smelt like soil. On the first night the beds had a thin cotton sheet and a thicker cotton sheet which were fine, but after the first night only the thin cotton sheet was left, my wife had to use the dressing gown as a cover as the AC needed to be on too as it was instantly sweltering if it was turned off. After the second night only one dressing gown was left as the other had been removed.
Breakfast was ok, plenty of choice, but the cooked option wasn't great. Every juice tasted like grapefruit despite being labeled as orange juice, they were a strange colour too. Some of the breakfast staff smelt terrible which is not nice at breakfast.
The pool is nice, a bit small for the size of the hotel, and no beds if you go in the afternoon.
The lift down to the beach is useful, but randomly closes from 2-4pm which is strange. The tunnel down to the beach is pitch black and dangerous with many trip hazards. The beach itself isn't great and very expensive for beds, but worth a visit for a swim in the sea.
I would probably give this hotel 2.5 if possible, but the hotel is very expensive to stay at and drinks etc. are extortionate. The location is great and Sorrento is lovely, but having stayed in 2,3 and 4* Italian hotels this hotel just did not meet expectations. Staff were generally ok, lady on reception was friendly, but the men less so. The hotel definitely needs to up its game and move into the 21st century. I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravLux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Very nice hotel would recommend paying the extra for the sea view it's worth it. Pool and bar area are fantastic and the mid summer party they had was very good as well. Great location for the beach and the private lift and tunnel make it very easy to access. Would definatly go again.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

This is the first time we had been to Sorrento and did not know which hotel to select. We could not have made a better choice. The location was terrific with easy access to everything but the hotel was quiet and secluded. All public areas were clean and tidy and the gardens well maintained. Our room overlooked the sea with a wonderful view of Vesuvius, (room 106). The bed was very comfortable and the air conditioning very welcome.

All the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast staff were quietly efficient and discreet. We did not eat in the evening in the restaurant but breakfast buffets were fresh and varied with something for everyone. We very much enjoyed an early evening cocktail on the balcony leading from the bar, a great place to watch the sun set and the boats on the bay and later in the evening the lights in Naples.

The hotel was previously a residence and others we spoke to whilst there all had a different type of room, so I can understand why some of the reviews I have read differ somewhat to mine, however if you want something that lacks character and is a chain type where all rooms are the same then this is not the place for you. The rooms are all different which I think adds to the charm.

This may not be the cheapest hotel in Sorrento, but I would definitely return if I were to go to Sorrento again.

Room Tip: I would say that the sea view rooms would be the best option.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kingsmead01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews