We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Bristol
Ranked #15 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Quite simply the loveliest hotel I've ever stayed in.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 5th floor which had a good sized balcony and terrific views.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,471)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Bristol
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,527 - 1,533 of 2,471 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2011

The seaview from our balcony over the bay and Vesuvius was spectacular-breath taking.
Or room was spacious and there was a very high standard of cleanliness.
All staff was very friendly, polite and helpful,
Breakfast was enjoyable, evening meals was very disppointing not up to the high standart of the rest of the hotel also very rushed not enough time to relax and enjoy the wonderful view from the restaurant however the staff was very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Frances O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

The views from the Bristol Hotel are stunning! We had a lovely room on the ninth floor which had recently been renovated. The dining room also had gorgeous views and we ate there every morning for breakfast and also one dinner. I could not fault the food or service in the dining room. The hotel staff (especially Ercole) were very attentive and went out of their way to ensure that we had an enjoyable stay. The hotel is about 10 minutes easy walk into town

Room Tip: Ask Ercole for a room with a sea view and a balcony.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SirisMate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

My husband I recently stayed at the Bristol for 10 nights to celebrate our 20th Wedding Anniversary.
It is our first time to Sorrento and we had a wonderful holiday,Sorrento and the Amalfi coast being absoloutely beuatiful. The hotel was all we could have wished for, a lovely large room with balcony and stunning views accross the bay, vesuvious and the fishing village below. We had a half board arrangement at the Bristol but did not expect to eat there each evening as I am quite a picky eater.I was pleasantly surprised as the food each night was very good, large portions and plenty of choices. Breakfast was equally as good with plenty choices from the buffett and the option to order eggs and bacon. The staff in the resturaunt couldnt have been more friendly or helpful and if you didnt want to choose somethingoff the menu at night there was an offer to prepare something different....cant get much better than that. The wine menu was extensive but many were quite expensive as you would expect usual Hotel prices, you dont pay for anything but it is charged to your room and yousettle the billon checkout. We found this very convenient but it is easy to forget what you are spending! It may be useful to keep a tab jotted down so there are no surprises. We had lunch at the hotel twice, both times had pasta which was delicious.We used the pool several times and never had to worry about getting a sunbed, the pool is large if a little on the cold side, pool towels are provided and there is a nice pool bar with lovely views when you need some shade .In fact there are so many lovely views from different parts of the hotel you could always find a nice spot to sit and gaze out at the bay or the marina below. I could not find fault at all with this hotel and it made our holiday in Sorrento very special.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suzywillows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

We have just returned from our wonderfull honeymoon yesterday after a week's long stay at he Bristol, we did not want to come home. The view from our room was amazing as was the pool restaurants, bar's etc. The staff in the restaurant were unreal as was the reception staff, bar staff and cleaner's. The food was wonderfull and the wine and overall the hotel is fantastic, so relaxed, chilled and the only way to describe to people was pure HEAVEN, just a little walk down then hill was the lovely bay and town, aswell as all the day trips which are unreal too through the hotel. The staff treat you like royalty honestly and the all the guest's that stayed here when we were there were too the nicest people aswell we must say, after our perfect wedding in Rome a week earlier we did not think it could match it. We too will return here for sure aswell, can't wait for it already (lol). Thank you so much x

John Bosco& Francesca McGrath

Co,Tyrone, N/ Ireland

Room 506.

23/09/11

Room Tip: ask for a room with a sea view
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank francesca m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We have recently returned from an idyllic holiday in Sorrento. We stayed at the Bristol Hotel which we highly recommend. This Hotel shone on all facets. On arrival we were made very welcome and a porter was on hand to carry our luggage. The Reception Staff were very friendly and professional. All the staff in this hotel are a credit to the Bristol. The Hotel is spotless and our room was spacious,clean and had extremely nice fluffy towels. The views from our balcony (Room #509) were spectacular and there are lots of areas in the Hotel where you can just sit, unwind and admire the amazing scenery. The roof top swimming pool is just lovely. The Bristol is ideally located, just a short stroll and you are in the charming lively town of Sorrento where there is so much to see and do. A week isn't long enough.

The only niggle which pains me to write is that we felt the evening meal was mediocre and lacked flare and imagination. Try lunch in the Hotel (much better) and evening meal in one of Sorrento's many tempting restaurants. There are so many appealing restaurants to choose from and the town is such a fun place. We would definitely revisit Sorrento and the Bristol Hotel.

Room Tip: Its worth the extra for a sea view and balcony. Request a high floor. 5th is fine.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TrevlynAdlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Just got back after a 2 week stay at this hotel. Such a lovely place, room was lovely, staff wonderful, food was lovely. overall a great place to stay in a perfect location. walking distance to the main town ( 10 minutes). do the excurtions yourself, don't pay through the nose with holiday companies, good train service and cheap, easy to get to Pompei for 3 Euros return, and 11 euros to get in. Get the local bus for the Amalfi coast just 7 Euros return all the way.

I would recommend this hotel hightly and Sorrento is wonderful.

Room Tip: Above 3rd floor at front.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ray_cleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
2,440 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,398 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,733 reviews
0.1 mi away
Minerva Hotel
Minerva Hotel
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
1,120 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Address: Via Capo 10, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sorrento
#3 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#7 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#9 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £112 - £284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Bristol nestles into the cliff side, in one of the most enchanting corners of the coast, offering its guests stunning panoramic views, stretching from the picturesque fishing village of Marina Grande below to the Punta Scutolo in the distance and directly across the bay to the majestic Vesuvius with Pompei and Naples at its feet. For generations the highly professional Acampora Family have been offering a warm welcome to its international clientele, many of whom return year after year and consider the Hotel their second home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bristol Sorrento
Bristol Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing