We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”
Review of Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Bristol
Ranked #15 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We have stayed at the Bristol Hotel twice - December 2007 and September 2012 - and each occasion has been wonderful On the most recent stay we had the half-pension arrangement whereby we had breakfast and dinner included. Each meal had a range of menu choices to select and the food was always very goo. And the view from the restaurant on the 7th floor across the town and Bay of Naples is absolutely spectacular. The rooms we had were in the newer part of the complex and were very well appointed, spacious and very clean. The staff are attentive without being intrusive and were always well attired in their white suit coats and black ties. One of the staff (Jean Paul) was working there on both occasions that we stayed and he took great care to ensure we were always well served. Bristol Hotel is the ideal place to stay in Sorrento and we would have hesitation in recommending it to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Noel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,457)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Bristol
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

917 - 923 of 2,457 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

We are a family of four (two adults and two kids aged 11 and 13) who recently spent six nights at the Bristol Hotel (occupying two of the “Junior Suites with Outdoor Jacuzzis”). The views from the balconies of these suites are incredible, overlooking the cliffs of Sorrento, Mt. Vesuvius and the Bay of Naples. The location is within walking distance of the town center, numerous restaurants and the Circumvesuviana train station (for local travel including Pompeii and Herculaneum). The hotel grounds are beautiful, our rooms were spotless and well maintained, and the balconies in our suites were spacious and equipped with remote controlled shades for the sunny afternoons. The service in the restaurant was excellent, particularly the head waiter/host. He was always warm and friendly, made an effort to know every room, and was the only hotel staff member who ever engaged the kids.

Now for the not so good.

1. We felt that this hotel is aimed at adults traveling without children. It has a very stuffy feel, there are numerous quiet areas (the pool area was so quiet that our very well-behaved kids felt uncomfortable going in), and it reminded us of the old fashioned “Grand Hotels” of New England. If that’s what you’re looking for, then this is a terrific choice in Sorrento. However, families traveling with kids should know this up front.

2. Beware that certain of the Junior Suites with Outdoor Jacuzzis (we were in #647 and #650) are directly below the hotel’s bar, which is open from 7:00PM to midnight seven days a week. We were not told this at check-in, which is unfortunate. The bar has live music every night until midnight, and we needed our I-Pod earphones on to fall asleep. In addition, you will hear the sound of chairs being dragged across the floor all night long (it amazed us that the hotel didn’t anticipate this and put something on the chairs to muffle the sound).

3. One night, a glass came flying down from the bar upstairs, shattering onto the balcony of our kids room at 10:30 PM and startling the kids. A few minutes later, they had a knock on the door from someone yelling “terrace, terrace”. My 13-year old, partially dressed daughter opened the door, and the gentleman from the hotel essentially let himself in to clean up the balcony. Only he didn’t. The next morning, we found large glass fragments remaining on the balcony. When I called the front desk to ask for someone to clean it up, there was no apology, no accountability and no recognition of what had happened, but rather a terse “we’ll send someone up”. We were very surprised that the hotel allows glassware directly above the suite balconies, and I’m just glad it didn’t happen when our kids were on the balcony.

4. The few times we tried to ask the front desk personnel for assistance, they were unhelpful and at times condescending. For example, we inquired about hiring a car to Herculaneum, as we had (very erroneously) heard it could be dangerous walking from the train stop. The reply was “Well, maybe you should only go to Pompei and skip Herculaneum”. We ultimately stopped trying and just arranged everything ourselves.

Generally, a very nice and beautiful hotel, but probably not the best choice for families traveling with even the best behaved children.

Room Tip: "Junior Suites with Outdoor Jacuzzi" #647 and #650 are directly below the hotel bar, which...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BKMass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This hotel is very nice. Excellent service!! Great pool and View of the Bay! The breakfast is very good. Fresh juice, eggs, bacon all one would need. Sort walk downhill into town. Not so bad walking up the hill to get back to your hotel. I stayed in the villas. Great spot, but the walk up is a little rough. Make sure your in shape before renting the villa's!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rjl51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Just returned from our stay at The Bristol Hotel in Sorrento. It was as good if not better than we expected and the staff efficient and really friendly. We chose this hotel as our daughter is gluten intolerant and read on a review how well this hotel caters for it and true to that review it does. The restaurant staff always clearly pointed out what she could not eat and a tasty gluten free bread roll was served with every meal. The food was really good and with lots of choices for her and everyone.
We all had a great relaxing stay and the terrace and pool area had stunning views, so too our balconies. Worth every penny!

Room Tip: Always pay extra for room with view and balcony it is so worth it even if you don't think so. Yo...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Fantistic hotel with stunning views, food is at a high standard complements to the chef, all the staff work very hard and well dressed and helpful our room was very clean with a great view. Only 10min walk to Sorrento it was our 30th anniversary and this was a lovely hotel to celebrate and relax at. Only down side I have is our room was 207 which is in a separate block from the hotel and from the outside you would not think it was connected to the Bristol!! So you have to walk through the connecting corridor to the hotel then up the lift to the resturant so we felt disconnected from the hotel. I would return to this hotel but I would make sure to book a room in the main hotel ours was a standard sea view room but I saw the same type of room in the main hotel and it was a much better room with a walk in shower ours had a bath/shower which was tight and slipy when showering. The Amalfi coast is a beautiful place and has many places to visit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pnepack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This hotel is not the cheapest you will find, but can assure you it is well worth the extra. Beautiful setting with superb views of Sorrento. The hotel is well set out with excellent facilities, from your room, with outstanding balconies, to the restaurants, pool area and bars. The staff are so helpful and friendly and cannot do enough for you. Not based on you tipping them, although they all certainly deserved what we did leave for them.
Although situated high up on the coastal road only 10 minutes walk into Sorrento town, which is gorgeous. A holiday to remember.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view. We were on 7th floor and our private balcony was vast with sun loungers, table a...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank STEVE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We went for 2 weeks half board, which was unusual for us as we like to try local restaurants when on holiday. However,the restaurant food and setting were both excellent, so we didn't feel the need to eat out. The views across the bay from the hotel were stunning. Staff were very helpful and the bedroom was kept very clean. The location of the hotel was also good as although it was out of town it was only a short walk to the shops and bars, Also, it was just a 15 minute walk to the train and bus station so we could easily visit all the local sites including Pompeii, Vesuvius, Herculaneum , Naples and the Amalfi coast. The cost of using trains and buses were both cheap. The hotel had a lovely sun terrace but the pool was the only negative, as we felt it was too deep even in the shallow end at 1.6m. The pool also had a rope around it, so you couldn't sit on the edge and put your feet in the water.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 1961annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,430 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,378 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,719 reviews
0.1 mi away
Minerva Hotel
Minerva Hotel
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
1,116 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Address: Via Capo 10, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sorrento
#3 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#7 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#9 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £111 - £283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Bristol nestles into the cliff side, in one of the most enchanting corners of the coast, offering its guests stunning panoramic views, stretching from the picturesque fishing village of Marina Grande below to the Punta Scutolo in the distance and directly across the bay to the majestic Vesuvius with Pompei and Naples at its feet. For generations the highly professional Acampora Family have been offering a warm welcome to its international clientele, many of whom return year after year and consider the Hotel their second home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bristol Sorrento
Bristol Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing