We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfactory”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
Ranked #36 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2013

The Tramontano is located ideally within the town of Sorrento, close to nice restaurants and shops as well as providing great views over the waterfront. The room itself was satisfactory without being amazing and we slept comfortably without being bothered greatly by the street noise. The buffet breakfast was generally good without being incredibly tasty. The staff were very welcoming and overall our experience at the Tramontano was a good one.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickLiub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,162)
There are newer reviews for Imperial Hotel Tramontano
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

511 - 517 of 1,162 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2013

Ok, to set the scene, we had just stayed in a 4 star in venice which was truly amazing.
The Tramontano however had a big flaw.
First impressions, wow grand hotel, fantastic garden and lobby (show pieces), we were show to our double room and it was ok, but rather plain, small, and the bathroom very basic, bear in mind to stay here was £250 per night, i was like ok not great but no worries. then with in minutes i could here our other guests in the adjacent room, every word, door close, use and flush of toilet, it reminded me of a cheep motel not a 4 star hotel, and its purely down to the cheep construction of the building. If you pay more than £100/night you WILL feel very bitter, if you are happy with lots of noise then go for it, the hotel is nice and set in a fantastic location with good views.
For the un rectifiable flaw of poor sound insulation i cannot recommend a sat here for that excessive price.

Room Tip: room 200 is the quietest in the building, if pre booked request this, doesnt have the views, but you...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tom a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We spent a week at the Tramontano, in one of their basic double rooms, and had a most enjoyable time. The beds were comfortable, bathroom good (the only hiccup was the shower which seized up (the plumbing is not new) but it was immediately remedied) furnishings attractive.

The hotel is central but peaceful, set on the cliff top and surrounded by its own very pretty garden with good pool. Inside the public rooms are delightful and immaculate. A superb breakfast is served overlooking the bay towards Vesuvius, and the public balcony (with bar) looks the same way, towards the sparkling lights of Naples.

Staff were quietly efficient, helpful when needed and spoke English well.

Room Tip: Rooms on both sides have nice views
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The-Kent-Bees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

They need to change the food and beverage manager. I was glad that we were only staying B&B as the breakfast was poor. Tinned fruit, the fresh fruit that was on offer looked like it was what the market could not sell, need a better selection of bread, I would suggest they add some french style bakery items. The hot items were, rubbery eggs left in terrines, poor quality throughout the meats. We had lunch at the pool once, and made sure we dis not experience it again. I do not mind paying a lot for meals if it is good, but it was awful.
Location was great, cocktail bar stunning views with good cocktails (but over-priced). This has such a great location it could become a really great hotel, but there is clearly no one on their management team with that vision.
One good plus was free internet thoughout the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pejac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

After reading the mixed reviews i was worried. Let me just say we had an absolutely amazing time. The staff was helpful , the pool was beautiful, the beach below was amazing. I had emailed my travel agent and expressed a desire to be placed in a more well apointed larger room since it was our honeymoon. I do not know if she spoke to them or if they just made sure we were placed in a better room after seeing it was our honeymoon. Regardless we had a very large, beautiful room with a jacuzzi in the bathroom and a huge balcony overlooking the sea and mount vesuvius. The balcony was large enough for a couch and a table to eat at.
we did not eat at the restaurant but did have breakfast at the hotel once. It was not the best but luckily we slept until lunch time almost everyday anyway!
All in all we had an awesome stay and an amazing honeymoon!

Room Tip: room 103 was awesome!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank firewaterx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Tramontano was everything we hoped it would be. Our room had a fantastic sea view, the staff cordial and helpful, the location was very convenient, and the breakfast one of the best we have had in Italy. Highly recommended.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Biggerunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I visited this hotel for a wedding approximately 6 years ago and had always wanted to return with my husband, as it had made such an impression on me.
We decided to book this hotel for our 25th wedding anniversary and we weren't disappointed.
The rooms were lovely, although the one we were in was quite a bit smaller than the last one I stayed in and the bathroom was a bit cramped but this was only a minor issue. The breakfast was plentiful and very enjoyable with breathtaking views over the Bay of Naples. Before we went out in the evening we thoroughly enjoyed relaxing on the balcony of the hotel bar, having a drink and some nibbles, once again taking in the view.
The hotel is elegant and the staff are friendly. The location is also excellent, close to the train station, shops and restaurants.
There is a lift that takes you down to the bayside where you can take a short walk to the port to get a boat to Capri.
Although I had always intended on returning to this hotel, I read some reviews on Trip Advisor before I booked and found one or two negative comments about the hotel not being as good as it used to be. I had some reservations but went ahead with the booking anyway and I am so pleased I did. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and I hope to return again some day.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nolanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,728 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#30 of 100 in Sorrento
942 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,556 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel Tramontano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel Tramontano

Address: Via Vittorio 1, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#28 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#31 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £173 - £685 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Hotel Tramontano 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Imperial Hotel Tramontano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Sorrento
Imperial Tramontano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing