We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FAB-U-LOUS!!”
Review of Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Bristol
Ranked #16 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“FAB-U-LOUS!!”
Reviewed 7 July 2010

We stayed for two weeks in room 647 (Etta) - what a beautiful room, totally white with peppermint patterned floor tiles and one peppermint coloured chair. Our balcony had a jacuzzi, two armchairs and a circular bed with canopy and the most amazing views over the bay.
The hotel is immaculate - staff are always cleaning. The restuarant, under the supervision of Maitre d'Hotel Matteo - is fabulous, the a la carte menu is delicious and the courgette pasta was incredible, as was the spring lamb, as ware the king prawns...!
The terrace is beautiful - incredibly calm and relaxing.
The hotel is located on a very busy road with a narrow pavement - the walk into Sorrento takes just over ten mins and care is needed along the pavement.
We loved this hotel and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElizabethPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,801
    411
    109
    26
    10
See reviews for
391
1,473
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (794)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2010

Had the best holiday in years the hotel was spotless and so friendly the staff could not do enough to help you. As for the room it was fantastic we had a 2 bedrooms with a huge balcony and it was spotless. The food was to die for the staff were so friendly. Cant wait till next year

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank window12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2010

We stayed here for 7 nights in a standard 8th floor sea view room and absolutely fell in love with the hotel; the staff were so friendly/welcoming & helpful and the food was delicious (particularly the extensive breakfast; speaking of which why do people go abroad and expect to eat what they have at home?! Surely part of the experience of being in a different country is sampling the local food & drink?). The roof terrace was a lovely place to relax with plenty of cozy seating available and stunning views of the coastline. The pool, situated just above the roof terrace, was also lovely and was never over crowded (there was always lots of sun beds available); our only complaint was that it closed @ 6pm which we found was about an hour too early when returning from daily excursions and would have enjoyed a dip. In terms of location it is a relaxed 15 minute walk to the Piazza Tasso from the hotel and about 3-5 minutes from the edge of town. Honourable mention goes to the 'Sweet Dreams' bar which is about 3 minutes down the road towards town; a great little spot with very welcoming staff (molto grazie to Salvatore & Christian; great guys!) and superb food & drink; plus it opens into the early morning hours which is great for a late drink. We will definitely be staying here again on future visits to Sorrento!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pete_Honor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Durham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2010

As this was our wedding we had pushed the boat out and booked a more expensive hotel – The Bristol. It was worth every penny we paid. We reserved a standard room with Sea View and balcony and the views were absolutely to die for. The room itself was classic Italian and the décor plain but lovely. Maid service was exceptional and the room kept spotless throughout the 2 weeks.

The staff at The Bristol are absolutely wonderful without exception. Unfortunately I cannot remember all the names now. Salvatore on the reception desk we extremely helpful as were all of the reception team.

Our stay was half board and so we enjoyed Breakfast and Dinner each day. If you were unable to attend dinner you were offered lunch instead. The food was delicious! Breakfast was a buffet style with a wide range of cereals, continental pastries, eggs and hot food. There was everything you could ask for including smoked salmon and cheese/cold meats. Dangerously I started having vanilla cheesecake in the second week which was delicious! The evening meals were also very good. The portion size is not ridiculous which enabled full enjoyment of all 3 courses! There were numerous choices for each course and typically the starters were salad or pasta with a meat or fish dish and veg for main and then cake or ice cream for desert. As you would expect with a nice hotel in Italy the quality of the food was wonderful and so tasty! The service was also exceptional. The Maître d’ Mattheo is great as is his second in command Pasquale. He made a huge fuss of us all through our stay. Not in an over bearing way but such that you felt extremely welcome. The view from the restaurant was fabulous and we were seated at the window whenever possible. All of the waiters were very pleasant and eager to please again without being over bearing. A wonderful dining experience!

The rest of the hotel is beautiful with breath taking views visible across the Bay of Naples to Vesuvius. The pool and terrace were particularly lovely although we were there in quite a quiet time so I imagine it does get much busier. The whole hotel had a wonderful classic Italian Riviera, talented Mr Ripley feel to it and I would love to go back again as soon as possible!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sorrentobride1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2010

My family and I just got back from a trip to Italy. Among our travels in Italy, Sorrento was one of our favourites. We stayed at The Bristol Hotel. Let me tell you this was one of the nicest hotels we have every stayed in. It was in a perfect location. Not right in town but just a 5 min walk. And let me tell you the walk is much needed with all that delicious food. The hotels views were spectacular. I was on the balconey in my room and couldn't believe the stunning view. It was like I was in a postcard. The rooms were very clean and spacious. I was worried about that because as I read some reviews that rooms in Europe were small. Well not at the Bristol. They were beautifully decorated, well equiped with toiletries, robes, slippers - I could go on and on.

The breakfast was also very good. Plenty of delicious selections. They also have many lounge areas where the view is spectacular. The pool is one of them. Just stunning! It is like being in a paradise.

Out of all the stunning scenary that surrounds this marvellous hotel the thing that stuck with us the most is the efficiency and friendliness of the staff. I have been to Italy many,many times before and by far the customer service at this hotel is outstanding. When we arrived my daughter was not feeling great and she was offered so many different things to try to make her feel better. They really wanted our stay to be perfect.

The front staff had helpfull suggestions about touring and placed to eat. Salvatore was a lovely person to have found at the front desk. Always helpful and courteous.

So if you are planning a stay in Sorrento book the Bristol Hotel, you will not be dissappointed!! It was the perfect hotel for us.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank truthfulcanadian41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2010

What a fantastic place, but lets start at the begining,
Booked through Tomson paid for extra leg room seats and bottle of bubbly as it was my 50th birthday.
Check in at Manchester was brilliant normally a boring task but the chap on our check in desk was superb, what a joker great start (sorry didnt get his name but brilliant) Plane wasnt full but we had a full row to ourselves with loads of room (row 13 was not unlucky for us!) Our bubbly was put on ice and served when chilled the girls on board were great. Our transfer to the hotel took longer than expected due to the traffic around naples but our rep gave us usefull info on the way.Then we arrived just as the sun was setting WOW !! Sorrento beautiful !! Then came the Hotel Bristol, from entering, the service was top class, we had booked a junior suite our luggage was brought to our room and we were shown to our room by the one of the guys on the desk. Another bottle of bubbly was waiting on ice in our room. Large room with seating area, flat scereen TV great for watching the world cup ? Large balcony with sunbeds, table & chairs and then the view awsome !! Worth the extra money for the sea view plus our balcony got the sun all day didnt use the pool area although looked very nice. Meals were good lots of fish choice on evening menu loved them all. Plenty choice for breakfast and again a view to drink in all day. All the areas were relaxed and calming , clean and very well kept. Yes like every body else we did go to the little shop down the road for bottles etc and had them our balcony,Sorrento is a special place lots of little alleys with restaurants and shops tried a few through the day time all loveley and cheaper than the main square.Read about the kiosk bar on trip advisor before we went, and yes it is good value with good priced drinks and lovely coffee.The Bristol is above the Marina Grande you can walk down to it through the camp site lts quicker than you think and nice restaurants down there.Try the foreignrs club in town again good prices and views. We booked the trips to pompeii & Herculanium, were good but not enough time take the advice of everybody Do It Yourself by train, You can hire audios to guide you around and its a lot cheaper, I was amazed how big pompeii is. We also did the Amalfi drive this by coach was loveley very scenic and our guide IRIS was great , we also went on a boat (not included in price) around the bays saw some of the Villas of the rich & famous again stunning views. I would 100% go again it all exceeded my expections the only downfall was the flight home the service was not very good and our legroom seats were this time at the front NOT GOOD as people were waiting for the Toilet and the crew "hung around" in this are too, was pointless.
Not a bucket & spade holiday but go you will love it.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Awsometime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2010

Spectacular views,a great suite, friendly staff, and about a two block walk to town......what more could you ask for. By far the nicest hotel that we stayed at during our 3 week trip to Italy. We felt the only thing that they could improve on was breakfast. They treated us like royalty.....awesome views...food just a little lacking. There were many choices that maybe were not typically what americans eat for breakfast. Still maybe 3 star and everything else about hotel was a 5 star. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone. It is the best point for exploring the Amalfi Coast.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cfdsfh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,287 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,985 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 100 in Sorrento
1,059 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,478 reviews
0.6 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Property: Hotel Bristol
Address: Via Capo 10, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sorrento
#3 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#7 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#15 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Bristol nestles into the cliff side, in one of the most enchanting corners of the coast, offering its guests stunning panoramic views, stretching from the picturesque fishing village of Marina Grande below to the Punta Scutolo in the distance and directly across the bay to the majestic Vesuvius with Pompei and Naples at its feet. For generations the highly professional Acampora Family have been offering a warm welcome to its international clientele, many of whom return year after year and consider the Hotel their second home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bristol Sorrento
Bristol Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing