We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ab fab Bristol!!!”
Review of Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Bristol
Ranked #15 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Ab fab Bristol!!!”
Reviewed 16 May 2006

Just spent a week at the Bristol Hotel and it was superb. The staff were absolutely wonderful and made us feel very welcome and special. The views from this hotel are stunning and the cocktail bar balcony is the place to be. The facilities are excellent and the food was very appetising, especially the evening starters which were a meal in themselves. The maitre'd, Matteo, is a wonderful host and his staff are very professional making every meal a pleasure. This was our 25th wedding trip and we will certainly be returning for our 30th.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank S D Evs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,855
    419
    109
    27
    10
See reviews for
405
1,521
23
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (820)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 9 May 2006

The seven nights we spent in the Bristol Hotel were the most enjoyable we have experienced anywhere before. The spotlessly turned-out staff were helpful, friendly and very understanding of our mangling of their native language (all the staff we spoke to had a very good standard of English).

The room was airy and spotlessly clean and remained so for the course of our stay – the shower was particularly powerful and I spent much longer in there than I should have! The balcony views were simply stunning with panoramic views over the bay of Naples with Vesuvius dominating the skyline directly across the bay and the wonderful town of Sorrento spread out to the right. All the balconies seemed to have excellent views but I think we were particularly lucky to be placed towards the top corner of the hotel at the very top of the cliffs, which gave us a magnificent 180 degree vista.

The hotel is marble floored in the lobby and stairs (even apparently the lift!) and decorated very smartly. The walls of the passageways are hung with original artwork.
The hotel itself is very large with many lounges, bars and terraces as well as the private balconies on most of the rooms – this means that it can easily absorb the many guests with room to spare and you very rarely bump into other guests outside the eating and drinking areas.

The food was excellent with many locally sourced dishes of a very high standard, the service faultless and all the staff eager to please. The menu was extensive and different every night. It would be unfair to single out any particular members of restaurant and bar staff individually as all were effortlessly competent under the ever-watchful eye of the Maitre D, Matteo who helped to make our stay so enjoyable.

We would like to take this opportunity to thank all the hotel staff, Matteo and his restaurant staff and GianPaulo and all the bar staff for putting up with us!

We did not wish to leave and given the chance would head back there tomorrow.

John & Caroline (Room 905)

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2006

We stayed at the Hotel Bristol from the 22nd April to the 29th April 2006. The occassion was the wedding of our daughter SallyAnne to Colman in Positano. This is a superb hotel. The facilities are excellent, the staff are friendly, courteous and obliging. Nothing was too much trouble and everything was doable. Ercole in reception went out of his way to help with any problems we had. We are looking forward to returning to this beautiful place.

Helpful?
7 Thank shamo1503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2006

We just returned from our two week holiday in Italy, and the Hotel Bristol provided the highlight of our trip. The staff quickly learned our names, and were extremely accomodating. We booked a triple room to include our teenage daughter, and the room had a terrace overlooking the bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvius -- beautiful! We only booked breakfast with our room, and there was always a large spread, including pastries and bread, meats and cheeses, eggs and sausages. The pool area was clean and gorgeous and we spent Easter Sunday there listening to authentic Italian music while soaking up the sun. Our only disappointment was that we weren't allowed to use the sauna because Italy has a new law which requires a doctor's permission to use a sauna, and there wasn't a doctor available on Easter Sunday. When we returned from our holiday, we received an email from the hotel stating that a local restaurant where we had dinner one evening overcharged us, and they wanted to help us get the charges returned! Great hotel, great staff, great views!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank denada78us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 3 April 2006

Date Janurary 31st, 2006
Tynan family, European tour (THE Highlight !).

Our family had been driving through central Europe for four weeks when the cold got the better of us (Australians). My wife had fond memories of Sorrento and so we drove there from Vienna. We arrived late afternoon at the Hotel Bristol, fresh from a minor collision on the motorway (at 170K/Hr) so were in need of both rest AND help.
Ercole, the Manager of the Hotel, made us feel at home at once.
The magnificent views,food,service and help with the local police made our stay the high point of our two months touring.
I questioned Ercole about the account because I thought we had been undercharged, he was correct to the cent.
We'll be back in October for a longer stay

Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 27 March 2006

The trip to Sorrento was to celebrate a fortieth birthday, so we were looking for something special and the Hotel Bristol did not disappoint. We were promised a “lovely room” and got it in spades. The room was huge with a lounge area, bedroom, bathroom and wrap around balcony. The five headed shower was to die for and if I could have put it in my suitcase and taken it home with me, I would have. The hotel staff were wonderful, nothing was too much trouble and the views were stunning. All in all a great place to become 40!!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 16 March 2006

I have stayed at the Bristol twice, and both times was met with courteous staff, clean rooms, wonderful meals, and incredible views. The rooms have balconies overlooking the town of Sorrento, Bay of Naples, and Mt. Vesuvius. Simply spectacular! It is an easy and pleasant walk from the hotel into the town of Sorrento. It is definitely a place I will stay again.

Helpful?
17 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,371 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,104 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,682 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Property: Hotel Bristol
Address: Via Capo 10, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sorrento
#3 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#7 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Bristol nestles into the cliff side, in one of the most enchanting corners of the coast, offering its guests stunning panoramic views, stretching from the picturesque fishing village of Marina Grande below to the Punta Scutolo in the distance and directly across the bay to the majestic Vesuvius with Pompei and Naples at its feet. For generations the highly professional Acampora Family have been offering a warm welcome to its international clientele, many of whom return year after year and consider the Hotel their second home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bristol Sorrento
Bristol Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing