We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Bristol
Ranked #13 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

This was recommended to us and we met up with my sister in law and her husband there. It is only a 10 minute walk into the town centre. The rooms are spacious and have tremendous views across the bay. The facilities in the rooms are first class. The lounges, pool area and outdoor facilities are tremendous with comfortable furniture and stunning views. The meals in the hotel restaurant are excellent and the quality of the food was of the highest standard. What really stands out are the hotel staff. They were always friendly, welcoming and courteous. When we could not get on a trip with Thomsons as it was full, the staff at reception organised the same trip for us in a few minutes by contacting the provider directly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor to avoid any traffic noise. We were on the 9th floor and were never d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrewdoc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,769
    392
    103
    27
    10
See reviews for
384
1,433
22
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (774)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

I stayed here with my husband for 2 weeks from mid to end of September, booked via Thomson.

We paid extra for a sea view room with balcony, which I'd highly recommend. We also requested a room on a higher floor, which the hotel accommodated without any problems. The view from our room balcony was just stunning. We never tired of it.

The room itself, was a bit more dated than some of the other modernised rooms in the hotel, but it was a great size, and we had a massive bathroom with a shower that could have fitted about 5 people in it. Noise from the road wasn't at all a problem. At night time there are electric shutters on the balcony window that block out light and noise really well. We did experience a bit of noise from other guests (e.g. we could hear the man below us snoring). Sound proofing not so good between the rooms themselves, but I wear earplugs anyway and it didn't disturb my husband.

Can't see what there is to complain about with the food at the hotel. We were half-board. Breakfast was good, lots of choice of cereals, cakes etc. and then waiter service with coffee or tea (which you definitely don't pay for) and to take your order for eggs and bacon. Evening meals weren't the usual half-board buffet business, that I don't particularly like. Again, waiter service with six different starters, main courses and sweets - plus an additional menu of six starters and mains that were always served - so 12 starters and mains each night. Good pasta dishes, occasionally the meat dishes weren't to our taste - but nothing wrong with the good itself, which was plentiful and piping hot. The waiter service has to be commended - the staff were superb, making you feel at home. Mateo and Pascal gave you a warm welcome on arrival, and all of the waiting staff were friendly and good humoured. A real family. On a few occasions we changed over our dinner for lunch, which was also very good and gave us a chance to enjoy some eateries in Sorrento (try Franco's pizza....basic but WOW!)

Hotel pool and terraced areas were well kept, clean and peaceful with stunning views across the Bay of Naples and Sorrento. No need to take your own towels either, they are available at the pool every day and you just hand them back in when you leave.

The hotel is on a busy road, there are a lot of scooter drivers who have no fear and regularly seem to take their life into their hands. There's a crossing outside the Hotel, but Italian drivers aren't known for stopping, so be prepared. We didn't have any problems crossing the road though, but the narrow pavement did take a little bit of getting used to (by week 2 we were old pros though!). About 5 minutes walk gets you into Sorrento. It's a nice walk, even in the dark we didn't feel unsafe. There's also a good little shop down the street from the hotel, ideal for picking up a bottle of Prosecco. The hotel prices are pretty expensive for wine, on par with restaurants at home (5 EUROS for a glass of wine - it was lovely wine though) so we bought a bottle to enjoy on the balcony at the shop too. We also re-arranged the room min-bar / fridge, to keep our wine. It was fine, as long as you don't take anything out the fridge that is already in there.

The hotel seems to cater mainly for couples in their late 30s upwards, and there were a few toddlers there with their parents. Wouldn't say it was such a good base for younger couples, who might be looking for a good party holiday, as it is a very quite and peaceful hotel - ideal for us.

Train station is about 20 minutes walk from the hotel, ideal for going to Pompeii and Herculaneum. We went on the organised Thomson tour for Pompeii. Wouldn't recommend it. Expensive for what it was, exceptionally busy and we couldn't hear half of what the guide said as the head sets she gave us crackled constantly. We went to Herculaneum via the train and much preferred taking our time to go around things at a pace that suited ourselves.

One tip - if you can spare the extra, and are booking with Thomson, go with a private transfer. We were held up on our bus for nearly 2 hours at the airport on arrival waiting for another flight to come in, and then we were an hour and a half from the airport to the hotel. It took us longer to get from the airport to the hotel than it did for us to go from Scotland to Italy! Return journey was thankfully well organised and ran smoothly.

Cannot recommend this hotel enough. We are definitely going to return to the Hotel and to Sorrento in the future, which is says it all.

Room Tip: Sea view room with a balcony definitely worth it. View was beyond stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debsidoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

My fiancé and I stayed at the Hotel Bristol from 27th September to 4th October for our best friend's Italian wedding at the Cloisters (a beautiful venue I may add).

We booked our trip with Thomson as part of a wedding group and were certainly not impressed with them. Despite promising all 20 of us that we had the airport lounge, they somehow managed to mess the booking up, with half of the group informed it was not on their booking and therefore not allowed in. Also, do not be fooled by their advertisement that you will be the first or second drop off to the hotel. As I suffer from severe travel sickness, this advertisement was a big selling point to us... only we were the last drop off! But 2 hours later and 2 sick bags down, we finally arrived at this beautiful hotel.

The Hotel Bristol is an extremely well-presented and modern, yet still with a touch of Italian, hotel. The rooms are clean, towels are replaced daily and the beds are made every morning, then turned down for you at night. The balcony views are amazing, with Vesuvius, the mountains and all of Sorrento on show. We got up around 7:30am most mornings to watch the sunrise break through the mountains. It made the best picture to show our friends and family. There IS a rather busy main road outside the hotel but there are shutters to keep the noise out. Our room was on the second floor so we were very grateful for these shutters at night.

The part of this hotel that really stood out for us was the staff. They are so friendly and welcoming, and nothing is ever too much trouble for them. Matteo in the restaurant was an absolute gem and always looked after us at meal times. Breakfast was very varied, with different breads, cakes and cereals on offer, as well as cooked food if you wanted to fill yourself up for the day. One plus point about the restaurant at the Hotel Bristol is that you can choose to have either lunch or dinner but we mostly chose to have dinner. There was a good variety of food on offer and the portion sizes were perfect, not too big or small.

If you just want to laze in the sunshine all day, the ideal place would be beside the rooftop pool. The view is even more spectacular than on the balcony! However, be aware of the pool temperature - it is absolutely freezing! The evening entertainment in the hotel was more suited to the older clientèle (we are in our late 20s and were a good 30 years younger than most) but we always enjoy going out for the evening so this did not matter much to us. It is a 10 minute walk downhill into Sorrento town, where there are many good bars and restaurants to visit. We particularly recommend Café Latino for good cocktails and ambience!

We would not hesistate to recommend this hotel to anyone lucky enough to visit Sorrento. It offers the best service and best views we've ever experienced.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SARAHandJAMES1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Six friends stayed at the Bristol Hotel 14 - 21 Oct. Our rooms were on the seventh floor so extremely handy for restaurant, lounge, swimming pool, terrace and of course had the most fabulous views ever. The welcome meeting held by Dave in "La Favorita" restaurant was very good, particularly his walkabout round Sorrento afterwards. We went to this restaurant on our last day for lunch - wonderful ambience and food, in the Mediterranean Garden. Really recommend the house specialty - cannelloni.
The Bristol Hotel was excellent and the staff were very attentive and friendly. Would thoroughly recommend it. From the hotel we walked to the delightful little port/bay of Puolo - a lovely walk but a bit steep on the return. There are so many walking routes from the hotel - to Massa Lubrense, to S. Agata, to Termini - all moderately easy walking, and of course the views are spectacular.
We did one Thomson tour - the Lachryma Christi Select, which was up through the National Park to the top of Vesuvius then back for wine tasting and lunch at a super little family-run winery which makes the Lachriyma Christi local wine, in the foothills of Vesuvius. Alberio was our guide and he was delightful and extremely knowledgeable, particularly about the winery. (Be aware that the entrance fee to the National Park is on top of the cost of the tour).
At this time of year the ferries to the Amalfi coast have stopped running, but the ones to Naples and Capri were still in operation.
A super holiday.

Room Tip: Seventh floor gave most amazing views and very convenient for all amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goldiehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

The moment you walk into The Bristol you are made to feel more than welcome. We had an 11 night stay at the beginning of October. The view from the room was fantastic . The food is excellent, the hotel spotlessly clean and all the staff are a credit to the hotel. Nothing is too much trouble for anyone. Sorrento is beautiful so if you fancy a week or two away in Italy I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacPag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

We booked 2 weeks at the Bristol with Thomson and paid the extra for a sea view and balcony. Well worth the extra investment as the view from our room both day and night was absolutely stunning. The pool area was clean and tidy and never too busy with a slightly older clientèle 45+ mainly, towels were available from the pool bar. We did spend a lot of our 2 weeks on various trips during the day, the area is just too beautiful to miss out on this. We didn't get in to the town at night at all, however this was definitely not a problem as it was a pleasure to dine and drink at the Bristol. The room we had was peaceful, cleaned daily and the covers turned down every night which we thought was a nice touch. The food at the Bristol is plentiful, cooked to perfection, presented well and there was a good choice on the main menu, as well as the A La Carte option. As in many other reviews on here it is pointed out that the crowning glory of this hotel is its staff, we both have to whole heartedly agree, from the moment we arrived till the day we left there was nothing that we wanted that was too much trouble for these guys. For us the restaurant staff just about edged it but throughout the whole hotel from the reception to the cleaners everyone was cheerful, polite and ever eager to help. This was our first ever visit to Italy but will not be our last, and it is almost certain that we will again stay with wonderful people at the Hotel Bristol. We could not think of a better way to celebrate our anniversary and my birthday, as close to perfect as we could have got.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 7th floor the views from the lower floor may not be as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Worcestertravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

I just wanted to say we had a fantastic stay in the Bristol. The hotel was amazing and all the staff were so friendly. I congratulated the staff on a spotlessly clean hotel with fantastic views from our room on the eighth floor.

It was such a wonderful holiday, definitely one to remember and hopefully to go back. Lots to do we visited Positano, Pompeii and of course Capri. Plenty of walking and lots of steps. But if you wish you can relax you can by the pool and sun terrace on the top of the hotel.

We were so lucky with the weather 23/24 degrees.

Caroline G

Room Tip: Definitely if you can go for the superior room with the sea view and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caroline g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,848 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,185 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
0.6 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Property: Hotel Bristol
Address: Via Capo 10, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sorrento
#3 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#7 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#12 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Bristol nestles into the cliff side, in one of the most enchanting corners of the coast, offering its guests stunning panoramic views, stretching from the picturesque fishing village of Marina Grande below to the Punta Scutolo in the distance and directly across the bay to the majestic Vesuvius with Pompei and Naples at its feet. For generations the highly professional Acampora Family have been offering a warm welcome to its international clientele, many of whom return year after year and consider the Hotel their second home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bristol Sorrento
Bristol Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing