We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Bristol
Ranked #13 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2008

We stayed at this hotel for a week on our honeymoon and thoroughly enjoyed it. When we arrived we were escorted to our room and all the facilities were explained to us. The room was huge with a beautiful tiled floor and a seating area. There was a balcony with sea views, table and chairs and 2 loungers. The bathroom was spacious with a bath and fantastic shower with strong water pressure.

The hotel facilities were amazing, there was a large pool, with loungers around it, a huge terrace with lots of sofas, wicker furniture and seating, and an outdoor bar in the shade. The hotel had lots of bright green cacti decorating the outdoor areas - with the needles removed to prevent injury. Breakfast and dinner were in the hotel restaurants overlooking the bay with huge floor to ceiling windows. Breakfast was a buffet with your choice of eggs cooked to order, and there was plenty of bread, cheese, fruit, and hot food to choose from. Dinner was a 3 course meal with substantial portions and the waiters were very attentive. The wine we were recommended was so nice we brought some home.

The location of the hotel was excellent, it was outside of the main town and the touristy feel that Sorrento has, it was up a hill but the hill was not steep in any way and I am quite lazy!! It was more of a winding road and took about 10 minutes from the centre of Sorrento but you can't even break a sweat walking. There's also a regular bus service to get you into town and onwards. I would recommend this hotel because the facilities location and staff were all excellent and I felt that it was well priced too.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — early morning room cleaning
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,770
    393
    103
    27
    10
See reviews for
384
1,435
22
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (774)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire Lass
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2008

The view from the hotel is absolutely stunning. We arrived at night so waking up to a view across the Bay of Naples next morning was absolutely amazing. It is worth every penny to pay for a sea view room. The hotel service is first class, very clean in all areas. The food was excellent, a varied choice at dinner, breakfast was buffet but if you wanted cooked eggs they were done fresh for you.
The room was spacious,beds a bit on the hard side,pillows likewise. Balcony rooms are overlooking the main road so can be a bit noisy during the day, but the view more than compensates for that.
A ten minute stroll to Sorrento (even for me and I walk at a snails pace), which is a lovely place to just wander and get lost in.
Would recommend this hotel to any one who wants a grown up sophisticated holiday, can't wait to go back again.

  • Liked — The views
  • Disliked — The beds/pillows
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzie2507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2008

We stayed at the Bristol for 7 nights in July to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary. Check-in was very smooth and quick and our luggage was delivered to our room within minutes of us arriving there ourselves. Our room was on the 5th floor and had wonderful views across the Bay of Naples and a huge balcony which was great to sit out in the evening and enjoy a glass of wine. Our room was kept spotless during our stay and every member of staff we came in contact with was very friendly. The centre of Sorrento is a 10 min walk down a very gentle hill. We booked through Citalia (which I would recommend to anyone - we won’t book with any other agency again!) and took advantage of their free walking tour on our first evening which helped us get our bearings. The food at the hotel was lovely although we did eat in the town on two occasions. The only downside to this hotel is that it is a bit noisy a times due to the tiled flooring.....if you do stay here (and I recommend you do), please be considerate and don't drag chairs etc., across the floor.....Overall, the Bristol is a great hotel and one we would return to.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Occational noise
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BDGALL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2008

After a long day travelling by trains from Rome I was excited to see what the Hotel Bristol had to offer. My husband & I seemed to arrive at the tail end of a bus tour arrival and our key and an information pack were shoved across the counter to us without even so much as a smile!! Perhaps Reception thought that we were part of a group - but that was no welcome - and we weren't given any information about the area or the hotel. We were there on a half board basis - but we only ate at the hotel on the first night as the menu wasn't to our taste. We breakfasted there - and breakfast was only ok. The pool area was good & clean and service at the pool bar was also good. Our room was located next to a very noisy lift and the walls of our bedroom were PAPER THIN!! So we could hear our neighbours quite clearly!! I agree with other reviewers in that you are really taking your life into your hands as you try to cross the road outside the hotel. There are a few qualities about this hotel - the magnificent view over the bay and the hotel is 10 minutes walk from the beautiful town of Sorrento which is full of beautiful restaurants and old quanit streets. I realise that this hotel is old - but I was very disappointed by the hotel and it's staff.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CorkMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2008

We booked this holiday very late and were unable to obtain a balcony.However the room was on the 9th floor with an outstanding view over Sorrento townThe room was of average size,clean and comfortable with all you require The bed llnen and towels were changed every day.
Allt the staff in the hotel were smart ans friendly most speaking some English.Most of the guests were Irish(70%)English(20%)The rest American German ,etc.
The Public rooms are splendid with much fine art and furniture on display,without being too posy and stuffy.The Dining room overlooked the bay with excellant views
The sun terrace and pool areas were spacious and no problems about sun beds,nevertheless the are always some people who wish to reserve a particular sunbed for some reason.
We stayed half boardand the breakfast was part buffet with waier service for drinks ans eggs and bacon.
The only downside to the hotel was the main course at Dinner.The startes and desserts were good ,but the main courses wih meat were bland and poorly seasoned.The sourses were tasteless which spoiled the meal.Neither my wife and i are fussy eaters and the poor quality of the main courses was not greatly reported on trip advisors,the majority of reports were good.I pressumed the bad ones were from those who expeted too much and discarded thosereports
The overall picture is of an excellant hotel with charming ,professional staff and it would not stop me going again,if only on a B& B basis,
I would highly reccomend this hotel
.

  • Liked — Veiws
  • Disliked — Dinner
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterl06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2008

We stayed two weeks, having chosen the Bristol as a result of other Trip Advisor reviews and we were not disappointed. Good value for money.

It is a lovely hotel with really excellent service (apart from comment below), good (not outstanding) food and views that are magical by day and night. Wonderful to have such a panorama from your bedroom (get a sea view), terrace, bar, dining room and pool. The benefit of being located about 5 minutes walk above the town centre rather than a hotel in town is you get the bonus of lovely views of Sorrento itself as well as the Bay of Naples, Vesuvius etc. The walk into the centre is easy and not steep.

The hotel is beautifully maintained, spotless and peaceful as the public rooms are all on the higher floors. It was helpful to be able to change dinner for lunch, if on half board, and you get almost as many choices.

Our nice modern room (on the 9th floor in the Annex) had these stunning views but was on the small side with a small balcony. It was fine as you don't spend much time in there.You develop an appetite walking to the dining room!

The hotel itself feels part of England as the majority of the guests are from here - most with Thomson Holidays!

Any reservations? A few minor ones.
Hardly anyone used the pool as it was cold.
The internet facility should be updated particularly as you have to pay.
It is not terribly easy to get a cup of coffee etc during the day if you want one - we found you had to go to the pool bar. It is a shame that the Bar / terrace is locked until 5pm as it would be a lovely place to sit and have a drink when the weather is not so good ; however there is a very comfortable and large lounge (views not so good!)
If you leave the dining room at about 9.30pm we found it could be difficult to find a seat in the Bar/Terrace (as this is where everyone retires to hear the entertainment). This may be because, due to the unsettled weather, more guests stayed in the hotel rather than going out in the evening?

But these are small points and ,despite the disappointing weather (take an umbrella and jumpers!) we had a great holiday and much of the credit for this is due to the Bristol and its staff.Thanks to them all.

Sorrento is a nice town with good places to eat ( we recommend Sant'Antonino for pizzas, or more). Sorrento is the best location on the Amalfi coast if you want to explore by train, bus, boat as it is all right there and easy to visit places independently. We were so pleased to have chosen Sorrento rather than Amalfi, Ravello or Positano,lovely though they are to visit. Ravello is beautiful and well worth seeing (great views and food at the Salvatore restaurant although not cheap). The only 'tour' we did was to Naples (through Thomson) which is great if you want to see the fabulous Archeological Museum - it is the only guided part of the day.

It is a perfect holiday for anyone who wants to combine restful days at a good hotel with lots of trips to see wonderful places such as Pompeii and Herculaneum. (Nerano is lovely too). We didn't see everything so a return visit is planned - and we will stay at the Bristol!

  • Liked — The views and the service
  • Disliked — Would have preferred a larger room/balcony.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank M55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnegat, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2008

My husband and I spent five days at the Bristol in September and had a terrific experience. The staff were most accomodating and helped us any way they could. The hotel itself was gorgeous with beautiful views. We will definetely return as five days were not long enough.

  • Liked — Helpful staff
  • Disliked — larger dinner menu
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank number1yankeefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,848 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,185 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
0.6 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Property: Hotel Bristol
Address: Via Capo 10, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sorrento
#3 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#7 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#12 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Bristol nestles into the cliff side, in one of the most enchanting corners of the coast, offering its guests stunning panoramic views, stretching from the picturesque fishing village of Marina Grande below to the Punta Scutolo in the distance and directly across the bay to the majestic Vesuvius with Pompei and Naples at its feet. For generations the highly professional Acampora Family have been offering a warm welcome to its international clientele, many of whom return year after year and consider the Hotel their second home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bristol Sorrento
Bristol Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing