We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Bristol
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Minerva Hotel(Sorrento)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel del Mare(Sorrento)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Settimo Cielo(Sorrento)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel Belair(Sorrento)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hotel Capodimonte(Sorrento)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel Miramare(Sorrento)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Tonnarella(Sorrento)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,548)
Filter reviews
2,548 results
Traveller rating
1,959
436
114
29
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,959
436
114
29
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvilla bianca suitesbay of napleshalf boardjunior suiteour honeymoonstunning viewsbusy roadmarina grandeoverlooking the baylovely hotelrooftop poolevening mealeggs and baconmount vesuviusrestaurant staffroom numbersun loungers
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,023 - 2,028 of 2,548 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2008

What can I say about this hotel, other than absolutely amazing! We arrived in the afternoon and were greeted by professional staff. Our luggage was brought in for us, and the guys at reception were courteous and very welcoming. The decor of the hotel is strongly grounded in classic 1920's style, which provided a warm and welcoming atmosphere. The views from even the hotel front door were breathtaking, not to mention the views from the balcony. The location of the hotel is ideal...it's away from the bustle of Sorrento's main strip, but definitely within walking distance. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. As the Bristol was our starting point for our honeymoon, its was an amazing gesture to have a bottle of champagne waiting for us in our room. Our accomodation was Half-Board, so dinner and breakfast were included. The menus varied from evening to evening, so we always had a different choice of food every night. The quality of the food and service in the restaurant were impecable. The breakfast selection was excellent, with fresh fruit salad, bread, cakes, and a choice of how we liked our eggs cooked. Evening entertainment was provided too, from Piano Bar nights to Songs from The Opera

I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Sorrento.

Our thanks go all the way to Salvatore and all the staff at the Bristol for an amazing experience.

All the best, Declan & Anna (Room 205)

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank declanshortall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2008

I spend a week at the Bristol hotel and can say without doubt, that it was by far one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in!!

For a start the location is beautiful, from any room you have wonderful views out to sea, and the rooms are lovely, spacious and very clean.

The staff are out of this world!! They bend over backwards for you and make it their duty that you have a wonderful time. I did have a few favourites, you really cant help but warm to them instantly.

The food...Oh the food!!! I have never tasted food like this in my life!! Every night was different and it was all gorgeous!! My hat goes off to the chef!!

I found it very hard to leave after the week was up, I wanted to bundle the staff (and the food) into my suitcase!!

I highly recommend this hotel! Its fantastic! A real must!!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Nomz88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2008

We stayed at the Bristol in September as we were getting maried at the Villa Fondi in Piano di Sorrento.

The hotel was spacious,clean and the staff were very friendly and very helpful.

We had a room on the 9th floor which was a bit of a mission to find at first,but we had a fantastic view of the bay and Mt Vesuvius. However, we didnt use the balcony as it was in the shade and wasnt very inviting as it was next to our "neighbours" balcony with no privacy at all.

The shower in the room was fantastic. However, we did miss not having any tea and coffee making facilities. We thought that having a kettle should be a basic requirement. When we asked, kettles were only issued to families with babies, for sterilizing purposes. I felt that this may have been a ploy to get us to buy cups of tea from the bar...!

Our room had a handy safe, hairdryer and plenty of sockets for appliances. Please note, although the literature says that that if you use these, it may cause a blackout, it doesn't!

The bedrooms are changed daily and the maid service is ver,very regular-in the morning at about 10-00 and then at about 19-00. There has been criticism about the food not being up to standard at the Bristol. However, we found the selections very varied, tasty ,filling and to a very high standard.

Be aware, that at night, you do get visited by the local mosquitos that will leave your body a lovely lumpy shade of purple. Not a massive issue, but we used our plug-in repellent (a few days too late) which worked a treat.

If you do get bitten, there are late night pharmacies in Sorrento that have "tourist" cream, to ease the itching.

Sorrento itself is a bustling cosmopolitan town which comes alive at night. There is plenty to do and buy as shops are open till very late and is great for people watching with a cappucino after dinner. If you haven't been to Italy before,their driving practises are a thing to be experienced.As you step foot out of the Bristol, there is a very busy road.Its not overly noisy as has been mentioned, but although there is a "zebra" crossing outside, the locals are not obliged to stop,if you do the British thing and wait for someone to stop, youre holiday will be over before you get to the other side...Its more a case of pick your gap, look to the heavens and hope that someone is watching over you and then make a leap of faith.By and large,they will always stop if you are actually in the process of crossing,but if you faff around, you will quickly be surrounded by fast moving cars and scooters with whole families (including dogs) riding shotgun!.

In Sorrento, most of the public toilets(as in most of the region) are pay as you go.A recommendation is to find out the tourist info building which is very large and has large, clean, free toilets. You can get all your maps,timetables and advice from this building, so seek it out asap.

The wedding-There was a choice of either villa Fondi or the Cloisters. I have to say, after seeing both venues (we were married at the Fondi),i would NOT recommend the cloisters,unless you want random locals and tourists in your photos. There is no privacy whatsoever and it is shaded.

Fondi however,was just outside Sorrento(30 euro taxi/2 euro train). and is a lovely secluded garden,set on a cliff with Vesuvius in the backdrop.Its full of places to have your photos taken in the sun and you wont see another person within the gardens.

Its was a lovely service, organised by Thompson. We were presented by the registrar with a lovely presentation box containing a silver, engraved plaque and also an Italian flag-a very nice momento of our special day.

Fondi was a really beautiful place to get married.We would both highly recommend it.

Places to go...As well as the obvious Pompei and vesuvius,Herculaneum is definitely worth a visit.Its everything that Pompei lacks.

Everywhere is accessed by the train/bus station which is at the far end of Sorrento town. You buy your tickets from the shop underneath the station.

If you are catching the coach to Amalfi, get to the bus station very early as the queues are massive and you could end up waiting for hours. We ended up buying our ticket early and then catching the coach at about 15-00 with a view to spending the evening at the other end.
Although the 1.5 hour journey is spectacular, Amalfi itself is an anti climax. We ended up coming back after a short amount of time.

If you are going to Naples,watch your handbag as its full of the dodgiest of dodgy people!Out of all of the museums, the Archeological museum is the most relevant if you plan to visit the major sites, as most of the important atefacts are here.Buy an audio guide from the museum though!

We had a two week break,which is enough to see sorrento and the surrounding areas.

I hope that you enjoy your stay, as we did and that this review was helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Billyray911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2008

We stayed at the Hotel Bristol for a week for our Anniversary and fell in love with the hotel and Sorrento.

We arrived late at night after a flight delay to find a lovely cold platter waiting for us in our room which we found to be a very kind gesture.

The service provided was the best we've experienced. The waiters were especially attentive and friendly.

The hotel has amazing views and is ideally situated just out of the centre. We will definitely be returning soon.

We have to mention the wonderful and authentic Taverna Sorrentina in the heart of the centre of Sorrento. What lovely people, wonderful food and drinks at very reasonable prices.

The hotel Bristol can not be faulted, we shall be back!!!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ilovespain1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2008

We stayed at this hotel for a week on our honeymoon and thoroughly enjoyed it. When we arrived we were escorted to our room and all the facilities were explained to us. The room was huge with a beautiful tiled floor and a seating area. There was a balcony with sea views, table and chairs and 2 loungers. The bathroom was spacious with a bath and fantastic shower with strong water pressure.

The hotel facilities were amazing, there was a large pool, with loungers around it, a huge terrace with lots of sofas, wicker furniture and seating, and an outdoor bar in the shade. The hotel had lots of bright green cacti decorating the outdoor areas - with the needles removed to prevent injury. Breakfast and dinner were in the hotel restaurants overlooking the bay with huge floor to ceiling windows. Breakfast was a buffet with your choice of eggs cooked to order, and there was plenty of bread, cheese, fruit, and hot food to choose from. Dinner was a 3 course meal with substantial portions and the waiters were very attentive. The wine we were recommended was so nice we brought some home.

The location of the hotel was excellent, it was outside of the main town and the touristy feel that Sorrento has, it was up a hill but the hill was not steep in any way and I am quite lazy!! It was more of a winding road and took about 10 minutes from the centre of Sorrento but you can't even break a sweat walking. There's also a regular bus service to get you into town and onwards. I would recommend this hotel because the facilities location and staff were all excellent and I felt that it was well priced too.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews