We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeded our expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Bristol
Ranked #13 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Exceeded our expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

My wife and I have just returned from 2 fantastic weeks on holiday in Sorrento and this Hotel is a key reason it was such a great time. The rooms with a balcony have great views, the view from room 601 made our jaws drop, stunning. The standards throughout the hotel are excellent, the decor, the food, the facilities and this is all underpinned by a team who clearly care about their customers. It was delightful to be looked after by such friendly and attentive staff. We also had the opportunity to stay in one of the "villas" that the hotel has on it's grounds which are even more impressive. The effort in climbing steps to get to the villa was well worth it. The only aspect that wasn't to our taste was the live music in the evening, rather dated for us but with so much else to do in and around the hotel it was not an issue for us. We very much hope to visit again in the future.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a balcony, it's well worth the extra cost. The higher the room the better for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Davidofharlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,769
    392
    103
    27
    10
See reviews for
384
1,433
22
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (774)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

First visit was 2 weeks ago will definitely be returning. Wanted to go to Sorrento for many years, chose this Hotel through Thomson Holidays. Far out reached expectations. Hotel views were amazing; staff, food, accommodation, facilities were excellent. 10 minute walk into the town and to the beach. Shops and restaurants galore.

Room Tip: Stayed on 3rd floor traffic noise from road when sitting out on balcony, not a problem when in room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Great stay in room 809. Entire hotel clean and immaculate. Maid service exceptional in room. Waiter service for meals excellent. Reception team spot on. Good meals with great choice. Best views in Sorrento by far. We stayed in July but loads of space and never felt cramped. Only minor criticism would be not a huge or attractive pool but did not impact on us as we did a lot of sight seeing. There is alternative sunbathing on a lower terrace. Great hotel, great location, great service. Would recommend in a heart beat for couples or families with older children

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dairycrest3Wigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Once again, my Mum and I had a fabulous holiday at the Bristol Hotel where we stayed two weeks in a junior suite (805). Special thanks to Ercole for helping to ensure we had a wonderful room. Having stayed at the Bristol previously, I was not surprised by excellent standards of care and professionalism from all of the staff from the reception, room assistants and bar staff to Giancarlo the very charming owner. Once again, Matteo and his restaurant staff (including Guiseppe, Andrea, Antonio) excelled and the food was great. Breakfast was my favourite especially the cappuccino made by Andrea! We met lots of guests who had been returning to the Bristol for many years - this is an indication of the quality of the hotel. If you are considering Sorrento and are looking for a relaxing break in charming surroundings with excellent service, I strongly advise you book your next holiday at the Bristol.

Kate

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K8-Scozia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

We have returned to Bristol for a second year and again it didnt disappoint, the exceptionally high standards we experienced on our first visit was still the same its a shame that Pasquale has retired but we found his replacement Sergio even better.

As my last review the staff really make the hotel what it is and on our return visit this was the same again with most of them remembering us from our visit last year.

We enjoy this hotel and location so much that we are booking to return again next year I think we have found our home from home and what a 2nd home it is.

I find it extremely hard to find a fault with this hotel or location.

Room Tip: Make sure you upgrade to a junior suite if your budget allows it is well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

I can only really repeat all the positives that have been written previously, great views, great food, great part of the world. Only downside on this holidays was Thomsons TBH as in being held at the airport car park on arrival for 1.5 hrs in the heat with no air con allowed. Plus the price of the excursions.

Room Tip: High floors are best but we had 615 which is under the Dinner time dining room which is fine unless...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diggerManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake District, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Wow, what a place this is. From the moment we arrived we were looked after even when we arrived at 11pm. Matteo and his team waited up to feed us after our journey. We liked our room when we arrived but we had hoped for an upgrade as we were on our honeymoon. It turns out that Thomson forgot to tell them we were on our honeymoon!!!! Salvatore on reception pulled out all the stops to try to sort an upgrade for us which he did by the fourth night of our 14 night stay so we were made up as we got an even better view and the first view was amazing enough. Sadly there were no suites available but never mind - our room 905 was really lovely.

The food in the terrace bar was great - we sometimes swapped dinner for lunch so that we could go out in the evening. The food was excellent in the dining room and there was always lots of choice. Breakfast was pretty good too. Every member of staff was a credit to the hotel as they worked so hard to make sure we had a nice time. We were sad to leave The Bristol as we just loved it.

The pool area and roof terrace were spectacular. I wouldn't recommend you bring kids here, there is nothing there for them and no other kids to play with. Take them somewhere with a kids club. The hotel was mainly older English and Irish couples and honeymooners which we were more than happy with.

We would like to thank all of the staff at the Bristol hotel as together they make this the most wonderful place to stay. Salvatore on reception is fantastic, nothing is too much trouble - the other reception staff are also fantastic. Matteo and his dream team in the restaurant treated us like royalty. Every member of staff spoke to us at every opportunity from the waiters to the cleaning and maintenance staff. What a place!

We really loved Sorrento as well. The hotel is ideally situated just a few minutes walk. There are lots of nice bars in town, we went while the world cup was on so went to English Inn and also Monna Lisa mostly. The food in the restaurant was better than eating out we found. It is worth going to the marina grande and sampling the little restaurant owned by the fishermen as the fish is very fresh as you'd expect.

Amazing place, amazing honeymoon. Thank you

Room Tip: Definitely get a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lakes81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,848 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,185 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
0.6 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Property: Hotel Bristol
Address: Via Capo 10, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sorrento
#3 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#7 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#12 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Bristol nestles into the cliff side, in one of the most enchanting corners of the coast, offering its guests stunning panoramic views, stretching from the picturesque fishing village of Marina Grande below to the Punta Scutolo in the distance and directly across the bay to the majestic Vesuvius with Pompei and Naples at its feet. For generations the highly professional Acampora Family have been offering a warm welcome to its international clientele, many of whom return year after year and consider the Hotel their second home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bristol Sorrento
Bristol Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing