We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely wonderful holiday & 25th wedding celebration”
Review of Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Bristol
Ranked #15 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Clevedon England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful holiday & 25th wedding celebration”
Reviewed 2 August 2010

We wanted a special holiday to celebrate our Silver Wedding, Hotel Bristol met all of our hopes/expectations & more. All the staff are extremely curteous & helpful, nothing is too much trouble. The food is of the highest quality & no meals were repeated in the whole 2 weeks. Cleanliness is of the highest standard. It's in a perfect location within the resort for the shops & the harbour. You can book excursions through reception. Rome is easy to get to from Sorrento (3 hours by train & there's s rail station in Sorrento). We did a 2 day trip to Rome, but made the arrangements ourselves rather than as an organized excursion.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clevedon1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,784
    402
    107
    27
    10
See reviews for
386
1,453
22
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (782)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

Nice hotel but not 4 star plus,I booked this hotel after reading tripadvisor.I wasnt blown away, room was adequate tea and coffee making facilities would have been nice as is the norm in almost all hotels these days, noise from the road directly outside was annoying at times by night. I must say the staff were very helpfull and friendly, pool area and views from the hotel were lovely but the sun only stays in one half of the pool which is something to watch out for as these loungers become very sought after. We were halfboard but didnt enjoy the evening dinners which at times I felt were poor so ate out mostly.They should have done more with the bar by night although they had music at times, they didnt really do much to create a warm atmosphere there, also walls between hotel rooms were paper thin. Its been my experience with Italian hotels to deduct a star from their ratings to give a better idea of the standards when compared to an irish hotel. Despite the above points the overall experience was pleasent so I would recommend this hotel to a friend after making them aware of the few short comings.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WBYates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2010

The Bristol Hotel is situated in a superb position with great views from the balconies and the restaurant. Looking out over the bay of Naples during evening dinner was a delight. The service is outstanding and all the staff are welcoming and helpful. The waiters in the restaurant are very smart and they are extremely attentive and friendly. The food was of a consistently high standard throughout our stay. The bedrooms are comfortable and clean with very efficient air conditioning. There is also a lovely swimming pool with a pooside bar.
My overall verdict - Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John504230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sorrento, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2010

We stayed in Villa Bianca suites and can only say that all our expectations beforehand were surpassed. On the lead up to our suite for the first time we were completely overwhelmed by the gardens and scenery from our terrace (in the midst of a lemon tree garden with fresh fruit falling on a daily basis). The rooms, the outside catering option, the terrace, the hammocks, the jacuzzi - what more could you get in.
We had stayed here before twelve years ago and recognised some of the staff who were always very accomodating and friendly. Unlike other hotels that we stayed in the past the team are mature and really do make you feel welcome. We travelled with our two young children and they were greeted every morning in the restaurant and made to feel so special. We met some of the team throughout the day whilst they were off duty and they were calling over to the kids and banter always fun.The pool area is so clean and the staff very polite - no need to rush straight after breakfast or get up early to book a sunbed as there are plenty for all. The views from this hotel are second to none overlooking the Marina Grande. Sorrento is such a good base to explore and we used the opportunity to visit Vesuvius, Pompeii, Capri, and Positano. It is always welcoming to see the Bristol tower over the bay when returning from a day trip at sea. This is truly a magical place to stay and we will definitely be returning. I would not wish to pick out any member of staff for individual praise as you will see a smooth team in operation looking after and valuing their guests at every opportunity which was always genuine.
Co Derry family.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ItalianL0ve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2010

Just had a wonderful week in Sorrento. Stayed at the Hotel Bristol. It's about a 10 minute walk into Sorrento town. Hotel was lovely and clean and the staff could not do enough for you. We were booked with Thomson as Half Board, but a guest let us know that we could change the dinner option to a lunch option under the Half Board booking, which is the best thing to do. The food is OK, but produced for the tourist market at a large hotel, and dinner is better in town. Best idea is to have a good breakfast (lovely breakfast spread), have lunch in the terrace below the pool (a salad or a pizza plus a smallish main), and then go out for dinner in Sorrento for the full works. Only other thing is that the pool gets quite crowded, particularly as we went during school holidays, so it's sometimes nicer to sit on the lower terrace where there are parasols and it's quieter. The sunbeds are comfy here too, and you get a lovely view of the Bay of Naples. The other hotel I've stayed in in Sorrento is the Hotel Excelsior Vittoria - a 5* which is absolutely fabulous (but obviously pricier). This hotel probably has the best location of any hotel in Sorrento, situated as it is in it's own private Orange and Lemon Groves, with a private pool and spa. But it's obviously a lot more expensive and exclusive. We went to Capri for a visit (take a second mortgage with you for a round of drinks), and also visited Pompei (do this trip yourself using the very reliable and dirt cheap train service from Sorrento town). This is a beautiful, romantic, laid back but also vibrant town with plenty to amuse everyone - but very little club life (so don't bother looking for it). The Bristol has fantastic views, and is a lovely place from which to base yourself.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJRNewquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2010

What a fantastic hotel. Perfect location, amazing views, beautiful setting and extremely helpful staff. Our only problem was that 5 nights was not long enough!!!

We stayed in one of the Villa Bianca suites for our Honeymoon this year and loved every minute. The hotel is a short stroll from the town centre, no need for a taxi but just far enough out of the town for the peace and quiet.

If you are split between this and other hotels in Sorrento take my advice and book this one, you won't be disappointed.

Mr + Mrs Nelis
July 2010

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiamNelis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights. It is pricey but the view from the balcony is fabulous so its worth the price. We were in room 712. At first when we go in, it smelled a little musty. My husband thought it could have been from the 40 degree weather and the high humidity outside. I mentioned it to the front destk, they were quick to send someone up but of course they couldn't smell anything wrong. So, it must have been my own strong sense of smell and left it at that. I think it came from the airconditioner, it was better the next day but every once in awhile I'd get a whiff of it again. Other than that, everything else was exceptional. The pool, the outdoor lounge area all over look the bay, the town and Marina Grande. Breakfast was fantastic! Made to order bacon and eggs, a huge buffet and the service was superb. You can sit by the window and watch the cruise ships sail in. I felt like I was on one with the view we had of the water. The only hotel we stayed in while in Italy that had a hot breakfast. Again, we paid a lot more for this hotel than any other one we stayed in so it's to be expected. Our balcony was quite private as some we not. We had a table and two lounge chairs on it. The walk to town was nice, not long and not much of an incline when you head back up. It was really hot when we were there, over 40 degress and very humid so when we got back to our room the air conditioning was a blessing.
I would definitely stay there again. Ask for a balcony room, 712, or 705 and 706 looked like they had nice big balconies with some privacy. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ontariofun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,911 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,241 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
0.6 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Property: Hotel Bristol
Address: Via Capo 10, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sorrento
#3 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#7 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Bristol nestles into the cliff side, in one of the most enchanting corners of the coast, offering its guests stunning panoramic views, stretching from the picturesque fishing village of Marina Grande below to the Punta Scutolo in the distance and directly across the bay to the majestic Vesuvius with Pompei and Naples at its feet. For generations the highly professional Acampora Family have been offering a warm welcome to its international clientele, many of whom return year after year and consider the Hotel their second home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bristol Sorrento
Bristol Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing