We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location but seriously overpriced.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
Ranked #32 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location but seriously overpriced.”
Reviewed 14 September 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for a long weekend a paid about 500 /night. For what we paid you would've thought we got free Internet but that is not included. The interior was old and could use a facelift. The bed was not comfortable and you could not watch tv while lying in bed. However, the room was huge- just nothing in it. The view was gorgeous. The breakfast was great. Some of the staff was friendly and some seemed bothered when we asked questions. Overall just far too overpriced for a mediocre stay. But if you're more concerned with location- this place is in a perfect spot.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kkp83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    625
    275
    121
    40
    21
See reviews for
230
569
20
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Just home from the Tramontano today. My husband and I spent a glorious 10 days in the junior suite 212, with a fabulous balcony over seeing the bay of naples, the bed was very comfortable. The suite had 2 flat screen television between 2 rooms, a sofa and a fridge and a large bathroom. Air conditioning had 3 different settings ,We got the suite at a discounted price by Citalia at the New years sale. We thought it was too good to be true but it had the biggest balcony of all the suites. We found the staff to be very professional and friendly. Breakfast was very good and well managed. The hotel felt very welcoming and dress was very casual.The hotel has its own private lift to the beach, Antonio, the lift attendant was very attentive and charming, we never had to wait too long. You had to pay for the beach beds and umbrellas

Room Tip: Seaview is a must, Citalia offer good rates on their winter sale
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lafalot3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

A four star rating with five star staff, service and location.

An excellent hotel choice in a beautiful holiday location. Sorrento is a wonderful place to stay or to use as a base to explore the numerous points of interest in the area.

Selected the Tramontano for the classic style and location. Having read the various Tripadvisor reviews I was concerened about the room allocation. We arrived two hours late to a warm welcome from from the concierge and were escorted to room 205. Any concerns I had were alleyed as the door opened to reveal a very spacoius, well appointed, beautifully decorated and immaculately presented room with a virtually silent air conditioning system. The bathroom was of similar proportions and presentation. Marble tiled floor, two person, whirlpool bath with integral shower, large wash hand basin, wc, bidet and a good size shower cubicle with mosaic tile floor and walls. excellent miiror, lighting, heated towel rail, hair drier.

We had originally reserved a room with garden view room but later opted for a sea view.

Room 205 became even more impressive when we opened the two double doors onto the french balcony. We arrived late at night so could see the lights of Sorrento to either side and Naples across the bay. The biggest reward for the room change was revealed when we awoke the following morning to an uninterrupted panorama of the bay of Naples and Vesuvius. An amazing sight and another excellent reason to seriously consider this superb hotel.

All public rooms are beautifully decorated. The dining room has large panoramic windows overlooking the sea. Breakfast, served from 7.00 to 10.00 offers a selection of fruit juice, fresh fruit, pastries, cold meats, as you'd expect. The staff are excellent and the breakfast service is very well managed.

The large garden to the front entrance, swimming pool, terrace area are well kept, with waiter service from the bar. The sea view terrace and bar is another good place to relax during the day a good spot for the early afternoon and evening sun with excellent service from the bar staff.

The hotel is ideal for the City centre; close enough for exploration, shopping, restaurants but a peaceful retreat when required. It has a private lift to it's own, beach and bathing area but is also close to the town lift to the marina for the frequent and numerous ferries.

If you are planning a visit to Sorrento, the Imperial Hotel Tramontano is a high quality, beautifully kept and well run hotel, with high standards and excellent staff.

Thanks to all for a wonderfull stay.

Room Tip: Would happily recommend 205 as noted. Had a brief glimpse of 206 suite, next door, looked very impre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Very nice hotel in the centre of Sorrento. I booked three rooms for my family last september and they were all pleased about the stay. Sea-facing rooms are in particular quite nice with a stunning view of the gulf. Expensive, like most of the things in the area, but still a good compromise between quality and cost.

Room Tip: Get sea view rooms if you can afford them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kermite77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

My wife and I stayed for six days, the first week of September, and were generally very happy. The room was clean and comfortable, and the facilities generally satisfactory. The shower was over the bath and was a bit old but worked okay. There was a small balcony that partly overlooked the pool area, but we didn't use it because the terrace by the bar was so much more appealing.

Food. Breakfasts were fine - usual buffet arrangements. Tea and coffee not great mainly because of the hard water. We had two set evening meals, the first was very good, the second, a bit starchy considering it was described as 'light'. The morning view from the dining room was glorious - a massive bay panorama with Vesuvius right in the middle.

Bar and bar terrace. The terrace shared the same aspect as the dining room and was a lovely place to sit, read, drink, chill. Yes, as has been pointed out elsewhere, the drinks are far from cheap, but with that view, understandable.

Service. The staff were all very attentive, friendly and helpful, (but it was odd that they weren't able to provide change - we wanted to split a large euro note in order to tip staff - but were told this was 'asking for the moon'! Why, for goodness sake?!)

Pool and beach - we didn't use, so can't comment.

General. We would go back. We found the hotel to have a sort of slightly eccentric old-world charm to it, a certain warmth that is missing from many slicker top-end hotels. As for cost, we went there as part of a package, and so it was probably cheaper than the listed room rates

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window facing the bay. (You might have to pay more)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roslyn, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We were there for a couple of nights last weekend. We took 2 rooms with the ocean view. One for ourselves and one for our children. The rooms were very spacious and comfortable. Overall the staff was very nice. However, the rooms smelled of cigarettes and there was mold all over the ceilings of the bathrooms in both rooms. Having been to many hotels both expensive and budget, this was the first time I experienced mold in a hotel. I mentioned it to the staff at the front desk and was told it must be recent due to the location (near the ocean) and the moisture in the bathrooms. Let me tell you, based on the amount of mold that was present, there is no way that it happen overnight. It would take many months. At the prices that they were charging, over $400 a night, this is completely unacceptable and they should be ashamed of themselves. It's too bad because the hotel itself is very pretty and is in a great location. Short walk to ferry to Capri and 1 block away from town.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Stayed here for a week in August with family. The hotel we had originally been booked into told us days before that the hotel was overbooked! On arriving at the hotel, we were shown to our rooms on the fourth floor. We were so disappointed when we saw the size of the rooms and how basic they were. We had been upgraded to a sea view rooms. Our children had a sea view next door but with a very small window and no balcony. We had a sea view with a balcony but not enough room to sit outside and enjoy the view. The hotel itself is a beautiful old building and is very clean and the staff seemed very pleasant indeed. The location is fantastic, as it has easy acces to everything i.e. shops, restaurants, ferry, train, bus but the hotel still manages to remain quiet and away from the hustle and bustle of the main square. The pool area is lovely, with beautiful tropical gardens. It is a little on the small side for the hotel and you have to queue for beds in the morning to get a good spot! There is a little corner shop just nearby where you can buy wine, soft drinks and crisps very cheaply, otherwise you will pay five euros in the hotel for a glass of coke. I wouldn't stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanroc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#24 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,483 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,463 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel Tramontano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel Tramontano

Property: Imperial Hotel Tramontano
Address: Via Vittorio 1, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#27 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#31 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Hotel Tramontano 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Imperial Hotel Tramontano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Sorrento
Imperial Tramontano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing