We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“staff, breakfast, and view were excellent”
Review of Hotel Desiree

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Desiree
Ranked #67 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Vicenza, Italy
1 review
“staff, breakfast, and view were excellent”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The staff, breakfast, and view were excellent. The location is walkable from downtown Sorrento for able-bodied individuals. I wouldn't recommend the walk for those with physical limitations. Although, the hotel is on the bus route (SITA and EAV). While the room (a triple for 2 adults and 1 toddler) was spacious and had a large closet, the furniture, room decor, and bathroom were dated. For the money we spent, I would have liked the room to be a bit more modern and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    157
    59
    17
    15
See reviews for
79
197
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This hotel is within easy walking distance of the town centre, has amazingly friendly and attentive staff and also offers excellent free parking, which is a godsend as anyone who knows what the Amalfi Coast's parking charges and spaces are like. The other bonus is that it is situated near the main road but you can hardly hear it.

Food, room, and amenities are basic but are expected due to the price. All in all a great decision and will definitely stay here again if we ever come back to Sorrento.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simonNFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Desiree in April for 4 nights. The hotel is ideally located for lovely views minus the crowds, a short 5 minute walk from the city centre. Our room overlooked a waterfall and you could hear it's rushing sound when you opened the windows - beautiful combination with the view. The rooms were clean and well maintained. The staff in particular were amazing and provided excellent customer service. They were always willing to make recommendations (all good!) and had helpful suggestions on where to eat and where to go (even providing maps with highlighted walks). Highly recommend.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Lilith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We travel a lot and have never yet written a bad review, but this was a really disappointing experience. The room was dirty and the furnishings old and tired with tiles cracked and mould in the bathroom. The shower is in the bath and handheld and to be honest I was reluctant to use it. We were unlucky with the weather which turned and cold, ( not something the hotel can help), but they could have turned the heating on. We were there for three days and the heating only came on once. Since there was a gap between the window frame and the window sill with the outside air coming through, even this didn't help much. The hotel was fully booked so we couldn't change rooms. The staff were friendly and we wish them well, but they really need to review the standard of their accommodation.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UDee52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portland, or
Level Contributor
69 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The location is a short walk up the hill, but worth it for the quiet and the views. They also have parking which is scarce and pricey in Italy. We drove all over Italy, but would not recommend driving to Sorrento or beyond. It was quite a hair raising ordeal and we should have left the car in Orvieto. That said, you can walk anywhere in Sorrento from the hotel and getting to the train station for the trip to Pompeii or beyond is a snap. The staff were all very friendly and helpful with explicit directions and recommendations. Do not miss Pompeii. The rooms are pretty tired and the shower is a hose to hold, but it worked out fine. The beds and pillows were the firmest of our trip and need to be replaced, but for the price and location, one cannot complain. The wifi worked fairly well. They have a lovely roof top terrace with terrific views. We did not get down to the beach. Do not miss Raki Gelato in the old town, it is the best.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view and a balcony if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happpycamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We stayed 4 nights at Hotel Desiree.
Staff is friendly and helpful, and the rooms are large, clean, and comfortable.
Our room had a terrace with beautiful views of Mt.Vesuvius and the bay.
The hotel is an easy and scenic 20 minute walk from the train station.
Breakfast was good-cereals, yogurt, fresh fruit, cheese, and an assortment of baked goods.
We thought Hotel Desiree was a great value.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mimzy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

We always stay at Hotel Desiree when in Sorrento,if we are in luck and it's available. The owners and staff are just so friendly and helpful, the prices are excellent and the location is just magnificent. It's set somewhat up the hill Via Capo heading up the cliffs out of town, but we love the ritual of that walk with those breathtaking views, which are best enjoyed from the roof terrace with a Prosecco! Thoroughly recommended

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank ianandian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.0 mi away
La Tonnarella
La Tonnarella
#61 of 100 in Sorrento
457 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#47 of 100 in Sorrento
454 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
1,721 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tasso Suites
Tasso Suites
#41 of 100 in Sorrento
367 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#35 of 100 in Sorrento
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Desiree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Desiree

Property: Hotel Desiree
Address: Via Capo 31B, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Desiree 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Desiree is just 10 minutes’ walk from the town centre, in a quite and panoramic location. Clean and spacious the rooms have views of the Desiree’s gardens and/or the sea of Gulf of Naples.Lovely panoramic terrace with bar, parking and lift to reach its free private beach. Harbour and train station are also just a pleasant walk away and buses run from nearby the hotel. Staff at the Desiree are friendly and welcoming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Desiree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desiree Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Desiree Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing