We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great valued gem”
Review of Hotel Desiree

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Desiree
Ranked #71 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We loved Sorrento and Hotel Desiree was perfect for us. The staff are so pleasant and helpful. The quad room was big and very comfortable. The best part was the cliffside elevator down to an amazing beach. It is a 10-15 minute walk into town- but the walk provides great vistas. Really great value- and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (414)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

103 - 109 of 414 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2012

The staff were really friendly, they couldn't help enough! They knew the area so well that they could provide excellent insight and maps into any trip you could imagine, along with timetables. The location was nice. 10 min walk into town, lovely views from the room. The bed linen and sheets were clean.

Although the bedlinen and sheets were clean, the rest of the room was not as clean as would be liked. The toilet smelt of urine, even after the cleaners had been in. On closer inspection it seems that the seat and under the rim hadn't been cleaned. Also the floor in the bathroom wasn't touched in all the four nights we stayed.

Also the room had no air conditioning so there was a fan provided. When the fan was put on it was so loud that to get any sleep we had to buy ear plugs. Another point was that the shutter on the window did not work.

Room Tip: Request one with a balcony. The views are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank obries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

This hotel is clean, friendly and affordable. It has a lovely private beach and an awesome view. My teen daughter and I were travelling together. We felt safe and well cared for at Desiree.

Some have complained about the breakfast. Either they have upgraded their breakfast or the compaliner was looking for bacon, eggs & pancakes. The breakfast is more than a typical Italian breakfast with choices ranging from cereal, yogurt, pastries, fresh fruit (oranges from the trees outside) to coffee/expresso and juice. While no meat is offered, the yogurt offers protein and kept us going most all day! We only needed a small snack in the afternoon in order to hold out for our late dinner. There is so much to do in this area!

Other complainers have mentioned the stairs ... really? You were in Europe. The staff is willing to help carry luggage if one needs assistance, but all of my travels in Europe equalled a lot of walking ... buy good shoes and enjoy the exercise.

Lastly, the basement smell issue. We too stayed in the basement. Having said that, keep in mind this is built into the side of a cliff. The basement is the lower level, but not a dungeon. There were some smells in our room too which I aquaint with the moisture in the air/furniture. Once we opened up the room (ours had French doors opening onto a patio area) the breeze took care of everything.

When I go back ... I will stay here again! Thank you for everything!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nanav07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

The hotel is very clean - rooms cleaned, beds made & towels replaced every morning. Cassandra & Antonio (daytime & morning/night at reception desk respectively) are extremely helpful & friendly ... And honest about places to visit/eat price-wise.
We had the economy room, which is at the bottom most floor. Despite the trek up & down, the room was absolutely wonderful. The right size for 2 people. Bathroom is clean (small, but normal by European standards) with updated fixtures. The breakfast is very good - fresh cornettos & breads/cakes, freshly squeezed juices & freshly brewed coffee (made per your request - black/espresso/cappuccino/latte). If the weather is good, definitely have it outside on the patio or up on the terrace and enjoy the great views.
The room had two beds joined together. Springs in the mattress were a little hard. There is no elevator, and free Wifi is available only in the lobby & terrace areas. The hotel locks the front door at 11:30PM, so if you expect to be out later, remember to ask for the outside key so you don't get locked out! They have at least one set of exterior keys for each room, so getting one won't be a problem - just ask!

This place is up the hill from the central square at Sorrento, and is a 20-30 minute brisk uphill walk from the Circumvesuviana train station (which is also where the Naples airport - Sorrento bus drops you off). If you have bags, seriously consider taking a bus up to the hotel.
The hotel offers a tour to Capri which is better value than doing one by yourself. Worthwhile to take this tour if you're going to Capri.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DandS08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We have just returned from this lovely hotel where we spent 4 days. I have given it a 4 but that is mainly because the staff are so nice and helpful, they really cannot do enough for you and are always willing to help. We stayed in room 1 and had a lovely view from our balcony. The room was big enough for what we needed and although the furniture is old it is very clean. The computer is great and I managed to get in touch with home a couple of times. I never managed to connect to the wifi tho.
Breakfast is ok, a bit bland and plain but just down the road you can buy something else if you want the hotel is cheaper than most in the area so bland breakfast is a small price to pay

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ekkygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

yes, this is a budget hotel, and yes, i'm sure there are better places to stay, but if you are out and about exploring the Amalfi Coast your entire trip and eating your way through town, what more could you need?? the staff is absolutely amazing!! the two men at the reception desk (both look alike) are so warm and nice and funny. they mapped everything out for us, set us up on a day trip to capri, vespa rides to Positano and gave us recommendations on where the "locals" like to hang out. breakfast was included, and left much to be desired, but all we needed was a little fuel to start off the day. our room was pretty standard, and the shower was somewhat unrealistic (very small with only a hand-held shower head) be we had the most SPECTACULAR view of the ocean from our window that we didnt seem to mind. The rooftop of the hotel provides views of the whole town.. and i cannot forget to mention the "private beach" that is shared with the neighboring hotel. there is a lift that takes you down (kinda scary, but pretty cool! relax, and enjoy you are a far ways from home!) you ascend this long lush walkway of beautiful roses, flowers and antiques that lead you to a pebble beach. the water was freezing, but even the best of words can not do justice to the view and feeling of just being there and taking it all in. personally, i fell in love with the "hotel cats" that wander around at their own will. the only reason why i didnt give it 5 stars, the walls are VERY thin, you could hear everything.. like how many times our neighbors went to the bathroom.

amazing amazing! the bus from the train station drops you off right in front of the hotel... its a bit hard to find.. like a hidden gem :)

Room Tip: ask for a room with a balcony! or with a window facing the ocean (mid-upper level of hotel)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

I was excited to stay here after reading some reviews and communicating with the owner/manager. It is located at the top of the hill, you will have a wonderful view. However, as a solo female traveler and booking 6 months in advance, I was surprised to learn where my room was. I was literally in the basement, which, I might add, I'm not a diva, however, the room smelled like a basement. I had a tiny view from my balcony, which perhaps alleviated my disappoinment, but all in all I was not happy! I told the staff member this and I was told that this is where all solo travelers are placed... in the basement! The 'free' computer is against a wall and when you sit in front of it, you block the cleaning staff's supply room! And then you ascend 5 flights of stairs to reception and the door. There is no lift. Yes, this is a budget hotel, but there are others in Sorrento and they're far superior.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MoreMediterranean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.1 mi away
Villaggio Verde
Villaggio Verde
#70 of 100 in Sorrento
257 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Tonnarella
La Tonnarella
#59 of 100 in Sorrento
503 reviews
0.7 mi away
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
1,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Spicy Sorrento
Hotel Spicy Sorrento
#81 of 100 in Sorrento
97 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
1,387 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel il Faro
Hotel il Faro
#85 of 100 in Sorrento
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Desiree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Desiree

Address: Via Capo 31B, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £55 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Desiree 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Desiree is just 10 minutes’ walk from the town centre, in a quite and panoramic location. Clean and spacious the rooms have views of the Desiree’s gardens and/or the sea of Gulf of Naples.Lovely panoramic terrace with bar, parking and lift to reach its free private beach. Harbour and train station are also just a pleasant walk away and buses run from nearby the hotel. Staff at the Desiree are friendly and welcoming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Desiree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desiree Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Desiree Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing