We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on earth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
Ranked #31 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Heaven on earth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

I stayed at the Imperial Hotel Tramontano for 4 nights from the 8th of July. I was staying with my husband and my daughter, we arrived before the check in time and the staff on reception were really friendly and informed me that we had an upgrade of room to a junior suite with a sea view. When we got to the room we were absolutely delighted, the bathroom had a jacuzzi bath, a corner shower and 2 sinks in a marble top. The room had a king bed and a single bed, 2 sofas and a coffee table but what took our breath away was the view from the balcony. We had views over the bay of Sorrento and Vesuvius. We had breakfast looking out over the bay, the staff were charming and we enjoyed the food. The pool and gardens were beautiful, we really enjoyed our time relaxing there. This was the 3rd time I have visited Sorrento, my family love it, the location, the history, the decor, the views and the friendly staff in this hotel make this a very special place, To use a Welsh expression, it was LUSH!

Room Tip: After having a room looking out over the bay, this would always be my recommendation if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erica o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,058 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    610
    268
    120
    39
    21
See reviews for
225
555
19
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Beautiful Hotel! Ideal location! Wonderful staff!
We stayed at the Imperial Hotel Tramontano for 7 nights on our honeymoon on July 5th and had a fantastic time. We had a great experience with all the staff. Rosanne went over and above to ensure that we enjoy our stay and took very good care of us!
Location of the hotel is ideal, in walking distance to everything in the city; restaurants, bars, shops, museums is a 5 minute walk. Train station is 10-12minutes walk. The hotel has a private lift free of cost to marina (public beach and port) which is usually extra cost in the other properties in the city.
We will definitely come back and recommend this hotel to all of our friends!

Room Tip: Definitely worth going for a sea view room as the hotel has the best view in Sorrento!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liagodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

The location is surely a very offering an incredible view, yet the service and hospitality is among the worst that I ever experienced in the region. We arrived a bit too early for check in and the staff refused to give us internet access until we were fully registered at the hotel, making me lose an important business SKYPE call. During our stay every interaction with the director of the hotel was simply terrible. In other words of Imperial this hotel has only the price and the view... if you expect good service look elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GDE1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luigi g, Direttore at Imperial Hotel Tramontano, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear anonymous,
I have a well-founded suspicion that you never been in this Hotel.
Staff at reception use to give free wifi passwords for one or more devices to early check in as well as to late check out clients.
I hope that when in a not too distant future you will be visiting the Tramontano for the first time, you will
experience that I work long hours and I’m a very welcoming person.
I love so much the picture on top of your name.

sincerely

Luigi Guarracino
Director
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
Sorrento
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
farnham, surrey, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We've been to Sorrento many times and on this occassion we decided to stay on The Imperial Tramantano. The hotel is in a great spot and we paid for a deluxe seaview room. There is not doubting the room had one of the best views from a hotel room in the whole area, it was breathtaking! However, I doubt that our room had been decorated from many, many years. It was in a desperate need to a major refurb. Scratched paintwork, faded lampshades, chipped tiles and bed so old it creaked when you got in. Whilst most guests seemed to be of the view that this was the 'Italian' way it certainly isn't our experience with hotel such as De La Ville or the Ambasscotri.

The public areas of this hotel are great but we really felt it was let down by a couple of really penny pinching management policies. When you are paying a lot of money for a hotel with all the grandeur and history of this establishment you do expect something a bit special.

Our first issue was the hotel's strict policy of only one towel per person, per day by the pool. Whilst we did try and convince the pool attendant to let us have another dry towel the answer was no. When we discussed this issue at reception we were told it was the 'owners' policy not to give more than one towel per day to guests. That is ofcourse if you are a first time guest. There was a hard core group of guests who come to the hotel every year and it seemed like they could have whatever they wanted. To the point that the pool attendant was reserving their beds for them before the pool area opened with two towels! I know this sounds pathetic but how do you encourage customers to want to come back when you treat the first timers and the old timers so differently.

Breakfast was very average but lunch on the terrace was lovely. Drinks on the veranda were amazing - such a great view.

This hotel needs to spend some money on their rooms and start treating all it clients with the same service level. It has so much going for its location and public areas but it can not neglect it's rooms.

Room Tip: Room 411 has an amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank florisitinfarnham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon. The location was great as we could walk to tons of restaurants and to the port where we were able to take day trips along the Amalfi Coast. The views from the terrace were amazing and we went there to have a drink and watch the sunset many nights. The front desk staff was very helpful and the food at the breakfast was very good.

Room Tip: We had a garden view and I wish we had upgraded to a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bufha12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randolph, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Great location with beautiful sea views, and easy access to the central district. What really made our stay special(for seven people) was the excellent and courteous service we received from the staff. Special thanks to Rosanna and signore Romano for making it a truly memorable visit.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank lsmanzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Absolutely amazing! Sometimes words can't describe it but here goes.....In a nutshell, room, hotel, pool, views and especially the staff....... incredible. So friendly and nothing was too much. Perfect location with unbelievable panoramic views. So near to the centre, but then again the centre is not everything. Sorrento has so much to offer. One of our best holidays! Do it!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms look out on to Vesuvius.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#28 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#22 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,434 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel Tramontano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel Tramontano

Property: Imperial Hotel Tramontano
Address: Via Vittorio 1, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#26 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#31 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Hotel Tramontano 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Imperial Hotel Tramontano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Sorrento
Imperial Tramontano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing