We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Perfection- the perfect holiday!”
Review of Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Bristol
Ranked #16 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Absolute Perfection- the perfect holiday!”
Reviewed 31 May 2009

It is a fantastic hotel- the best I have ever stayed at. The staff are very attentive, helpful and friendly. The hotel is clean and the facilities available there are brilliant. I would recommend it to anyone whether they were there for leisure or work. The hotel made the beautiful surroundings of Sorrento even more spectacular!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KentLiverBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,836
    414
    109
    27
    10
See reviews for
398
1,505
23
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (809)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ashford Kent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2009

There are fantastic views across Sorrento and the Bay of Naples from the sea facing rooms, restaurant, bars, terrace and the swimming pool in the Bristol Hotel. The rooms are very clean with ample space, many with their own balcony. Only private tea and coffee making facilities are lacking. The whole staff take an obvious pride in their hotel and combine a professional work ethic with friendly service and attention to detail. We always receive a warm, personal welcome and have now stayed there four times. The food is excllent with a wide choice for breakfast and dinner. Musical enterainment is provided in the main bar every evening. The hotel has a large, beautiful swimmimg pool, small gym and a private hillside garden. The shops and port are about 15 - 20 minutes walk from the hotel. Opportunities for travel around the area are good with frequent and inexpensive trains and buses and a variety of ferries. Sorrento has a rich variety of independent shops, restaurants and bars and is lively every evening until at least midnight. It is an ideal holiday location and the Hotel Bristol is the jewel in the crown. We haven't seen a better place to stay in this area.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StyleAshfordKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2009

We stayed at the Bristol for three nights...Our room was fabulous overlooking the Bay of Naples and Mt.Vesuvius looming in the distance..It is up on the hill so the views all around from your balcony,dining room or Bar area were all great...The service was excellent and the food very good...Staff very helpful and could not do enough for you.we liked it so much we came back and stayed a few more days after driving to Basilicata.
We hope to return one day soon...Rates were very good also and included breakfast

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angelineNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2009

Travelled to Sorrento with my partner on 8th May. 1st time visitor to Sorrento and Italy so wasnt sure what to expect. All i can say is ive fallen in love with Sorrento, the surrounding area and Italy.
The Bristol hotel is by far the best hotel i have ever stayed in. The staff cannot do enough for you and are so helpful and friendly. Nothing is too much trouble for them. The Hotel is clean and spacious but it never seems crowded. The room was excellent and the view was amazing. We could sit on the balcony all day and never get bored with the view looking across the Bay of Naples at Mount Vesuvius.
The food in the Hotel is fantastic and being a fussy eater like me even i was impressed and thats saying something ;-)
The hotel is just fantastic and they was nothing that wasnt up to standard.
Sorrento is a beautiful place with plenty to do and see. We did a couple of trips. Went to Pompeii & Mount Vesuvius with was just an incredible experience. Also did the Amalfi Drive which is a must and the scenery is just out of this world. Other things we wanted to do but didnt have time.
All in all though this holiday was 110% and i would recommend it to anyone thinking of going. Dont think about just book it, you wont regret it.
The staff are great, food great, hotel great and everyone we met was so nice and friendly (Marcia & Anna in particular) Also Katherine, our rep (or is it Travel Advisor or Holiday Advisor now) was fantastic. She was friendly, approachable, knowledgeable and a credit to Thomson Holidays.
Cant wait to go back next year. See you then!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fastdaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2009

On the afternoon of my arrival we were met by one of the nicest reps i have met on my travels namely Katherine, she greeted us all with a smile which is just what the doctor ordered after the ordeal at Naples Airport.  The transfer to the hotel was like walking into the wardrobe in the chronicles of Narnia once we passed through the tunnels we were in a different world with spectacular views along with the history of the region given to us by Katherine.  We arrived at the hotel and given our keys to the room every one of the staff were so friendly and polite I couldn’t fault and of them.  We got to the room and were greeted by a spectacular view of Naples Bay and Vesuvius the 3rd most deadly volcano.  We ventured out immediately into the town of Sorrento I have to say I fell in love with the place.  Back to the hotel and time for dinner.  The choice of food was excellent and again I couldn’t fault the service or the friendliness of the staff. For the whole of my stay the food was excellent with plenty of choices.  I would recommend the hotel and Sorrento and the restaurant Delfino’s in the cove below the hotel and also our Rep or Holiday advisor or travel advisor LOL Katherine we love ya and see you next year you better be there.  And also thanks for making our holiday the best and also thankyou to Louisa at Delfino's

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank degsy1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2009

This hotel is absolutely fantastic. The staff cannot do enough for you. The rooms are spotless. The views from the rooms are breath taking, a wonderful place to spend a holiday, we had entertainment for 2 of the nights and the Pianist and Tenor were excellent.. There a quite a few rooms but not once were we kept a wake at night with noise. The food lovely a different menu every night.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank claydoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2009

This was the final leg of my trip to Italy. We stayed for 7 nights in the hotel Bristol after being advised that there's no better. On arrival I found out immediately why it was recommended. As soon I I tried to open the door with suitcase in hand a member of the reception staff ran over held the door and took my bags all this while giving us a warm welcome. After a quick and painless checkin we were whisked to our room. The room itself was very spacious and comfortable. The floor was tiled blue which gives you a cooling effect when it gets warm. The bed was big and comfortable and the bathroom was fitted with an in tub tropical rainfall shower head.
We had a decent sized balcony overlooking the bay of Naples and Vesuvius. My only negative regarding the balcony was that it appears that none of them are private. From our room we could see all the below rooms plus the balcony on either side. If you want private you need to be on the top floor.
We stayed in the hotel on a half board basis. Before talking about the food I'll just say to you that the single best thing about this hotel is the staff. At every meal and ever opportunity the staff were extremely please and friendly to deal with and were all genuine & professional. After your first meeting staff remembered your room number and knew what you favorite tipple etc was.
I found the standard of the food for the duration of our stay to be very good, I had no complaints and the evening menu had enough changes to keep you interested. 1 tip regarding breakfast, if you would like something that's not on the buffet just ask and they will try to organize for you.
Now there are a couple of negatives to consider before booking. The fist is something you will be familiar with if you've ever stayed in a hotel with tiled rooms and corridors, ladies in high heels and furniture being moved create a lot of noise. Not much you can do hear except accept it, it will wake you up at some stage I guarantee.
Something I noticed that wasn't a bid deal for me but is worth noting was that the childrens play area was very unkempt and to be honest was unusable in its current state.
The hotel is located about 5-10 max walking to the main town center giving it an excellent location especially seeing as there's a footpath the whole way that other hotels don't seem to have. You're 30min train trip to Pompeii and 30 minutes ferry crossing to Capri although I was told that Ischia is a better Island.
To recap, good size room, good standard food, outstanding service, great location. Would I recommend? Yes, Would I return ? Yes.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Seanie_pc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,343 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
3,061 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,509 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
1,659 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Property: Hotel Bristol
Address: Via Capo 10, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sorrento
#3 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#7 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#15 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Bristol nestles into the cliff side, in one of the most enchanting corners of the coast, offering its guests stunning panoramic views, stretching from the picturesque fishing village of Marina Grande below to the Punta Scutolo in the distance and directly across the bay to the majestic Vesuvius with Pompei and Naples at its feet. For generations the highly professional Acampora Family have been offering a warm welcome to its international clientele, many of whom return year after year and consider the Hotel their second home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bristol Sorrento
Bristol Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing