We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hotel!”
Review of Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Bristol
Ranked #15 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We have just returned from the Bristol Hotel with our 11 year old daughter and had a fabulous time. The food in at breakfast and at dinner was excellent with about 6 choices for both starter and main course and about 3 for dessert plus a salad bar. The restaurant staff were very attentive and said to our daughter if there was anything she wanted they would cook it for her. The drinks prices were only slightly more than you would pay in a bar in the town but that is to be expected. The pool area was lovely, lots of sunbeds and towels provided. They do not allow you to reserve your sunbeds and will remove your towels if you do which is a good thing - who wnats to be up at the crack of dawn on their holiday to get a sunbed! Our room was on the 4th floor overlooking the marina. It was very spacious and had plenty of room for the 3 of us. This hotel is a wonderful traditional Italian hotel and would definately return here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joanna h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,470)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Bristol
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,361 - 1,367 of 2,471 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 11 nights.
I wouldn't rate the hotel as being near the top end but maybe average. Although comfy, it's not the best we've stayed in. The reception area, pool area and restaurant were nice, but the room was to me, very basic. We didn't have the additional of having a balcony which would have been nice as to be honest i assumed all rooms in this hotel came with one. (My mistake) But this obviously isn't a problem. The main issue about the room was the size; being quite small and like i said basic, not really a 4 star class looking room. The AC was changeable and very irritating as one morning waking up the room was extremely hot and smothering due to the air conditioning not working properly always. The beds were reasonable which i guess is the main importance in the room, just shame the room wasn't just that bit bigger.

The restaurant menu for dinner was very delicious, definitely couldn't have asked for nicer quality of food, however it's quite limited in it's selection if you're a fussy eater like me and don't like the fillings/sauces provided in the meals. Would just like to have seen a bit more choice. Breakfast for me was disappointing and not very great in selection. There could have been more cooked foods on the buffet and maybe more cold breakfast foods too. In comparison to other hotels this breakfast selection was rather different. Would have liked to have tried the lunch in the hotel.

Location was very ideal to the town, and overfacing the sea on the cliff at a good view up high, so couldn't fault the location, though if i ever stayed at Sorrento again I think i'd stop at an hotel on lower ground because the windy roads aren't too pleasant when traveling on the coach.

The last thing i can really point negative over this hotel was the hotel furnishings which didn't look too appealing in the relaxed lounge areas, compared to other hotels in Italy we've stayed in, these didn't add up to them. Having said that the sitting area at the very top with decking chairs was very nice at night to just sit and relax. We didn't go into the bar for any drinks etc, but from what we saw of it i'd liked to have seen one of the hotel restaurants outside as there's nothing quite like sitting on the outside balcony eating breakfast when staying at a hotel.

Overall i'd probably rate this hotel a 3 star. I'd happily stop here on a late deal, but it wouldn't be the first choice otherwise.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Spent 8 wonderful nights here as the second part of our honeymoon. We spent the first part in Rome. The Bristol lives up to it's excellent reviews. We had booked a Suite and were certainly not disappointed. Large, spacious room which was cleaned every day and was spotless. Big bathroom and huge balcony with jacuzzi. This was perfect for a honeymoon!

Views from everywhere in the hotel were stunning. We were on the 7th floor so away from any street noise. It was lovely to see the bay and Mount Vesuvious each morning - a view you couldn't get tired of.

Cruise ships came and went most days. Huge selection of food for breakfast, definitely something for everyone. We got to eat breakfast with spectacular views. Staff in the restaurant were very professional, helpful & friendly and always pull out the chair for the ladies.The pool was ideally located on the roof with it's own pool bar. We had lunch in the hotel most days, lovely selection and very good quality.

The hotel was just a 15 minute or so walk to the Town with a footpath the whole way in. The town at night was lovely and no shortage of lovely restaurants to eat in. We recommend a drink in the bar before or after dinner, you can sit outside on the balcony, very peaceful and again the views are unbeatable. All in all would definitely recommend this hotel, particularly for a honeymoon destination, probably not best suited for families with small children.

Minor criticism would be that there was no free wi-fi and it was only available at reception.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lovely2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

My husband and I stayed here at the beginning of June. It was our first visit to Italy and we both loved it. The hotel had a very calm atmosphere which soon filtered through to both of us. Our room had a lovely view over the bay, looking at Sorrento from East to West with Mount Vesuvius away on the horizon, our room was painted competely white with white tiled flooring with black accent pieces, very clean and fresh. We could have just sat on the lovely outdoor hotel terrace and watched the glittering sea and yachts, cruise ships and ferries all day long, so restful. We always managed to find sunbeds around the pool, still early season I know, and the two free pool towels were a great size. We are early eaters so at 7pm we were down to the restaurant, greeted and seated like old friends, out of the 7 meals, we had 6 at various tables for two with beautiful views straight out over the bay, bliss. The food was very good, especially the freshly prepared pasta dishes, waiter service for all the courses, apart from your starter salad, quick attentive serivce. After dinner it was just a quick 10 minute stroll and you were in Sorrento town. Lovely!

Room Tip: I would always ask for a sea view with a balcony to take advantage of the hotels lovely location loo...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mintyWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful 10 night stay at this hotel - absolutely fabulous! Cannot fault anything about our stay - exceptional staff, good food, spotlessly clean, magnificent views, great location - cannot recommend this hotel highly enough - superb.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Having just returned from our first visit to this hotel, it's been one of our best holidays ever.

We booked this for our 25th anniversary and was unable to upgrade to a sea view. Luckily we were allocated a sea view, no balcony on first floor.

Unlike many reviews, I did not find the noise from the road in any way intrusive and slept well.

We arrived late 10pm, and I was pleasantly surprised to find two plates of fresh salad in our room as we had arrived too late for evening meals.

Woke next morning to one of the best views ever. The hotel is so well placed to enjoy the bay of Naples and the moody view of vesuvius.

The sun terrace one floor below the pool was our favourite, allowing cover when it got too hot ( it was 34c daily)

Food - excellent, breakfast was adequate in the choices available. Evening meal catered for all diets, and was varied enough to keep it interesting. The option to switch your meal to lunch was easy, and the pizza's pasta and salads are great.

Overall - 10 days of wonderful relaxing break.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catsflap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We spent a fortnight at the Bristol booked through Thomsons and the the entire fortnight was fabulous. We couldn't fault anything about our holiday at all; from the chamber maid through to the reception staff and the restaurant staff, it was all brilliant. We booked a room with balcony and sea-view and we had this looking out towards Vesuvius. We were within easy walking distance to Sorrento town centre ideal to take a stroll of an evening.
I would return to the Bristol tomorrow and fingers crossed I will do in a year or two.

Room Tip: To have spectacular views, choose a high floor.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Moonbeam119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
2,438 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,396 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,732 reviews
0.1 mi away
Minerva Hotel
Minerva Hotel
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
1,119 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Address: Via Capo 10, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sorrento
#3 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#7 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#9 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £112 - £284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Bristol nestles into the cliff side, in one of the most enchanting corners of the coast, offering its guests stunning panoramic views, stretching from the picturesque fishing village of Marina Grande below to the Punta Scutolo in the distance and directly across the bay to the majestic Vesuvius with Pompei and Naples at its feet. For generations the highly professional Acampora Family have been offering a warm welcome to its international clientele, many of whom return year after year and consider the Hotel their second home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bristol Sorrento
Bristol Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing