We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Class Hotel, Staff and Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Bristol
Ranked #13 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“First Class Hotel, Staff and Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

We have just returned from spending 8 nights at The Bristol. This was our second visit to Sorrento and our first to The Bristol. When we last visited Sorrento 7 years ago, we had walked up to the Bristol and my husband remembered thinking that there would be great views from that hotel. 7 years on, we looked at the photos on Tripadvisor and thought how amazing the hotel looked and then read the reviews! They completely sold us on wanting to stay at the Bristol. Unfortunately, none of the usual booking websites had availability for our dates. I then looked at the hotel's own website and the only room with availability for our dates was a Junior Suite. As we were so keen to book this hotel, we decided to spend the extra money and book it. We are so glad that we did. The emails that we received from Ercole confirming our booking and answering our queries, were always so friendly and helpful, from the start we felt comfortable and relaxed in our choice of hotel. We booked a car through the hotel to collect us from Naples Airport. This cost 80 Euros and was certainly worth it. Our driver Rico, was extremely friendly and chatty and again made our arrival in Italy a pleasant one. We arrived at the hotel at 9.30pm and were greeted by Antonio and Ercole at the front of the hotel. Ercole checked us in and then showed us to our room before taking us to the restaurant for our dinner. On going into our room and out on to the terrace, we saw that we had been upgraded to a Junior Suite with a Jacuzzi!! This was such a nice surprise, the room without the jacuzzi was amazing enough, it was very roomy, extremely clean and with great (quiet) airconditioning, but having our own jacuzzi on the terrace completed it brilliantly. We then had a good dinner, met Matteo, the very charming and helpful Maitre 'd and some of his team, who were also very friendly. What a great start to our holiday. The rest of the week carried on in the same way. Every member of staff that we came into contact with were brilliant. Nothing was too much trouble, Ercole, Antonio and Salvatore on reception all deserve a special mention, but the rest of the team were equally as friendly and helpful. Matteo, Luca and Gianluca in the restaurant, went out of their way to make both breakfast and dinner a pleasure, as did the rest of their team, unfortunately we do not know all of their names. We were there on a Bed and Breakfast basis, but we did eat dinner in the restaurant on 3 occasions. The food both at breakfast and dinner was extremely good. You could choose from either the Set Menu which had a good selection, or the A La Carte.
The view from our room (650) was spectacular! We loved laying on our sun loungers looking across at Versuvius, the Fishing Village and the hills in the distance.
We went over to Capri and took the bus to Anacapri where we visited the Villa San Michele. We highly recommend this. It was an amazing place with beautiful gardens and views that took our breath away. Despite it being August, it was not busy up there and we were able to sit in the cafe at the top of the villa and enjoy a glass of wine whilst savouring the views. Bliss!
Our thanks go to all the staff at this amazing hotel, which we thoroughly recommend. We are already planning our next visit to celebrate our wedding anniversary next year. We could not think of a better place to spend it!

Room Tip: If you prefer to have a larger terrace, then we would suggest paying the extra money and booking a J...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexandraDuarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,768
    392
    103
    27
    10
See reviews for
383
1,433
22
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (774)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Can't really add anything to the great reviews already written about this hotel other than it is rare that you encounter such pleasant staff who work so well together. They are a brilliant team and that includes those in the kitchen who serve up consistently great pasta and risotto dishes. The cakes take some beating too. If you are looking for a bright, contemporary hotel then the Hotel Bristol will not be for you. However, if you are looking for a hotel full of Italian charm you should enjoy staying here.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

The Bristol is an amazing hotel and Sorrento is a charming city.
I fell in love with the Bristol from the moment we were dropped off. The staff are very attentive and friendly, the decor is unusually different and quite quaint, and, where ever you are, the views are spectacular.
All parts of the hotel are clean and there is close attention to detail.
Service is friendly and efficient. The restaurant staff in particular are brilliant, as is the food. We stayed for 10 days and the dinner menu was changed daily. Pasta and risotto featured frequently, not surprisingly, but were delicious and varied. Breakfast choice was more limited but the quality of food was good, always fresh, and eggs were cooked to order. The cheesecake was gorgeous. Bar staff were also great. Choice of drinks was reasonable (lots of lovely Prosecco) and lovely savoury snacks served with drinks.
There were always beds to spare by the pool and on the terrace...views are second to none.
The Thomson rep, Martin, was knowledgable and refreshingly honest, with a great sense of humour. We enjoyed a few excursions and highly recommend the 'select' trip to Pompeii and Herculaneum.
There is so much to see and do, we are planning to visit again. It's a great holiday for mixing a bit of culture and plenty of R & R. Although the hotel was full, it always felt calm and peaceful. Very few children stayed (even though it was August) and all were delightful.
The only blemish on the holiday was an overly long wait (1 hour 25 mins) on the transfer bus before leaving the airport. We had to wait for a delayed flight from Manchester to arrive. Thomson Holidays should have organised a second bus for the delayed guests, in my view.

Room Tip: The higher, the better! This will ensure great views. A balcony is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed here for a week recently. I must say, the hotel grew on me a little ,more every day. The staff are first rate and the place is run like a military machine. The views are spectacular over the bay of Naples. Food was good but not spectacularly good but it was the service that made the difference. The place exudes the classic quality old hotel feel. Great place to stay will be back.

ps.

Liked the USB charger power sockets (including UK type)
Didn't like the slooooooooooooow wifi

Room Tip: View over the bay, with a balcony. Some rooms at the end have two balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IrishCouple_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

My new wife and I had a week long honeymoon at Hotel Bristol. We were on a half board basis. Our outward bound flight was delayed and we arrived at the hotel just in time for evening meal. To be honest we didn't have great expectations for the hotel food based on previous experiences. Oh on this occasion we were so wrong. From entering the 7th floor dining room the scene was set for a wonderful meal. The tables are all arranged to afford as many as possible the opportunity to take in the stunning panoramic views over Sorrento bay.
We were presented with very extensive food menu and wine list. We were very impressed by the quality of the food at both breakfast and evening meal times.
Our room had a small balcony overlooking the bay. The room was clean and well maintained.
We had only booked our holiday at short notice having gotten married three months after getting engaged and were therefore too late to do the big honeymoon experience. My wife asked pre travel were any suites available for our visit. However none were. During our stay however one became available having just been renovated. The hotel management upgraded us free if charge for our last two nights. This was obviously spotlessly clean having just been renovated. This suite had a beautiful balcony with outdoor hot tub. The views were amazing.
We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. The food is spot on and the staff are very good and friendly. Location is good too with a 10 minute walk to the town centre.
Great stay.... We will return soon which is something we rarely do as there are so many places to visit but this hotel and setting are so worth a return visit.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Swordsdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Our stay at The Bristol Hotel was most enjoyable, all the reviews were right great hotel great location attentive and experienced staff. We had a speedy effortless check in and bags delivered to our room. We had a sea view and balcony and a fantastic view across to Napoli and Vesuvius. The room was immaculate lovely big shower mini bar (pricey) and very quiet air conditioning. The Hotel exudes class at every level from the décor in public places to garden and pool area. A special thank you to Matteo and Sergio for making our stay so enjoyable the quality of the food and the choice of dishes were first class. We never go back but I think we will make an exception with the Bristol and plan to return in a few years time confident that the standards will be maintained and to see the friends we made during our stay. Cannot find a fault at all.

Room Tip: We had room 206 which was above the road but we found that entertaining watching the driving and noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerryh227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Wow, what a hotel, what a room, what a view, brilliant friendly staff. You say in this world you get what you pay for - worth every penny. Food perfect. Perfect hotel for our honeymoon. Nice easy walk to centre, bus stops, train station etc.

Room Tip: 630 looks straight across to Mont Vesuvius
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,846 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,184 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
0.6 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Property: Hotel Bristol
Address: Via Capo 10, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sorrento
#3 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#7 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#12 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Bristol nestles into the cliff side, in one of the most enchanting corners of the coast, offering its guests stunning panoramic views, stretching from the picturesque fishing village of Marina Grande below to the Punta Scutolo in the distance and directly across the bay to the majestic Vesuvius with Pompei and Naples at its feet. For generations the highly professional Acampora Family have been offering a warm welcome to its international clientele, many of whom return year after year and consider the Hotel their second home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bristol Sorrento
Bristol Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing