We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A stunning location”
Review of Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Bristol
Ranked #14 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Just returned from the Bristol Hotel. Our first time in Italy, and definately not our last. The hotel staff were so welcoming and friendly, the room had a spectacular view over the bay and Vesuvius, and we spent many happy hours just watching the world go by. The food was always quickly served with a good all round choice, and the breakfasts were amazing, with every sort of fruit, cereal, juice, bread, jams, and even smoked salmon and champagne - all buffet style so you could have as much as you wanted. Pillows a bit hard, so pack your own soft one if you are fussy like me! Overall a perfect setting, and a welcome introduction to the warmth of the Italian people. The Thomson trips were well organised, if a bit pricey, but sometimes you just want to be looked after - and if you are lucky enough to get Teresa as a guide you are in for a great day. Stacey, the Thoson rep was really helpful and kind too. The town of Sorrento has loads of shops and bars to keep you occupied, and the two Marinas are a great place to chill, and drink and eat and chill and drink! The train ride around the town is well worth the money, and the lift down to Marina Piccalo is fantastic value at 1 euro! Highly recommended holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cabbagecaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,510)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,556 - 1,562 of 2,511 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2011

stayed here during half term with our young son in June. Had a super time. Lovely big room with stunning views - room 602. breakfast was excellant which dinner was generally good. The waiters and host was very friendly and particulary good with our young son. Pool lovely and little play area for toddlers. Super location - not far from centre - although busy road to cross. Also got married over here on the Friday - at villa fondi and foreigners club. def come back - familes rooms not quite as nice

Room Tip: higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kargyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

A first class hotel staffed by excellent and helpful staff. Half board good value, could be great with a little more attention to the main course.

Buffet breakfast a real treat.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GM2132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

fantastic views from the front of the hotel overlooking he two harbours of Sorrnto
excellent food
but not enough attention was paid to detail
1 there were no instrucions for the safe in the room. Two different men came up to it but we still couldn't work it. The last man said he would send a colleague up to look at it but nobody appeared.
2 a white bathmat was at the sides of the bed. You can imagine what colour that was at the end of the week!
3 sliding door on bathroom would not stay open. It had only been undercoated and had many filthy marks on it. Horrible!
4 On the television the picture of the Sky News channel was so bad it was unwatchable.
5 service in the restaurant was mixed. Dirty plates etc. were left to pile up on the table at times. One course at dinner was literally thrown at us on the table and we wre given each other's order.

I would have not expected these negative points from the grade of hotel and all of them could be easily rectified.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We stayed at this hotel for the last week in September. Our room was situated in the annexe on the third floor and whilst we would have preffered to be in the main building initially we quickly changed our mind, The view from our balcony was breath taking and we would have gladly paid extra for it. We wanted a bed and breakfast board but could only get half board and the food was average. We ate out on four nights and were not disappointed in any of the restaurants we went to particularly the local ones at the marina below the hotel. The staff are very attentive and could not be faulted. Pool area and balcony area are lovely also with great views. One other point to note was that we found a large percentage of the hotel residents were of pensionable age ( possibly because of the time of year) so its not a younger persons hotel.
We bought ferry tickets to Capri and it is a lovely island and worth visiting however it was extremley busy with large tour groups so this spoilt things a bit. We also went to Positano by ferry and fell in love with the place. On the day we were there it was not too busy and we spent the whole day walking around and doing a bit of shopping. Its very easy to go to the marina and buy tickets for both excursions and at least half the price than what Thomsons charge but if you are not able bodied it will be difficult due to the steep walks. In postano we climbed 403 steps to the top.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happylassie52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We stayed at this hotel with a Thomson package which was excellent although not a cheap holiday. The room with balcony, overlooking the bay and Vesuvius was great with table and two chairs and the food at breakfast and the evening meal was very good although not outstanding. Staff very friendly and attentive, especially in the dining room where they were exceptionally well organised. Drinks expensive but everything seems to be in Italy. We did not use the swimming pool but did use the lovely open air lounge area just below it. Here there are sun loungers and comfy chairs and sofas either in the sun or under vast shades which we preferred. Everywhere there are fantastic views of the Bay of Naples. The walk into Sorrento was very easy although the path is narrow and the traffic fast and furious. Our main reason for choosing to stay at Sorrento was to visit the Roman sites of Pompeii and Herculanium so we had pre-booked a half day to Pompeii with a guide which was not good value and only allowed us less than 2 hours in the place. Also the guide had a very strong accent which, through the headphones they give you nowadays, made it very difficult to hear. We therefore took another day and went by train. This is really, really, easy. The station is in Sorrento town and takes you right to the Pompeii site for 2.40 euros each way. One of us is over 65 so entry is free and just 11 euros for the other so a very cheap day out and we were able to wander around the vast site for as long as we wanted which was great. The day trip to Vesuvius and Herculanium was fine as the site is much smaller but, again, the accent and headphones made it difficult to understand the tour guide. Really enjoyed climbing up Vesuvius. Thomson rep the best we have ever encountered and service when we called the 24/7 helpline exceptional. Overall a very good holiday in a comfortable hotel with amazing insight into life in ancient times.

Room Tip: The suites looked amazing with loungers and jacuzzi if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Morgancouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

My wife & I stayed here from 23-30th September,prior to going we had read many of the very good reviews but overall we thought it fell short of our expectations in comparison to other 4-5 star hotels we have stayed in both in Italy & other parts of the world. The plus points are the excellent views from the restaurant & terrace over the bay of Naples & also when not out visiting the sites the pool is located on the hotel roof so that you get the sun into late afternoon during the later months of the year whereas talking to friends some other hotels down in the town lost the sun around 2pm . Also the hotel staff that were very friendly & attentive. The cons that we found were that we were staying annexe ( room 169 ) and the room always had a damp smell , we asked if we could move but were advised there was no availability even though we would have paid to upgrade again & there is traffic noise off the busy main road so i would suggest as other people say asking for a higher room on booking .Though the pool had a good location it has a feel of a city hotel rather than a resort location & you could only have 1 pool towel per person without paying extra charges & they charge for wi-fi at the hotel on a half hourly basis ( shortest connection charges i've had at any hotel to date ). The food really was a conundrum ranging from excellent to very average, but our main gripe was that they are served too quickly & we had to ask on a few occasions for 10 mins between courses in order to allow time for our food to settle & one fish course we had wasn't cooked thoroughly. As a result we ate out in the town on few occasions - all excellent starters , 2 main courses & bottle of wine for about 45 euros. We paid are £900 each with Thompsons for our week here & earlier in the year stayed 10 days in Malcesine ( Italian Lakes ) for £750 in a far superior hotel. The organised trips that Thompsonsoffered were very expensive & I would recommend if you are going to Pompeii to get the train which drops you bang outside for about 6euros & at the weekend it is free entry ( local guide 10 euros & v.good ) Thompsons ( 45 euros for same ) & Capri 30 euros on hydrafoil from the piccolo harbour recommend you go up to Anacapri & go on the chair lift to the top of the mountain the views are outstanding ( Thompsons 68 euros not in cluding chairlift ) . The only other thing i would advise not to do is get the local bus to Amalfi / Positano it was absolute bedlam there were about 300 people queing for a 50 seater hourly bus & after queing for 3/4 of an hour when the bus came a crowd about 30 locals/germans decided to run to the front of the bus & try a push there way on ( some choice words & raised tempers ) hassle you don't need on holiday. The views on the Amalfi coast road are good but the journey is a drawn out 1.5 hours , for this trip I would recommend a boat trip ( 1 hour ) or an organised trip. Had a good holiday in Sorrento nice restaurants in town & would recommend popping in the Kiosk bar for more reasonable drink prices I think the resort caters more for the regular cruise liner clientele .Personally we prefer the Lakes ( more relaxing & picturesque ) but still with excellant bars & restaurants . J & J .

Room Tip: Upon booking ask for a higher level room ( has 8 floors ) the first floor has a lot of traffic noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,521 reviews
0.0 mi away
Minerva Hotel
Minerva Hotel
#13 of 100 in Sorrento
1,140 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
3,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
981 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,768 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#24 of 100 in Sorrento
3,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Address: Via Capo 10, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sorrento
#3 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#7 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#7 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#13 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £111 - £312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Bristol nestles into the cliff side, in one of the most enchanting corners of the coast, offering its guests stunning panoramic views, stretching from the picturesque fishing village of Marina Grande below to the Punta Scutolo in the distance and directly across the bay to the majestic Vesuvius with Pompei and Naples at its feet. For generations the highly professional Acampora Family have been offering a warm welcome to its international clientele, many of whom return year after year and consider the Hotel their second home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bristol Sorrento
Bristol Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing