We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable View !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
Ranked #34 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2010

This is a beautiful hotel with lovely gardens and a perfect location. The breakfast room is beyond belief all decorated with pink and white linens, fresh roses and a view of Naples Bay. You are welcomed and escorted to a table and served coffee before helping yourself to an elegant buffet . Do pay for a room with a water view, as it is truly spectacular. The hotel is tucked away on a quiet street one block away from the cute shops. Hotel is beautiful, staff is friendly and helpful. Would definately stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MGT32963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,165)
There are newer reviews for Imperial Hotel Tramontano
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

794 - 800 of 1,165 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2010

This is a beautiful hotel - the location, the view, the service could not be better! We stayed in a room with a balcony overlooking the sea and Mount Vesuvius. I could not stop taking pictures. And the gardens in the front were another awesome picture. Just a walk across the street and you are in the middle of Sorrento. All the people from the front desk to the restaurant were service orientated. I could not say enough good about this facility.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2010

We stayed at the Tramontano for a week in September 2009. The hotel is in a great location just minutes walk from the main restaurants and bars. We paid extra for a seaview room which was worth doing. The room is to a good 4 star italian standard, very clean, nicely decorated with wonderful views across the bay of Naples. The pool area and gardens are very well maintained. The breakfast room was lovely all glass fronted looking out across the bay. The breakfast itself was good with plenty of choice and fabulous italian pastries! We ate by the pool several times and had very nice food, slightly expensive, but then so are most things in Sorrento.

You can get a lift down through the cliff to the beach platforms below. We did not tend to bother with this as the pool area was lovely and you had to pay €15+ per person for the day to get a lounger.

Whilst in Sorrento we visited Pompeii which was amazing. I could not believe how well preserved the town is or how big it is. If you are there during the summer months it does get very hot, so a hat and plenty of water are advisable. Also arrive early during peak season as the ques are ridiculous.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louchalmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2010

Having visited this holiday about 8 or 9 years ago, at the same time of the year, and had a wonderful experience, it was disappointing this time.
The hotel and grounds were as good as I remember but the restaurant sadly disappointed.
On our first night we booked for eveing meal and when we entered the dining room, there was only three other tables occupied!
This did not create any ambience and when we looked at the menu it was rather limited. We both had a pasta starter and although ok, was no better than the packet stuff you buy in the UK, and the tomato sauce again was very much like the sauces you buy at a supermarket.
For the second course I had sea bass and it was ok but did not enthuse.
The wine list was ok but rather on the expensive side - so was the meal.
Obviously with the pound weak against the Euro everything was that much dearer but even taking that into account , it was still expensive.
The staff were very good and upon talking with the waiter he told us that the Hotels policy was not provide half board ( we were bed and breakfast) as peoples eating habits meant they ate in outside restaurants, which was probably true and he said that for them it was very boring with little to do !
We took advantage of a special offet and had a Junior suite with a sea view and this was as good if not better than I remembered.
We had friends holidaying in the Hotel Grand and we ate with them each night at a cost of 33 Euros each for a wonderful ,and I mean wonderful three course meal, presented immaculately and with a varied choice.
So overall I would say that the Tramantano as a hotel is still a nice place to stay at but go bed and breakfast and eat out - and beware the mini-bar, I paid 5.50 Euros for a small bottle of water !!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJC_Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2010

We have just returned from our first visit to Sorrento, and it will definitely not be our last! We picked this hotel largely based on the other reviews and it was an excellent choice. The hotel is a 2 minute walk from the main Piazza Tasso and yet it is very quiet away from the hustle and bustle of the town. Many of the other hotels are out of the centre and would involve quite a steep walk down to the town. The hotel is built into the high cliff side and you can sit in the dining room looking out over the whole of the bay of Naples and towards Vesuvius. Immdeiately next to the hotel is a small public park and our room looked out over this. We had a small balcony which we could sit out on with views to the sea as well.

Some have commented on the hard pillows and I would have to agree, as was the bed, but it did not interfere with my sleeping at all, and there did seem to be a softer pillow in the wardrobe if you preferred it.

We stayed Bed and Breakfast which was good - plenty of choice largely Continental style but there were always eggs available too. The staff were all very friendly, helpful and they all speak good English. We ate out every night as there was such a good selection of restaurants to choose from in Sorrento, although the menu in the hotel restaurant looked very good but could be expensive.

Public transport in Sorrento is very good and the Circumvesuviana train station and the bus station are next to each other, and only a 10 minute walk from the hotel. We did the Amalfi Drive by bus so that we could both enjoy the wonderful views. Bus fares are cheap and you buy your tickets from the Tabacchi shops of which there are many, including one next to the station. We visited Pompeii, Vesuvius and Herculaneum by train, and you can get the ferry or the hydrofoil to Capri from the Marina Piccolo which is approx 15 minute walk from the hotel, either by road, shuttle bus, or the quicker route down a lot of steps! You buy the tickets for either of these down at the marina. The Concierge in the hotel will give you all the time tables for everything.

All in all a wonderful trip and I cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2010

Very nice hotel on the cliffs of Sorrento. excellent service, wonderful view, nice food and wines

Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
Thank Hansus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2010

Fantasic location. Great sea views. My room did have a funny smell when I first walked in but soon lifted once I got the balcony doors open. Only spent one night here but would definitely stay at this hotel should I go back to Sorrento.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karma_21uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,733 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#30 of 100 in Sorrento
945 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,560 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel Tramontano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel Tramontano

Address: Via Vittorio 1, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#28 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#31 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £171 - £656 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Hotel Tramontano 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Agoda, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Imperial Hotel Tramontano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Sorrento
Imperial Tramontano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing