We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - but needs sunbed shader umbrellas”
Review of Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Bristol
Ranked #14 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2013

(Apologies in advance for a somewhat overdue review – we holidayed here in September 2012)

Location:
On the SS145 coastal road on the Western edge of Sorrento. There's a few pros and cons here though so my advice is to reckon up carefully as to what your priorities are. Because of its position, the hotel has sublime views sideways across the bay of Sorrento. The downside is that the hotel is located right on the busy SS145 coastal road. Our room was on one of the upper floors and the traffic noise was clearly audible while sat out on the balcony. More importantly though, we were not disturbed by traffic noise when the balcony door was closed, and the outer shutter was dropped. The latter is a floor to ceiling window shutter which is electrically operated. When closed, we found it quietened the traffic noise to a point where it was not disturbing at all – and I'm a light sleeper. A short walk (probably 500m) has you in the centre of Sorrento.

Condition:
Immaculate. There was no obvious wear on any of the soft furnishings. And nothing needed redecoration inside or outside of the hotel. Ditto all around the roof terrace area too, which has comfortable seating (with shade), the pool area and the cafe. In short – a superbly kept and maintained property.

Sunbeds and shader umbrellas:
There were plenty of sunbeds available but amazingly, no shader umbrellas. Given the knowledge and awareness these days concerning skin cancer we found the lack of shader umbrellas an unforgivable omission – there is simply no excuse for this. For this alone I am deducting one “tripadvisor award blob”. There is an area of the roof terrace which comes into shade part way through the day due to a wall shadow, but this is a very limited area and is not good enough. It is unacceptable. And I would not accept a defence plea of "it can get breezy on the roof" because there are few places breezier than Fuerteventura and yet the hotels there are littered with sunbed shaders. This really should be addressed - the hotel has a duty of care to its guests to do so. It is a silly weakness in an otherwise excellent hotel.

Staff:
Very efficient and warm and friendly service indeed. Nothing was any trouble for the staff. And the charm of the waiters during dinner service was superb – a perfect balance of humour and helpful advice (e.g. concerning wine choices, especially their superb local wines).

Management:
As per the service staff, we found the hotel management to be professional, helpful and charming too. Why can't all hotels be like this? Maybe this partly (with the views, roof terrace, good food) explains the unusually high number of returning guests that we came across.

Room:
Our room was located on the third floor (ground, 1, 2, 3). The room was a touch compact, but very clean and with a nice bathroom – no black/mouldy shower/bath sealant or tile grouting. The bed was perfectly comfortable too. (Ref earlier comments about traffic noise, we both thought that the lower rooms would expose guests to a lot more traffic noise, and we would advise guests to specifically request (insist) upon high floors at the time of booking.)

Room tip:
There are some rooms off of the roof terrace area which had large patio balconies, large enough for loungers and tables etc. These rooms have the same majestic views and traffic noise will be totally inaudible. I think some day we'll go back to the Bristol, to enjoy the sightseeing we missed due to a freakishly hot mid September heat wave, and when we do, we'll book one of those rooms.

Lobby/Lounge:
Quite a compact lobby, but very nicely laid out and decorated and perfectly fine for the process of checking in and checking out. In some hotels, the lobby doubles as a lounge but not in this case – there is a separate indoor lounge on an upper floor (two lounges if you count the bar lounge) and also there is a lovely, shaded roof terrace seating area.

Bar/Lounge:
The hotel bar and lounge was located one floor below the roof terrace. There was a nicely furnished and arranged indoor area and also a long outside balcony which ran the full length of the lounge. Every night we enjoyed listening to very good entertainment while sat out in beautiful warmth on the outside balcony. A waiter drinks service operated inside the lounge and also out on the balcony too. Sitting out after dinner in short sleeves, perched up high on the bar/lounge balcony, enjoying panoramic views over a darkened, twinkling Sorrento with an after-dinner drink to hand was one of the highlights of our holiday – superb.

Cafe:
The hotel cafe was located on the roof terrace and was a great place to enjoy a drink any time of day, beit tea/coffee or something more alcoholic. It was well shaded too. We loved having mid morning and mid-afternoon coffee there, taking in the lovely view of the bay of Sorrento.

Dining:
Breakfast was a mix of self service, for continental breakfast fare, and waiter service, which operated for the various cooked breakfast options which involved eggs. There was a good selection of juices, fruit, cereals, cold cuts, plus the usual assortment of cooked options too. Breakfast was served in the main restaurant – the one used for evening dinner. Without exception, we always enjoyed breakfast.
All through our holiday, we took lunch from the hotel bistro located at the opposite end of the roof terrace to the cafe. The bistro itself was a nicely shaded al fresco layout – perfect. As per breakfast and dinner, we never tired for one second of the majestic views over Sorrento and across out to Naples and Vesuvius – it helped to make our lunchtimes superbly enjoyable. We were staying half board but opted to eat lunch every single day up on the hotel roof for the combination of good food, good service and that majestic view. Also, being on the top floor of the hotel – the rooftop terrace, the bistro enjoyed a nice cooling breeze each day, which was most welcome. Lunch times, without exception, were a highlight of the holiday.
Half board guests, such as ourselves, dined in the same restaurant used for breakfast. For dinner, the dining room looked resplendent, as did the maître d' and the waiters. On arriving to take dinner, guests waited momentarily by the entrance door to be seated by the maître d'. It must be said that the maître d' service was exquisite – it made us feel special. As you might expect, early diners were automatically shown to the tables with the best views. These tables were all next to the floor-to-ceiling windows which ran the full length of the dining room. From these tables (especially) guests enjoy fabulous sunset views over Sorrento bay. Our initial impression of the dinner menu (on our very first night only) was that it seemed a bit limited, but we shouldn't have worried because it changed nightly and we found the evening dinner food to be very good indeed, more so when washed down with some of the superb Italian wines on offer. In fact, it was of the best dining experiences I can remember.

Activities and Entertainment:
Lovely high quality singing or instrumental entertainment every night – even more enjoyable to listen to it when sat out in short sleeves on the bar/lounge balcony, enjoying an elevated and panoramic view of Sorrento at dusk/dark. We loved this part of the day.

Trips:
Alas (nobody's fault), we stayed in the middle of an unusually hot September heat wave and we felt it was just too uncomfortable for the usual sightseeing day trips. That said, we very much enjoyed strolling around the many interesting nooks and crannies that Sorrento has to offer. On the plus side, not doing the trips to Capri/Pompeii/Herculaneum gives us the perfect excuse to go back at some time in the future. ;-) One of our favourites hang-outs after exploring old parts of Sorrento was a cafe located right on the Sorrento waterfront cliff, with shaded open-air seating, which looked directly out at Naples and Vesuvius. Sublime view.

Overall:
A superb holiday in every respect and good value for money too. Our advice would be just to appreciate that the centre of Sorrento itself is busy, as is the coastal road. As long as you are aware of that and you're ok with it (and book a high room) – then we would say “highly recommended”.

Room Tip: There are some rooms off of the roof terrace area which had large patio balconies, large enough for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Dr_R_Beck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,520)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,301 - 1,307 of 2,520 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2013

We stayed in the Bristol for the first week in April 2013, which was a fantastic experience. We had a wonderful room on the 9th floor , which was a bit of a missioin to get to , but did not dissappoint once there , The views were spectacular and the jacuzzi on the balcony pleased my15 year old son very much . The first two days were wet , but the sun then came out for the rest of our stay. We ate at the hotel twice , the food was great , but rather expensive as were the drinks. We tried a few places and the best was the Emilia for value down at the Marina Grande, I would perhaps avoid the O' sole Mio down near the fuel station . We went to Pompeii, Vesuvius, Erculanium, Capri and Pisitano. We got the little service bus from the station at Sorrento to Positano , but didn't realise that there was another bus that took you down to the village and we walked down and back , much to our weary legs. Great experience.

Room Tip: views from rooms with terrace are great ! a bit noisy when the wind gets up at night time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joblot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We just got back from a week in Italy. 3 of the nighs we stayed at brisol and it was by far the best hotel of the week! Best of all was the service from the staff- they where allways helpfull and friendly... we travel allot and we have never had such a good servise. Breakfast was good and the view from the hotel was amazing!
We wish that all hotels had this service.

Thank you for a wonderfull stay!

John & Erika from Sweden

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bobban85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

This is a very traditional style of hotel, but isn't tired - it's being well maintained and is kept clean. There are 3 things that made this hotel a great place to stay:
1. The view - our sea view room had a super view from a spacious balcony of Sorrento town and across the bay to Naples;
2. The service - professional and efficient; the maître d' in the restaurant was excellent - so intuitive and very naturally friendly and polite;
3. Position in the town - just far enough out to be away from the hustle and bustle - and crazy traffic(!) in the town, but not too far to walk in to one of the vast number of restaurants.
Pretty much the only reason this didn't get 5/5 was that the breakfast was a little disappointing. The quality of the coffee and the fresh fruit was ok but not great, and the heated food at breakfast was limited and very greasy, although you can ask for eggs, bacon and sausage to be cooked to order - but they only really ask you if you'd like any eggs. On the plus side, the cakes provided at breakfast were nice but I'm not a great fan of eating lots of cakes at that time of day.
Final points to note - if you have a car you'll need to pull up outside the hotel (on a pretty busy road) and the concierge will park it for you on the hotel roof and bring it down each time you need it - it needs a little forethought on your part to ask for it about 15 mins before it's needed, but otherwise it's ok. Plus beware that generally Sorrento is a bit of a nightmare to travel in and out of by road - even out of peak season when we were there the roads are pretty busy and a little chaotic!

Stayed: March 2013
2  Thank Ian_On_The_Rock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

We stayed at this hotel as part of a tour group in March 2013. The rooms (we stayed in their suites) were amazing with large balconies overlooking the Bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvio. It also looked over the entire city of Sorrento from high above the city. We brought our children who were very welcomed by the staff, but the guests that were staying there when we were there were older (60's+) and not always smiling when they saw the younger children. We only had dinner one evening there and it was very good. The staff was incredibly kind and went out of there way to accomodate us and make us comfortable. The hotel is about a 15 minute walk down a sloped street to the main square but after eating a big meal was welcome to "walk it off".

Room Tip: Room 912, 913 and 914 are away from the main building and a slight walk but are suites that were ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

For many years we have been very fortunate to bring our small student study tours to the Bristol Hotel in March. We have just returned from another wonderful experience at the Bristol. The staff is always so helpful in every way: Salvatore and his colleagues at the desk are ready to assist by providing information and by making phone calls to help keep our itinerary moving smoothly; Mateo and his staff in the dining room and kitchen offer our groups the warmest welcome, kindest service, and most excellent food! The view over the Bay of Naples and the quality of the spacious rooms are also exceptional. I can't imagine staying anywhere else!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony overlooking the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gregory G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

1) Great location : superb views and only 10 mn by foot from Sorrento's center
2) Nice and helpful staff
3) Modern and very clean rooms
4) Good breakfast with large choice

We will come back in Spring/Summer !

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ml77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,313 reviews
0 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
993 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 100 in Sorrento
1,165 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
2,526 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Address: Via Capo 10, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#3 Spa Hotel in Sorrento
#7 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#13 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £106 - £314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Bristol nestles into the cliff side, in one of the most enchanting corners of the coast, offering its guests stunning panoramic views, stretching from the picturesque fishing village of Marina Grande below to the Punta Scutolo in the distance and directly across the bay to the majestic Vesuvius with Pompei and Naples at its feet. For generations the highly professional Acampora Family have been offering a warm welcome to its international clientele, many of whom return year after year and consider the Hotel their second home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bristol Sorrento
Bristol Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing