We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel.”
Review of Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Bristol
Ranked #16 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel.”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I agree with all the great reviews.Views,rooms staff all superb.a special mention for the food at dinner there was always at least one Italian speciality rabbit,squid,grouse on the menu and the starters and desserts were delicious.The only gripe I have is the sleep quality,every hour through the night the church bells toll in the Grande Harbour below which must be a nightmare if you live down there! If Tony Soprano had stayed at this hotel he would surely have sent the bell ringer to sleep with the fishes,apart from that.....Superb !!

Room Tip: The higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tappingraves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,801
    411
    109
    26
    10
See reviews for
391
1,473
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (794)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
BRIGHTON
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We have just returned from a one week stay at the Hotel Bristol. Food was excellent and plentiful. We were very impressed with the junior suite that we had booked which had views to die for!!
All the staff were friendly and helpful. Sorrento is a short walk away where you can book your ferry or use the local bus service for the numerous trips available.
We would agree with other subscribers, if possible book and pay for a junior suite, you will not be disappointed.
We will certainly consider returning in the future.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter and have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MOBING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

My new wife and I have just returned from two weeks staying at the Hotel Bristol in Sorrento.
The hotel rooms, swimming pool area and the top floor seating area have amazing views over Sorrento, the Bay of Naples and Vesuvius.
The hotel is maintained to a very high standard, very clean and nicely decorated in a traditional Italian style.
Our first room, 623, had lovely sea views across the Bay with a spacious balcony on the 7th floor.
Because we were getting married, in the second week we received an upgrade to a junior suite, room 706 on the 8th floor, which was simply delightful and helped make our stay extra special!
The staff at the hotel Bristol are very professional, welcoming and great fun!
Thank you Matteo, Sergio, Salvatore and the rest of the staff.
Our stay was more enjoyable because of you! And they tolerated my attempts at speaking Italian to them with grace and humour!
Salvatore even shared his umbrella with my fiancee on a walk into town. Grazia millie Salvatore!
Matteo and Sergio always welcomed you into the dining hall with a smile, kind words and fun.
My wife insists that the staff even kept the rain showers away from our wedding, she asked them everyday to make sure it didn't rain even when the forecast looked poor! Thankfully the sun shone!
The hotel food is plentiful and first class. Breakfast is a lovely buffet with a hot choice of eggs prepared freshly for you in the manner you prefer.
The evening meals are very good, with plenty of options to choose from and a different selection each day, even over two weeks. I enjoyed trying the traditional local dishes.
You can also swap the evening meal to lunch or a packed lunch if you want to.
The hotel is a short 10/15 minute walk into the old town of Sorrento and the main square, Piazza Tasso. A nice distance to walk after the evening meal, into town for a drink, coffee or gelato while you watch the world go by from a cafe.
The train station and ferry terminal are about 15/20 minutes walk away from the hotel.
We used the train, the bus and the ferry for trips to Pompeii, Herculaneum, Vesuvius, Positano and Capri. Amazing places to visit and must do's.
I used the hotel gym almost every day and it has enough equipment to keep you in shape for your holiday.
Our wedding was at Villa Fondi which we thought was wonderful. The ceremony was arranged through Thomas Cook and Rosario our wedding organiser was very nice.
Our reception was with Don Pedro and his family and it was simply a brilliant and special day and I will write a review for Don Pedro separately.
All in all we both had the most fantastico vacazione at the Hotel Bristol and we look forward to returning for anniversaries in the future!
Ciao
Jon & Jo

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the view! The lowest floors will get some noise from the road but st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonno70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We have just returned from our second visit to this beautiful hotel.
It is perched on the side of a cliff overlooking the bay of Sorrento. The views are simply wonderful from all the rooms..
The experience from check-in to check-out was amazing.
The reception staff were extremely friendly and the restauraunt staff led by Matteo were really professional and did everything they could to make all guests feel at home.
We were on half board basis and found that dinner comprising starter, main course and desert each evening were of a very high quality.
Wine was reasonably priced.
What makes this hotel is the staff,quality of food and drink and its location overlooking the bay,just 10 mins walk from town.
Definitely worth a visit.
We travelled from Ireland with To.pflight

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors are less noisy. A room with a balcony and sea view a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bkcdublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I was recommended this hotel a few years ago by a friend and when I finally had the opportunity to visit Sorrento this was the obvious choice. The views from the hotel are breath taking, this includes the bedroom, balcony, pool terrace, several bars and cigar lounge. The staff at check in spoke excellent English. The hotel is very organised and your cases are deposited outside your room. The dining experience is excellent. We were on half board and only intended to dine in a few evenings, but ended up eating every night in the restaurant. The selection has a choice of 6 starters and main courses, which changes daily. All the traditional italian favourites are available depending on how adventurous you are.Service in the restaurant is very professional and if you can speak some Italian you get free conversation lessons every evening. The breakfast menu cooks eggs sausage and bacon to order, with full continental on display. Wine prices are very reasonable and the alcohol prices compete well with the bars in the town. After spending a fortune in Lake Guarda last year I found the Hotel Bristol very reasonable and I even came home with some Euros. Book now if you can get availability!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sombochris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

That is the best word to describe this hotel. Nothing was too much trouble for the friendly, helpful, welcoming staff, from the reception desk to the chamber maids. I can't speak to highly enough of the waiting and bar staff. Could have smuggled a couple home in my suitcase if I'd had the room!
The hotel was spotless in all areas, the food was fantastic and that's said by a very picky eater!!
Sorrento itself is ok - but it was the hotel that made the holiday for us and the convenience of being able to get to other places such as, Capri, Amalfi and Pompei.
Would we go back - undoubtedly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony (it does cost extra but is worth it) and on a higher floor. Some frien...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pammiejean2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

After reading good reviews on TA We booked a week at the Hotel Bristol via Citalia. Well we were not disappointed. The room was on seventh floor with great views across the bay of Naples and both a balcony and upstairs sun area. Hotel is clean and spacious. The roof pool is lovely and has great views. The main Sun Terrace is a nice place to sit and read and relax too. The hotel is on a main road but most rooms are well above the road so noise was not an issue. An easy stroll to town, just 10mins and gentle slope.
The service is what stood out from start to finish, the staff are welcoming and helpful. The restaurant runs like a well oiled machine and you receive a great welcome every day from the team. Two of the three of us are vegetarians and we were well catered for on half board at Hotel Bristol, something not easily archived in many hotels. Attention to detail is obvious, with cutlery etc absolutely spotless. food quality very good.
The Reception team always keen to help and give advice.
A Stylish hotel where you get great service and feel comfortable and at ease, ideal for a relaxing holiday.
We would definitely recommend this hotel and will stay at the Hotel Bristol again when we return to Sorrento. We have been to Sorrento three times now over ten years and it is one of those places that has not changed much in that time, a nice experience in a rapidly changing world.

Room Tip: Book a higher level room, the views get better the further up you go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chaz044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,287 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,985 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#5 of 100 in Sorrento
1,059 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,478 reviews
0.6 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Property: Hotel Bristol
Address: Via Capo 10, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sorrento
#3 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#7 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#15 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Bristol nestles into the cliff side, in one of the most enchanting corners of the coast, offering its guests stunning panoramic views, stretching from the picturesque fishing village of Marina Grande below to the Punta Scutolo in the distance and directly across the bay to the majestic Vesuvius with Pompei and Naples at its feet. For generations the highly professional Acampora Family have been offering a warm welcome to its international clientele, many of whom return year after year and consider the Hotel their second home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bristol Sorrento
Bristol Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing