We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hilltop location with amazing views”
Review of Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Bristol
Ranked #14 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2010

This was the best hotel overall on my two week trip in Italy. The view from my balcony room was like a postcard and the service was impeccable. After staying in tiny rooms in my previous stops, it was a sight for sore eyes to have our extremely spacious room and huge bathroom. The balcony was so nice that my wife and I had a picnic there three times.

Hotel Bristol's staff was very friendly and were always willing to help and find places for you. The room was also very clean.

The Hotel is about a 10 minute walk from downtown with a moderate slope but it doesn't even seem like you are walking uphill/downhill.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madhatr00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,515)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,812 - 1,818 of 2,515 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2010

This was the most incredible hotel of all of our stay in europe, we would have loved to stay there longer. Incredible view, clean confortable rooms, food at the hotel was exquisite. All the hotel was a beauty. We would go back in a heart beat and stay longer. There was absolutely nothing wrong with our stay. We loved it.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lexla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2010

The purpose of this review is to talk about our personal experience. The Bristol offers a fantastic combination of elegance and comfort but the the truly outstanding feature to top this is the the warmth of your welcome.
We cannot recall any holiday in which the warmth of the welcome and the unfailing courtesy right from the moment of booking by email was so consistent.
So to facts;we stayed in one of the private villa suites which are located in the grounds of the hotel and the 49 steps are not for the out of condition guest!
The standard of accommodation and seclusion were both first rate. The evening dinner was a delight with a wide ranging a la carte of the highest standard. The hotel is a very comfortable walk into Sorrento.
The headline says it all - we wish we could award an extra star.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappycoupleBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2010

I loved this hotel. The staff were brilliant - front desk superb, restaurant staff wonderful. The hotel is exceptionally clean, ever bit of it. The location is a little out of town, so the views over sorrento are AMAZING. We had room 650 which was simply superb, huge double sunlounger bed and a jacuzzi on the balcony! the bed was massive, all white, TV in the bathroom!! It really was such a beautiful room. The first room we had was one of the villas (room 385), which was stunning, but we could hear every word by the people in the next room. For 230 Euros a night, I wouldnt tolerate this, so we moved after one night, and it was to be honest much more convenient to be in the main hotel - and the views are better. In the 31 degree heat, you just dont want to be climbing loads of steps to get to your room. I think this otel is more like a 5 star to be honest - the service, the rooms, the ambience - all brilliant.

One tip is that we ate nearly every night at a restaurant 5 mins walk away for a good proce, the best food weve had in Italy - La Fenice, just past the laundrette at the bottom of the hill. The food there is truly amazing.

The other thing I really loved about this hotel is the public rooms were always spacious and you could always get a table, sunlounger, sofa, it never felt full (even though the hotel was busy) and all the furniture was top quality. When you get to my age (41) you want a comfy solid seat!! Its pure class.....

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tescoqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2010

Stayed at the Hotel Bristol with Thomson Holidays on half board.
We had a room on the 3rd floor with absolutely brillant views of Sorrento town, the bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvius, the best views in town by far.
The room and hotel were spotless and on one day we even found one hotel porters washing the metal stair railings from the ground up to the 7th floor !!!!
The breakfast was a good mix of fruit, cereal, local bread and rolls and hot food, eggs and bacon were available to order.
Lunch on the 7th floor restaurant was very good with a good choice.
Dinner in the main restaurant was always a relaxed affair with a 4 choices for starter and main course, the food especially the starters was always very good but a greater emphasis on italian sytle cooking on the mains courses would have been nice i.e pasta was generally only served as a starter.
One bonus was that you can swap dinner for lunch so that you can have dinner in town, with a plentyfull choice of very good restaurants so of which can were recommended by the Thomson rep - and were very good.
The pool was just the right size if a little cold as it is not heated apart from the by the sun.
The pool side bar was brillant.
The staff were all very accomodating with good English and most guests did their bit with trying to say hello/good evening etc in Italian which we would hope is appreciated.
Cant wait to stay again in the Bristol and would happly recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fluffy2506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2010

What a special place the Hotel Bristol is in Sorrento. From the time you arrive to when you leave every member of staff treats you as if you are part of their large extended family. At all times the staff are friendly and helpful. The hotel is situated a few minutes walk from the centre of Sorrento. The views from the hotel are breathtaking from Marina Grande across the Bay of Napels to Mount Vesuvius. A special thank you to Matteo and Josef who ensured we enjoyed our stay. We will definitely be back soon and I would highly recommend The Hotel Bristol to anyone who is thinking of visiting Sorrento or the Amalfi Coast.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2010

Just returned from a break at the above hotel. Everything about it was perfect. I got exactly what I requested when booking...and more. Facilities, staff, accomodation, views were undiscribable.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmel26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
987 reviews
0 mi away
Minerva Hotel
Minerva Hotel
#13 of 100 in Sorrento
1,141 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
2,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,779 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,295 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Address: Via Capo 10, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sorrento
#3 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#7 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#13 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £109 - £314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Bristol nestles into the cliff side, in one of the most enchanting corners of the coast, offering its guests stunning panoramic views, stretching from the picturesque fishing village of Marina Grande below to the Punta Scutolo in the distance and directly across the bay to the majestic Vesuvius with Pompei and Naples at its feet. For generations the highly professional Acampora Family have been offering a warm welcome to its international clientele, many of whom return year after year and consider the Hotel their second home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bristol Sorrento
Bristol Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing