We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable”
Review of Hotel Desiree

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Desiree
Ranked #71 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Amazing views in a quiet location. Rooms a bit dated and bathroom disappointing. Hand held shower at hip level so difficult to wash hair! Breakfast adequate. Staff friendly and very helpful. Private beach readily accessed. Easy walk into main centre of Sorrento with spectacular views and phot opportunities on the way. Certainly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 56mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

71 - 77 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

What I should have expected for the price. Great staff and views from the room and the rooftop deck. Capped every night off by buying a bottle at the store and enjoying it on the roof. Included breakfast was adequate (breads, cereal, yogurt, cheese, plus the best coffee). Rooms need to be better maintained. Floors were dirty and bathrooms had mold and ants. Rooms aren't air conditioned and mosquitoes get in if you leave the window or balcony door open at night. Handheld shower? Come on. Bathrooms need updating. Bed/mattresses also need to be replaced. The hotel is walking distance from town, but it is on a hill. We liked the walk, but as others mentioned, this may be an issue for some travelers.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sealeo100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The was our first stop on our 2 week Italian honeymoon. From the moment we arrived to the day we left, we received the absolute best service! All of the staff were so helpful with directions, restaurants recommendations, sightseeing, everything! The room we stayed in had an incredible view! There was a waterfall too that we couldn't really see but we could hear! Leaving the windows open at night was the best experience! And the breakfast - AMAZING! The tomatoes were by far some of the best we had during our entire trip in Italy. Fresh fruit and the homemade breads were just incredible! The location was just far enough to be out of town yet we were able to walk everywhere. And the restaurant up the hill - Verdemare - probably one of the best experiences we had in Italy!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 6 which had a balcony with a view of the sea and we could hear water from a nearby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aimee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We loved our stay in the Hotel Desiree! Great thanks to Desiree`s staff - very nice and helpfull. Breakfast was good, room was very nice and view from our room and from the hotel was excellent! Hotel is near everything.There is a litle walk down in to the town centre (and back up again) but it is just good moment for litle "exercise" and to admire the wonderfull panorama.

Room Tip: Room 1 was very good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We loved our stay at this delightful hotel. The service that Corinna and her staff provide makes you feel at home and relaxed. They do an excellent breakfast and the views of Vesuvius across the sea are what you come to Sorrento for. Once you are orientated to the hotel you realise it is an easy walk into the town. If arriving at the bus/train station then this is at the other end of town so we took a taxi with our luggage initially, then walked for the rest of our stay. The hotel arranged a great trip to Capri which was good value. The rooms in this hotel are a little dated but the experience of staying here is well worth it. We arrived on a Marozzi bus direct from their depot outside Rome Tiburtina station, then left on a Sita bus to Amalfi, and another from Amalfi to Salerno which showed us spectacular coastline. Just wonderful. Enjoy

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony overlooking the ocean have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gaynor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The staff, breakfast, and view were excellent. The location is walkable from downtown Sorrento for able-bodied individuals. I wouldn't recommend the walk for those with physical limitations. Although, the hotel is on the bus route (SITA and EAV). While the room (a triple for 2 adults and 1 toddler) was spacious and had a large closet, the furniture, room decor, and bathroom were dated. For the money we spent, I would have liked the room to be a bit more modern and comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This hotel is within easy walking distance of the town centre, has amazingly friendly and attentive staff and also offers excellent free parking, which is a godsend as anyone who knows what the Amalfi Coast's parking charges and spaces are like. The other bonus is that it is situated near the main road but you can hardly hear it.

Food, room, and amenities are basic but are expected due to the price. All in all a great decision and will definitely stay here again if we ever come back to Sorrento.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simonNFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.1 mi away
Villaggio Verde
Villaggio Verde
#70 of 100 in Sorrento
257 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Tonnarella
La Tonnarella
#61 of 100 in Sorrento
504 reviews
0.7 mi away
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
#22 of 100 in Sorrento
1,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Spicy Sorrento
Hotel Spicy Sorrento
#81 of 100 in Sorrento
97 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
1,387 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel il Faro
Hotel il Faro
#85 of 100 in Sorrento
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Desiree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Desiree

Address: Via Capo 31B, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £56 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Desiree 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Desiree is just 10 minutes’ walk from the town centre, in a quite and panoramic location. Clean and spacious the rooms have views of the Desiree’s gardens and/or the sea of Gulf of Naples.Lovely panoramic terrace with bar, parking and lift to reach its free private beach. Harbour and train station are also just a pleasant walk away and buses run from nearby the hotel. Staff at the Desiree are friendly and welcoming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Desiree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desiree Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Desiree Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing