We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“""When you want the best, go get the best""”
Review of Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Bristol
Ranked #15 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“""When you want the best, go get the best""”
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Hi there ,

This Year for Family reasons I knew I would only get away for one Holiday so

it had to be the best. Although I have been to the Bristol in Sorrento many

many times I knew it would fulfill all my wants and needs.

It is without doubt one of the Best Hotels in the world.

My previous reviews on record can and will describe all the wonderful

parts of this Hotel, Reception, Restaurant, Bar, Pool, and most of all

the INCREDIBLE STAFF.

I cannot give a higher recommendation to any other Hotel in the World

than I can give wholeheartedly to The Bristol.

You will enjoy and appreciate every minute of your Holiday.

Pauline ,, in Dublin.

Room Tip: Choose Room with a Balcony, and enjoy an unforgettable view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irishholidaylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,783
    400
    107
    27
    10
See reviews for
385
1,452
22
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (781)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We stayed for a week in September 2011, and had a wonderful time. This report is quite long and detailed, so for those that don’t want to read it all, I can say that the Hotel Bristol is an excellent hotel, in a great location, with extremely polite and helpful staff.

We paid 185 Euros a night for a ‘Comfort Room with Balcony and Sea View’. Other rooms were available on their website at different prices and configurations, but this seemed to be the general price for the balcony and view combination. Cheaper rooms had a view, but no balcony, or vice-versa.

There is a dark looking annexe on the left hand side of the main building as you look at it from the road. I don’t know what the rooms are like inside, but those with a balcony are very near to the busy road, and have little privacy since people walking up the road to the hotel look almost directly onto these balconies.

If buying directly with the hotel (instead of part of a package holiday, such as Thomson), I suspect the hotel will be even more flexible with you if they can. I had emailed them a few times before arrival asking for a high floor, to avoid the traffic noise that has been reported on the very lowest floors, which we certainly got.

THE ROOM

The hotel looks like a big rectangular block from the outside (and on Google street view), but this doesn’t show all the additional areas inside – it is quite a labyrinth! From reception on the ground floor we had to go by lift up to floor 7, where the two dining rooms and the lounge bar are located, and walk past them along a long winding corridor (with walls filled with artwork) to another small lift, up another three floors, and walk back along a smaller corridor to our room – Room 906.

From the balcony it’s somewhat clearer how it lays out – we were in a section of the hotel above and to the right of the main block as you look at it from the street. There’s no complaint about this, however, since we were at least ten floors up from the road level, and we didn’t hear any road noise at all.

The view in this section of the hotel is slightly more northwards than those in the main hotel block, so on looking down, Marina Grande is to the right. Left looked down to the dining room of next door’s hotel (the Minerva) and the tops of other hotels along Via Capo. The view ahead, as all others have described, is just wonderful with the Bay of Naples, and Vesuvius in front of you. The balconies don’t offer privacy from one another, being separated by relatively low walls, but we expect this so it wasn’t a problem.

The room was excellent – modern, relatively minimalistic, pretty large and spotlessly clean. The floor was tiled throughout, with a couple of rugs either site of the bed. The décor was mainly white (walls, furniture, sofa, wardrobe, bedding). The room had a double wardrobe with plenty of hangers and a small safe (free to use) and blankets for the bed, should you need them. There was a chest of drawers by the door and a desk bureau with three more drawers, so there was plenty of storage for the two of us.

At the bureau was one of the two additional chairs in the room, and it also contained the small mini bar. This had a selection of items that we didn’t touch, and a sign requesting that guests didn’t move the hotel’s items to make way for your own! Despite this, there was a small shelf big enough for a couple of cans of our own soda, but to be honest the fridge was quite ineffective anyway.

The room also contained a leather sofa (it may have been a sofa bed, but we didn’t check it out that closely), a large king-size bed with two bedside cabinets, a flatscreen TV with three English language channels (Sky News, BBC World and National Geographic), and a small selection of English language books.

The bathroom was large, modern and spotlessly clean. The large bath had a fixed showerhead above it plus a hand-held shower attachment, giving the best of both worlds. There was the WC, a bidet and a large sink with plenty of shelf room for all our toiletries. A decent set of towelling was provided in the room, which was checked (and changed, if needed) twice a day. The bathroom also included a shaving mirror, hair dryer and plug socket for shavers. Toiletries provided by the hotel were shampoo, soap, bath foam, shower caps and shoe sponge.

The room was air conditioned, which was a blessing. I gather it is only available during the hottest months, and it automatically shuts off when your balcony door is open, which is a sensible way to save energy.

The balcony had a wicker table and two further chairs. When you retire for bed at night you can operate electric shutters which come down (outside) to help darken the room from the morning sunlight.

BREAKFAST

Breakfast took place in the main dining room on floor 7, with stunning views over the Marina, town and bay. As soon as we walked in the door we were warmly greeted and shown to the next available table (the tables next to the window, with the direct view, looked like they were the first to be allocated).

A waiter would arrive to ask if you wanted tea or coffee (my partner drinks a lot of coffee, and didn’t think it was particularly good, to be honest). You’ll also be asked if you want eggs that morning, which you can have scrambled, fried, boiled or poached on toast, accompanied by a small portion of bacon or sausage on request. This arrives on a very small dish. It seems to be cooked to order, but it looks like only one egg is allocated per person.

The rest of the buffet offers a very nice continental spread. There were at least six different cereals. There were a few additional hot items, such as potatoes, tomatoes and mushrooms, but the rest was all cold. There was a large and varied selection of breads, including a toaster, sweet croissants and other pastries, yoghurts, fruits, many different cakes, cheese and meat slices, chilled water, five varieties of juice, and even a bottle of sparkling wine on offer.

LOCATION

When briskly walking down to the station in the baking heat of the day, it does seem like a long 30 minute walk from the hotel, and you’ll arrive hot and sweating, probably wishing that the hotel was somewhat nearer.

However, this really does seem totally different on a lovely warm evening when you’re not in a rush to get anywhere.

It is only a very pleasant 10 minute gentle walk down the road to the start of the main shops on Corso Italia. A further 10 minutes stroll will get you to Piazza Tasso.

But each evening, we didn’t even walk as far as Piazza Tasso, since all our restaurants were ‘our side’ of the square. It really only took 20 minutes, at an unrushed pace, to get from the hotel to where we wanted to be, and it is a lovely walk, especially when Corso Italia is closed to traffic each evening and the streets fill with people enjoying themselves.

I don’t like walking up hills, since I am unfit and get quickly out of breath. Rest assured that the road from town up to the hotel is not at all steep – it is a long curve and you barely notice its gentle incline.

Having said that, the pavement is very narrow in places, and it is a very busy road, so I wouldn’t particularly recommend any of the hotels on Via Capo to anybody with a wheelchair or push chair.

We arrived in Sorrento at the start of the week by Curreri bus from Naples airport. This dropped us off at the train station. We knew it was a 30 minute walk to the hotel, but didn’t really think it through properly. The streets were busy, and we had to try and manouver our suitcases round people, into the road at times, and around obstacles. All this, in the late afternoon heat, meant that on arrival at the hotel we were quite exhausted and dripping with sweat. I really do not recommend walking from the station to the hotel with suitcases in tow. Even though it may cost you around 20 Euros for a taxi, take one! Believe me, you’ll be so glad you did.

By the way, on the way home we decided we would not struggle back to the train station with our suitcases. Instead, we asked the hotel to organise a private car to take us directly to the airport. This cost 80 Euros, which is expensive, but we are so glad we did it!

THE PUBLIC AREAS

The dining rooms and bar on floor 7 are all beautifully appointed. On floor 8 is an outside area with lots of chairs, loungers and tables. This seemed quite a popular place to sit and relax, with great views and some good shaded areas when it got too hot.

The pool took a little finding at first. It is through a gate off the above mentioned lounge area and up some steps. It lies somewhat behind the main hotel block, but still has wonderful views from the one side. There are lots of loungers all around the pool. You get your complimentary towel from the adjacent pool bar (one per person per day). The pool is quite a good size for a hotel pool, and it quickly gets quite deep. Initially it felt pretty cold, but was fine as soon as you’d immersed yourself, and it provided a welcome escape from the heat. In the late afternoon, the loungers on the one side are in shadow (I preferred these so I could read my book), whilst the others remained in sunshine. The pool closes at 6pm.

THOSE LITTLE TOUCHES

Some other reviewers mentioned that they had paid for wi-fi internet connection. I don’t understand this, because I went to reception and asked them directly if there was free wi-fi in the hotel. The gentlemen behind the desk then provided us with our own login and password, which we used throughout the week. There was no charge for this on our final invoice, and we got a good signal in our room.

We had a complimentary fruit basket in our room on arrival, containing a peach, plums, apple, pears, orange and grapes. Beside it were two small plates and a knife. We didn’t expect this, and it was a nice surprise.

An evening ‘turn down’ service replaced all used towels each day (as well as in the morning) and tidied the room. We didn’t expect this, so it was a welcome bonus.

We needed some laundry done, and the hotel arranged this for us. The prices were not overly expensive (examples, shirt 4.70, smalls 1.70, socks 1.10). We handed our items in by 10am, and they were back with us that evening.

The staff behind the reception desk are extremely helpful, charming and polite. Nothing was too much trouble for them, and they really did everything they could to help us, from booking excursions, to arranging our car home, to offering advice on anything else we cared to ask.

TIP

There’s a great little drinks shop only two minutes walk down from the hotel which is open until 11.30pm. It also has a small selection of groceries, sandwiches, etc. It was a godsend for buying cold drinks to take back for the evening. We ended up visiting most evenings, stocking up on bottles of sparkling water, the occasional can of lager, or even cheap bottles of Asti at 2.80 Euros. The most important thing, though, was that these were refrigerated, so were blissfully cold to drink in the evening heat as we sat on our balcony.

IN SUMMARY

Sorrento is not a cheap place, and at 185 Euros a night neither was the Hotel Bristol. However, it really does live up to the excellent reputation it has on TripAdvisor.

We would very much recommend it to anyone looking for a quality place with excellent facilities and views without paying the overly inflated prices of many of the ‘Grand’ hotels in town.

If ever we return to Sorrento, we will definitely want to stay here again.

Room Tip: As everyone says - ask for a room with a balcony on a high floor in the main building complex, not i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank reddiguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Just returned from the Bristol Hotel. Our first time in Italy, and definately not our last. The hotel staff were so welcoming and friendly, the room had a spectacular view over the bay and Vesuvius, and we spent many happy hours just watching the world go by. The food was always quickly served with a good all round choice, and the breakfasts were amazing, with every sort of fruit, cereal, juice, bread, jams, and even smoked salmon and champagne - all buffet style so you could have as much as you wanted. Pillows a bit hard, so pack your own soft one if you are fussy like me! Overall a perfect setting, and a welcome introduction to the warmth of the Italian people. The Thomson trips were well organised, if a bit pricey, but sometimes you just want to be looked after - and if you are lucky enough to get Teresa as a guide you are in for a great day. Stacey, the Thoson rep was really helpful and kind too. The town of Sorrento has loads of shops and bars to keep you occupied, and the two Marinas are a great place to chill, and drink and eat and chill and drink! The train ride around the town is well worth the money, and the lift down to Marina Piccalo is fantastic value at 1 euro! Highly recommended holiday.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cabbagecaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plymouth
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

stayed here during half term with our young son in June. Had a super time. Lovely big room with stunning views - room 602. breakfast was excellant which dinner was generally good. The waiters and host was very friendly and particulary good with our young son. Pool lovely and little play area for toddlers. Super location - not far from centre - although busy road to cross. Also got married over here on the Friday - at villa fondi and foreigners club. def come back - familes rooms not quite as nice

Room Tip: higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kargyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

A first class hotel staffed by excellent and helpful staff. Half board good value, could be great with a little more attention to the main course.

Buffet breakfast a real treat.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GM2132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2011

fantastic views from the front of the hotel overlooking he two harbours of Sorrnto
excellent food
but not enough attention was paid to detail
1 there were no instrucions for the safe in the room. Two different men came up to it but we still couldn't work it. The last man said he would send a colleague up to look at it but nobody appeared.
2 a white bathmat was at the sides of the bed. You can imagine what colour that was at the end of the week!
3 sliding door on bathroom would not stay open. It had only been undercoated and had many filthy marks on it. Horrible!
4 On the television the picture of the Sky News channel was so bad it was unwatchable.
5 service in the restaurant was mixed. Dirty plates etc. were left to pile up on the table at times. One course at dinner was literally thrown at us on the table and we wre given each other's order.

I would have not expected these negative points from the grade of hotel and all of them could be easily rectified.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We stayed at this hotel for the last week in September. Our room was situated in the annexe on the third floor and whilst we would have preffered to be in the main building initially we quickly changed our mind, The view from our balcony was breath taking and we would have gladly paid extra for it. We wanted a bed and breakfast board but could only get half board and the food was average. We ate out on four nights and were not disappointed in any of the restaurants we went to particularly the local ones at the marina below the hotel. The staff are very attentive and could not be faulted. Pool area and balcony area are lovely also with great views. One other point to note was that we found a large percentage of the hotel residents were of pensionable age ( possibly because of the time of year) so its not a younger persons hotel.
We bought ferry tickets to Capri and it is a lovely island and worth visiting however it was extremley busy with large tour groups so this spoilt things a bit. We also went to Positano by ferry and fell in love with the place. On the day we were there it was not too busy and we spent the whole day walking around and doing a bit of shopping. Its very easy to go to the marina and buy tickets for both excursions and at least half the price than what Thomsons charge but if you are not able bodied it will be difficult due to the steep walks. In postano we climbed 403 steps to the top.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happylassie52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,906 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,234 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,599 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
0.6 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Property: Hotel Bristol
Address: Via Capo 10, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sorrento
#3 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#7 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Bristol nestles into the cliff side, in one of the most enchanting corners of the coast, offering its guests stunning panoramic views, stretching from the picturesque fishing village of Marina Grande below to the Punta Scutolo in the distance and directly across the bay to the majestic Vesuvius with Pompei and Naples at its feet. For generations the highly professional Acampora Family have been offering a warm welcome to its international clientele, many of whom return year after year and consider the Hotel their second home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bristol Sorrento
Bristol Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing