We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEAUTIFUL Hotel!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Bristol
Ranked #13 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
109 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL Hotel!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at The Bristol Hotel in Sorrento, Italy this past November and this hotel is simply BEAUTIFUL! The views were incredible! The rooms were immaculate. The food and wait staff were exceptional! Everything about our experience at The Bristol Hotel was superb!

Although the weather didn't permit swimming or lounging at the pool, we enjoyed the views from the rooftop pool and lounge area which were just spectacular!

I highly recommend the this hotel!

Room Tip: The higher the room, the more spectacular the view although every room has a breathtaking view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoveDogz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,752
    387
    101
    26
    10
See reviews for
378
1,419
22
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (768)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East London, South Africa
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

A lovely older hotel with amazing views over Sorrento! We were upgraded to a suite on the 7th floor. I think it was one of their honeymoon suites! Spacious with a separate lounge area! Also had a huge balcony with a jacuzzi which I imagine would be idyllic in summer. Unfortunately we had terrible weather with strong winds which made it impossible to enjoy the facilities! The service from the staff was top class and the concierge was extremely helpful with arrangements for hired car, etc!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 1moretimetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

A hotel and destination of dreams. Sorrento is magical with so much to do and see in the surrounding area. The Bristol is probably the city's best hotel superbly situated with excellent views to Vesuvius and port below. We had a wonderful room on the fifth floor with balcony overlooking the bay. Although there is a main road below the soundproofing afforded in the room meant we were not bothered by noise and the advantage was the city centre with all its Mediterranean delights was just a short walk away. Food was excellent and drinks exceedingly reasonable for a top class hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Husky250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

We visited Sorrento this past summer, and stayed at Hotel Bristol. While the photos on the Internet were beautiful, nothing compare to actually seeing the hotel and this city first-hand.
Everything about the hotel was absolutely top-notch. This includes the service, the food, the location, the amenities...all were wonderful. There is nothing negative to say about our experience at this hotel....we were most impressed, and hated to leave ! We stayed 5 days, and every day was better than the one before. We will definately stay there again ...

Room Tip: We chose the family suite, for the four of us; while the room was very spacious, etc, we forgot abou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Italia11-25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
time2travel88
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

WOW! What a view...

Be sure to book a room with a balcony. Unlike other reviews we did not hear any road traffic but we may have been situated on a higher level. Being a young couple we found this hotel to be more of a middle aged crowd which didn't worry us for the short time we were there but if you're looking for partying this isn't the place.

Overall the service was fabulous, breakfast was included and quite yummy from memory. If you don't have it included it's worth eating there one day just to take in the scenery. Wifi wasn't included which was unlike other hotels we had stayed in. Rooms aren't filled with the latest mod cons but this wasn't what we were after. They have character unlike resorts with everything that open and shut.

It was a short walk into Sorrento itself however that was not a concern for us. If you are a little hard at walking this may not be the place for you and don't opt for a taxi as they are very expensive! We had no choice to take some to the train station.

Whilst there we had a magical day on the Island of Capri! We hired our own boat and ventured around the island taking in the sites. We do have sea experience but even if you don't, the boats are easy to navigate and there are lots of other people around if assistance was needed. Sometimes you just have to live a little!

We hope to stay at Bristol Hotel again in the future!

Travel note: We took a train from Rome via Naples to Sorrento. This was a little scary. We were 2 of 4 tourists on the train from Naples, people we very much aware of what we had (everything was locked up) and we were approached by a number of people. We later found out you could organise to be picked up by car and transferred. This is the option I would take next time. We were actually in disbelief that the train ended up in paradise!

Room Tip: A balcony is a must to take in the view and a glass of wine or two!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank time2travel88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

We were not disappointed in our choice of hotel in Sorrento, but there were a few issues which meant I couldn't describe it as perfect. Firstly the hotel is situated on a busy road, and if like us you aren't used to hearing traffic (just about all night), I would recommend you ask for a room on one of the higher floors. We endured 2 sleepless nights,and then our room was kindly changed. The staff , from management down are extremely friendly and helpful. Our first room was small, but very clean. Bathroom was dated, unfortunately the hairdryer didn't work and the towels had seen better days. The room we were moved to was much larger, had lovely fluffy towels and a modern bathroom. Possibly the rooms allocated to Thomson clients are the cheaper ones in the hotel. My only other comment would be that the standard of food in the restaurant lets it down. We wanted a hotel with waiter service as opposed to buffet, and all the staff in the restaurant were very attentive. The food however I would describe as mediocre - not of the standard I would expect from a hotel with a 'platinum' rating from Thomsons.

Room Tip: Higher floors are less likely to suffer from traffic noise, but may be more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KSB5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

There is nothing wrong with this hotel, but it didn't have a five star feel. It has not been renovated for a while. The extra little touches were not there. The food was disappointing.

Location - Not bad, but not perfect. It's a 10 minute walk into Sorrento, 15 minutes to the train station. The views are spectacular but on hindsight I think I would have preferred to have been the other side of town, closer to the main square, the port and the station. Or maybe stay in Capri instead.

Rooms - Clean. Average size. Did not feel 5*. The hairdryer was not very powerful, there were no bathrobes or slippers, we had to ask for extra bedding, the balcony was small and did not get the sun.

Shower / Bathroom - Reasonable size, powerful shower. Occasionally we had to wait a few minutes for hot water to come through, but in the main it was a good bathroom.

Food - Basic not 5*. Basic pasta, fish and meat dishes. Wine list could have been longer both by the glass and by the bottle.

Outside areas - Lots of different areas to sit in but for some reason they never put the cushions that you can see in the pictures on the website on the outside furniture.

Pool - Lovely size but could do with some heat during October.

Inside areas - bit basic, not renovated recently. No-where felt perfect to cosy up with a book when it was windy.

Service - Extremely good, everyone was really friendly, they remembered your favourite drinks etc.

Overall - Just did not feel like a 5*, we booked a 5*, we wanted to treat ourselves, but it felt more like a 3* superior.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor to avoid traffic noise from Via Capo
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank TravelBug47648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,814 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#28 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,557 reviews
0.6 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Property: Hotel Bristol
Address: Via Capo 10, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sorrento
#3 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#7 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#10 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#12 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Bristol nestles into the cliff side, in one of the most enchanting corners of the coast, offering its guests stunning panoramic views, stretching from the picturesque fishing village of Marina Grande below to the Punta Scutolo in the distance and directly across the bay to the majestic Vesuvius with Pompei and Naples at its feet. For generations the highly professional Acampora Family have been offering a warm welcome to its international clientele, many of whom return year after year and consider the Hotel their second home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bristol Sorrento
Bristol Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing