We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value small hotel”
Review of Hotel Desiree

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Desiree
Ranked #67 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good value small hotel”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

By and large hotels in Sorrento are expensive. If you are looking for a cheaper option this is a good one. Our room (near reception and the breakfast room) was a little noisy but not unbearably so - the view from the window (over the Bay of Naples towards Vesuvius) was stunning. Staff are really helpful (including sending useful hints with the confirmation email concerning personal safety and travel).
As others have written, it's a way out of the main town with a longish walk uphill - not good after a night out! Because of this, and the number of steps at the hotel, I don't think this is suitable for people with limited mobility (or who don't like a walk).

Free parking is available at the hotel - but space is extremely limited. Staff often need to move residents' cars.

We had a good time but are (relatively) fit and like walking. If you don't - avoid. If you do - highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wren104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    160
    60
    17
    16
See reviews for
82
202
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Friendly helpful staff, good views, private beach (accessed by lift) fifteen minutes walk to centre of Sorrento. My basic room was clean, comfortable with a nice balcony with lovely sea views. It was down three flights of stairs, no lift, but this was clear when I booked. Good breakfast. Strongly recommend at the price.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martinrDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Good place especially considering what you pay but it is not exactly in the centre and lots of stairs without any lift. However, staff are really great and helpful. If you have mobility problems make sure you get a ground floor room. The so called private beach is so small and expensive that it is not worth advertising. All in all I suppose it can be classified as adequate, surely not more than that.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Antonio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary Canada
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed at the hotel Desiree for 4 days and I think they were one of the highlights of our trip. The corner room we had overlook the bay of Naples and a small beach which was accessed via an elevator. The beach was not officially open yet but we did get a swim in.
The rooms are basic but clean. The staff and owners could not have been more accommodating and would help with anything you asked. It was a pleasant walk to the town centre and if you were tired at the end of the day the bus went right to the front door.
The breakfast was good in a bright room overlooking the valley. I would highly recommend this hotel for a stay in Sorrento for those who do not want to spend a fortune but be near the sea with a great view.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Papa_JCalgaryCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

I am just about to leave the hotel, but I'm currently sitting on the cute patio overlooking the ocean listening to birds twitter using the free wifi on my phone! The service here is excellent, Antonio at the front desk was so patient and accommodating with our many, many silly requests such as: please microwave lasagna, please give me a fork, please print this ticket, please print this pass, please show us how to make the @ symbol, please tell me this, that, then this ... Comforting us when we missed the blue grotto because we got lost ... Etc ... The breakfast is great fresh picked fruit with delicious organic oranges, home made breads etc ... Beautiful view, private beach. Good shower. They offer great excursions too through the hotel, take their Capri trip! Plan at least three days in Sorrento so much g

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janeylizabeth1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

A friendly reception at a lovely little hotel just outside Sorrento. View from the rooms is excellent, down a gorge over the bay of Naples.

Location is good, outside the town, but within comfortable walking distance of the charming town centre of Sorrento.

Breakfast was excellent; great quality food.

Room was not spacious, but perfectly adequate for a short stay. We were close to reception, and this was a little noisy - and every little noise seemed to echo along the corridor. I found the bed a bit firm for my liking.

We wish we had more time to use the private beach (with a lift down - shared with the neighbouring hotel).

Parking was very convenient - just outside the front door (but best suited to small cars).

Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Might be best to avoid room 2 (which is near reception, and may be noisier than other rooms).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin97uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013 via mobile

Good:)
Location: ten minutes pretty walk along a coastal sidewalk away from town. Good view of cliffs, nature from outdoor patio / terrace.
Staff: superbly friendly & enthusiastic (even with advice for further traveling away from Sorrento - they provided us with maps for Naples). Knowledgeable about local sights, activities, etc
Breakfast: humble & friendly breakfast room with staff visibly caring about guests experiences. Organic breads & cakes, locally sourced fruits (wow! I've never had such good oranges), home made jams, naturally squeezed juices & fresh coffee!

Not so good :(
Rooms: bathroom was great with fresh, almost unused fixtures. Patio was small & view blocked somewhat by our next door neighbours patio, but the huge sliding windows let in lots of natural light. No tv. No wifi (only in communal area). No heating - but the staff scoured the hotel for a working plug in heater & the third try was the charm. Good, firm bed & mattress, but woeful covers - many blankets which have seen much better days, very surprised they don't buy some fresh duvets.

Overall..... A really good budget hotel with friendly, passionate staff. With a few tweaks the hotel Desiree could be outstanding!

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank FredDead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.0 mi away
La Tonnarella
La Tonnarella
#60 of 100 in Sorrento
472 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
1,346 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#46 of 100 in Sorrento
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
#24 of 100 in Sorrento
1,738 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel il Faro
Hotel il Faro
#84 of 100 in Sorrento
466 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#35 of 100 in Sorrento
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Desiree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Desiree

Property: Hotel Desiree
Address: Via Capo 31B, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Desiree 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Desiree is just 10 minutes’ walk from the town centre, in a quite and panoramic location. Clean and spacious the rooms have views of the Desiree’s gardens and/or the sea of Gulf of Naples.Lovely panoramic terrace with bar, parking and lift to reach its free private beach. Harbour and train station are also just a pleasant walk away and buses run from nearby the hotel. Staff at the Desiree are friendly and welcoming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Desiree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desiree Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Desiree Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing