We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon heaven”
Review of Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Bristol
Ranked #14 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Bristol for two weeks for our honeymoon. It was pure bliss. The room 622 on the 7th floor has a balcony which curves round to give a panoramic view on Sorrento and Vesuvius. It was beautifully decorated and well equipped with a fantastic shower!! The service at the Bristol is second to non and nothing is too much trouble. Especially for the staff in the bar and restaurants.

The food in the lunch and evening restaurants is delicious and as good as anything you can get ok the restaurants in the town. Being able to swap dinner for lunch is also good should to wish to venture out in the evening, which we did a couple of times - we did plan to do this more often however the food was so good we didn't want to miss out!

The facilities at the Bristol are also top notch, pool area and bar are immaculate. The gardens are worth walking round as there's some beautiful flowers and views of Sorrento. There's a gym and spa should you wish to use it as well.

I can't recommend this hotel enough for anyone looking for the most romantic honeymoon location.

Stayed: May 2014
3  Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,510)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

996 - 1,002 of 2,510 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

My wife and I just came back from our honeymoon trip to the Amalfi Coast. We spent 8 nights at Bristol Hotel. We were treated like royalty. The hotel was fabulous and the views from our room (Room 656) were out of this world. The front desk staff offered us recommendations and advise - They were very helpful. The breakfast was delicious and had a lot of variety.
The hotel provided us with English speaking drivers (based on our request) to drive us to Ravello and the different town along the Amalfi coast. The drivers (Jackino and Pasquale) were very knowledgeable and professional.
My wife and I had a great time in the Amalfi coast and we have nothing but good things to say about the Bristol Hotel and it's staff.

Room Tip: Don't skip breakfast at the hotel.. It's an experience :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zhabib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Just back from a week at this Hotel where we stayed half board. We were on the 2nd floor and as stated many times the view is to die for, from looking down on Marina Grande to Sorrento and over to Naples and Vesuvius.

Not only do you have these views from the Balcony but also at breakfast and dinner.

We arrived late and staff stayed on and put on a fixed 3 course meal, which was great and much appreciated while the cases were taken to the room, or at least left outside the room.

Hotel is spotless and staff very welcoming and helpful. The food in general was pretty good and plenty of choices on the menu and always accompanied by a salad bar where you can help yourself.

Room had plenty storage, free safe and bathroom was a decent size. The bath was only half screened and shower was in middle of wall so it was easy to get floor wet but no real problem.

Balcony was fine for 2 of us, road below is very busy and noisy but once in room with door shut no problem and we were on a lower floor (2nd). Also there are electric external shutters for night, helps noise and sunlight pouring in early morning as curtains are very flimsy, nice touch as they can be operated from bed.

Pool area was nice, towels are provided although water is a bit on the chilly side to put it mildly fine once your in though. There is also a roof terrace with seats and loungers and with terrific views again.

Only issues are:
- You don't pay cash so everything you order means it adds up to a big bill at the end of your holiday.
- Drinks were extremly expensive, example is 3.50 euros just for a diet coke, it wasn't even as expensive in Positano.
- You can't have your own drinks etc around the pool so forced to buy there's, makes me feel i'm being fleeced a bit.
- Additional tea bags etc for room are charged, for a hotel of this class and considering their other prices seems a bit much.
- You can't use the fridge, this is for their mini bar stocks again at expensive prices.

Trip wise we did Pompei, but took the train as advised and had no issues. There was a queue and people go up and down selling tours, saying you won't have to wait in queue for ticket and save yourself and hour to an hour and half queuing, i found despite queue size it went pretty quickly. Also don't buy a map outside, they are free inside.

Also went on Amalfi Mini Bus trip, it was really good and recommended, guide Martina was excellent, but it was 113 euro's and boat trip at Amalfi was extra at 12 euro's each. Highlight was Positano and the boat trip was good also.

Sorrento itself is lively and lots of shops and overall it was a great holiday and despite the above Bristol Hotel on balance is excellent.

Room Tip: Higher room are away from road but even on 2nd floor we had no issues with doors closed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank silverbearwow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed at the Bristol for one week with my husband to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversay. I can honestly say that we had a fantastic time. This hotel is beautiful., with views to die for! The staff were very friendly, especially the resturant staff and reception. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone cant wait to return which i definatley will. I have never booked into a hotel as promply before. Booked with Thomson. Excursions are pricey, but we found them to be value for money, door to door and ontime lunch and wine included. I would just like to thank all the staff at the Bristol for a memorable week from room 716, Kitchiner family.

Room Tip: The higher the room the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foxyManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We have just got back from Italy and our May holiday in the Bristol Hotel Sorrento , .My wife and I travelled with her sister and her husband for a week long holiday.We booked with a tour company but will not do so again .Everything was fine from UK, flight was good but the time we had to spend on the coach dropping off fellow holidaymakers was quite annoying. It took about 2 hours before we were dropped off at our hotel .During the time on board the coach we were introduced to various things about Naples and Sorrento, then were invited to a meeting the following morning at a restaurant in Sorrento square.We decided not to go, as it would have taken up a whole forenoon and our time on holiday is precious..A week is not a long time and.I suspect the meeting was mainly to allow the Reps to sell us the Tour companys overpriced excurcions. To back up our suspicion our allocated rep did not appear at our hotel or contact us during the rest of the week until we boarded the coach for the return journey .Actually our leaving time was indicated to us by the restaurant manager.
Now the good bit .
On arrival at the hotel we were welcomed by the front of the house staff and especially Salvatore, they took care of our baggage and directed us to the restaurant where a hot 3 course meal was waiting for us this was well after the set dinner time and so was very pleasing.
The Hotel itself is in a good position above a small harbour and not far from the main shopping, eating, drinking streets and the main square .Salvatore was also very helpful in organising transport for us to be enable us to visit a relatives war grave 2 hours north of Naples and at a very good price.
.The rooms in the hotel are nice, very clean and well serviced.Two things did not please us though and it lost you a star i our rating and that is.......
1 the bathroom in our room could do with a bit of attention the shower seems to be in the wrong place and every time we showered we flooded the floor.
2 after we used up the few tea coffee satchets in the room we had to buy further supplies from the front of the house staff. This is the first time in all the years that I have spent travelling that I have not been offered free tea and coffee in the rooms.
as I said before I could not fault the front of house staff ,they were pleasant ,helpful and always there to help.
The restaurant and espescially their Manager but also the staff looked after us well and provided us with excellent food both at breakfast and dinner.The views are also spectacular.

Moving away from all that their is a swimming pool and other leisure facilities at roof level with a bar and plenty of chairs for sunning yourselves .I like to swim early in the morning and each day was welcomed by a man whos name .i do not know but He looked after the area and is an asset to the facility very friendly and helpful a true gentleman.
All in all a great place to enjoy an Italian Vacation.Book direct with the hotel and get a taxi transfer .forget the tour operator

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank deso_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

just recently back from a weeks half board stay at the bristol. lovely,spotlessly clean hotel with pleasant,hard working staff who make your stay as pleasant as possible.if possible,ask for a room with sea view and balcony. stood in awe of the view every day, right across sorrento, the bay of naples and an unbelievable view of mount vesuvius- breathtaking. the hotel is cliffside and right next to the main road in sorrento which is about a 5-10 min stroll and isnt hard going. there is road noise, though not enough to spoil your holiday. fantastic rooftop swimming pool with plenty of sunloungers.(free neck pillows and towels from the pool side snack bar, so don't bother bringing your own beach towel) the water in the pool is......bracing! plenty of choice on the meals both breakfast and evening meal, suggest this hotel is better for couples or parties without small children as whilst the food is lovely, think small children would struggle to find anything they would like i.e. chips,burgers etc not served(though can be bought from snack bar during the day). towels in room changed daily and sheets were changed 3 times during our stay. hotel ideally situated, we travelled the amalfi coast, down to amalfi itself, which was a letdown. positano by boat from amalfi - 8 euros. a definite trip. takes about 25mins and the coast line is stunningly beautiful. positano is beautiful with high class shops and boutiques/galleries but not so good if you have walking difficulties as very 'up and down'. caught the bus back to sorrento (there is a stop about 200m from the hotel) a 24hr pass on the bus costs 6.8 euros or 20 euros for a bus/train pass for 3 days which covers the whole campania region and is excellent value. the drivers in italy are MAD and you wouldnt get me on a scooter for a kings ransom! they do not follow any sort of traffic regulations. for anyone wishing to do excursions, with a little effort, you can save a fortune, doing it yourself. however the thomsons trip to vesuvius for a half day was excellent value and the guide, patty, fantastic
the food,wine,scenery make this a fantastic base to explore and would highly recommend the hotel. only negative, their wi fi connection is lousy.

Room Tip: sea view and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank balrog44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in the most perfectly located place in the most perfect town - it is spectacular - the view across the bay - the restaurants - the pool - the relaxation areas - the food - it is top class

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thirtyninesteps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,520 reviews
0.0 mi away
Minerva Hotel
Minerva Hotel
#13 of 100 in Sorrento
1,140 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
3,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
981 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,767 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#24 of 100 in Sorrento
3,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Address: Via Capo 10, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sorrento
#3 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#7 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#7 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#13 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £111 - £314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Bristol nestles into the cliff side, in one of the most enchanting corners of the coast, offering its guests stunning panoramic views, stretching from the picturesque fishing village of Marina Grande below to the Punta Scutolo in the distance and directly across the bay to the majestic Vesuvius with Pompei and Naples at its feet. For generations the highly professional Acampora Family have been offering a warm welcome to its international clientele, many of whom return year after year and consider the Hotel their second home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bristol Sorrento
Bristol Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing