We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What more could you ask for?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Desiree

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Desiree
Ranked #70 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What more could you ask for?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

The hotel was clean and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Our room had a balcony overlooking the bay to our right and a natural "canyon" to the front. There is a little waterfall that runs through the canyon and you can hear the soothing sound of the water running down to the beach. This helped us both to sleep like babies. The breakfast is quite typical of continental hotels, cerials, breads, fruits and yogurts etc. The boat trip to Capri organised by the hotel is excellent value and the one we were on was not at all crowded... on a smaller vessel which made it more special than the larger more commercial boat trips down at the port. You are also picked up and returned to the gate of the hotel so it really is recommended. The only thing I would suggest to the hotel is that they upgrade their internet PC, its showing its age and can be slow. We had a wonderful view from our balcony and if you dont get a sea view from your balcony then the rooftop terrace provides wonderful panoramas of the bay of Naples and Vesuvius. If you are somebody who is picky and would rather spend a bucket of money on a hotel room then you may find faults but other than that, I really have only good things to say about this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 17 was on the bottom floor of the hotel but had a corner balcony so the views were beautiful. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bacoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    151
    59
    16
    15
See reviews for
78
185
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

Three things we loved most: friendly staff - Antonio is the most helpful and cheerful staff that can answer any question; private beach - we had a great time at, laundry service - for only 8 Euro they wash, dry, pack and return the clothes in less than 8 hours.
The Capri tour they carried was also of good value, probably even cheaper than you go on your own (Sorento - Capri + circle Capri )
Though a bit far from the town center, the walk grant you great view of Naples Bay and Sorrento.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gordon CC Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

We loved Sorrento and Hotel Desiree was perfect for us. The staff are so pleasant and helpful. The quad room was big and very comfortable. The best part was the cliffside elevator down to an amazing beach. It is a 10-15 minute walk into town- but the walk provides great vistas. Really great value- and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

The staff were really friendly, they couldn't help enough! They knew the area so well that they could provide excellent insight and maps into any trip you could imagine, along with timetables. The location was nice. 10 min walk into town, lovely views from the room. The bed linen and sheets were clean.

Although the bedlinen and sheets were clean, the rest of the room was not as clean as would be liked. The toilet smelt of urine, even after the cleaners had been in. On closer inspection it seems that the seat and under the rim hadn't been cleaned. Also the floor in the bathroom wasn't touched in all the four nights we stayed.

Also the room had no air conditioning so there was a fan provided. When the fan was put on it was so loud that to get any sleep we had to buy ear plugs. Another point was that the shutter on the window did not work.

Room Tip: Request one with a balcony. The views are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank obries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Independence, Missouri
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

This hotel is clean, friendly and affordable. It has a lovely private beach and an awesome view. My teen daughter and I were travelling together. We felt safe and well cared for at Desiree.

Some have complained about the breakfast. Either they have upgraded their breakfast or the compaliner was looking for bacon, eggs & pancakes. The breakfast is more than a typical Italian breakfast with choices ranging from cereal, yogurt, pastries, fresh fruit (oranges from the trees outside) to coffee/expresso and juice. While no meat is offered, the yogurt offers protein and kept us going most all day! We only needed a small snack in the afternoon in order to hold out for our late dinner. There is so much to do in this area!

Other complainers have mentioned the stairs ... really? You were in Europe. The staff is willing to help carry luggage if one needs assistance, but all of my travels in Europe equalled a lot of walking ... buy good shoes and enjoy the exercise.

Lastly, the basement smell issue. We too stayed in the basement. Having said that, keep in mind this is built into the side of a cliff. The basement is the lower level, but not a dungeon. There were some smells in our room too which I aquaint with the moisture in the air/furniture. Once we opened up the room (ours had French doors opening onto a patio area) the breeze took care of everything.

When I go back ... I will stay here again! Thank you for everything!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nanav07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

The hotel is very clean - rooms cleaned, beds made & towels replaced every morning. Cassandra & Antonio (daytime & morning/night at reception desk respectively) are extremely helpful & friendly ... And honest about places to visit/eat price-wise.
We had the economy room, which is at the bottom most floor. Despite the trek up & down, the room was absolutely wonderful. The right size for 2 people. Bathroom is clean (small, but normal by European standards) with updated fixtures. The breakfast is very good - fresh cornettos & breads/cakes, freshly squeezed juices & freshly brewed coffee (made per your request - black/espresso/cappuccino/latte). If the weather is good, definitely have it outside on the patio or up on the terrace and enjoy the great views.
The room had two beds joined together. Springs in the mattress were a little hard. There is no elevator, and free Wifi is available only in the lobby & terrace areas. The hotel locks the front door at 11:30PM, so if you expect to be out later, remember to ask for the outside key so you don't get locked out! They have at least one set of exterior keys for each room, so getting one won't be a problem - just ask!

This place is up the hill from the central square at Sorrento, and is a 20-30 minute brisk uphill walk from the Circumvesuviana train station (which is also where the Naples airport - Sorrento bus drops you off). If you have bags, seriously consider taking a bus up to the hotel.
The hotel offers a tour to Capri which is better value than doing one by yourself. Worthwhile to take this tour if you're going to Capri.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DandS08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

We have just returned from this lovely hotel where we spent 4 days. I have given it a 4 but that is mainly because the staff are so nice and helpful, they really cannot do enough for you and are always willing to help. We stayed in room 1 and had a lovely view from our balcony. The room was big enough for what we needed and although the furniture is old it is very clean. The computer is great and I managed to get in touch with home a couple of times. I never managed to connect to the wifi tho.
Breakfast is ok, a bit bland and plain but just down the road you can buy something else if you want the hotel is cheaper than most in the area so bland breakfast is a small price to pay

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ekkygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.0 mi away
La Tonnarella
La Tonnarella
#59 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.2 mi away
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#42 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Settimo Cielo
Settimo Cielo
#72 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#36 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#31 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Desiree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Desiree

Property: Hotel Desiree
Address: Via Capo 31B, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Desiree 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Desiree is just 10 minutes’ walk from the town centre, in a quite and panoramic location. Clean and spacious the rooms have views of the Desiree’s gardens and/or the sea of Gulf of Naples.Lovely panoramic terrace with bar, parking and lift to reach its free private beach. Harbour and train station are also just a pleasant walk away and buses run from nearby the hotel. Staff at the Desiree are friendly and welcoming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Desiree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desiree Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Desiree Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing