We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended”
Review of Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Bristol
Ranked #15 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Bath
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 8 August 2010

We (husband, wife and two teenage girls) stayed in this hotel at the beginning of August 2010. I booked on-line directly with the hotel; two rooms at 200 euros per night per room. The booking process was simple and email questions that I posed in English were clearly and quickly answered.
The hotel was very clean and professionally run.
We had booked for B&B only. However, we could easily flex to having their evening meal if we required.
The hotel rooms that we had were of a good size and a balcony over looking the bay and Sorrento. The furniture was in good condition and the beds large and comfortable. The air conditioning worked and was easily controllable. A couple of criticisms; the bathrooms could probably do with some modernisation, especially in terms of lighting (only note that they are very clean and adequate), and the television channels were not all well tuned (i.e. we got fuzzy pictures on some of the local channels).
Although we did have the option of a la carte menu, we went for the set menu when we did eat in the hotel. The meals were adequate, but not outstanding, although at 30 euros for three courses I think of reasonable value. The service was excellent.
Breakfast was good.
One criticism on the food side of things. We had some sandwiches at the pool side bar. These could certainly be improved.
The pool itself was of a reasonable size, and in good condition. The view over Sorrento from the pool was wonderful.
All in all, am excellent hotel, with a couple of suggestions for improvement.
As for Sorrento, pleasant enough small town with good links to Capri, Pompeii and the rest of the Amalfi coast. One thing to consider however, Sorrento and the Hotel Bristol are quite anglophiled, so if you want a taste of authentic Italy, this is probably not the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,782
    400
    107
    27
    10
See reviews for
385
1,451
22
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (781)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
warrington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2010

We were staying a the hotel Bristol for our honeymoon and could not have wished for a more perfect hotel. The staff were friendly and always willing to help. Our room on the 3rd floor had a perfect view over the Bay of Napels and during our stay we have front row seats of a local firework display. The room was cleaned daily and the mini bar re-stocked, instead of using this I would recommend you go down the road to the local supermarket for better priced drink. There is a bus which stops just outside the hotel and this takes you directly into Sorrento town, however the walk into Sorrento only takes between 5-10 minutes and after the beautiful food either morning or evening it is nice to have a short walk.
We went on 3 trips whilst on holiday we went to Capri and Ancapri, Pompei and Vesuvius and we did the Amalfi Coast Drive.
All I can say is that if you book these through your travel company be warned, they will try and add on extras, meal, boat trip etc however you can generally find food cheaper if not better down the road.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ole20Warrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2010

We have recently returned from a two week stay at the Bristol. We can only agree with the majority of reviews on this site. The hotel is in one of the best positions in Sorrento just outside the town but close enough that you can walk into town every evening. It is on a busy road but this isn't a problem as long as you take care. We had a room on the 4th floor in the main building and over the road but the noise of the road didn't bother us at all. The room is cleaned every day and towels and bedding changed regularly. The pool area is on the 7th floor surrounded by sunbeds but we preferred the lower terrace as it was very quiet with fanastic views across the bay. Pool towels are available free of charge from the bar by the pool which means you don't need to take towels with you.
Many people have made negative comments about the food, we thought it was very good the best part being that you were serviced at the table and there was no up and down to the buffet. The service was very good and all the staff were friendly without being 'over the top'.
The drinks in the bar are expensive but a short walk into town to the Kiosk bar is worth while as the drinks here are half the price and the staff are very friendly.
Sorrento is an ideal position from which to visit many places but one word of warning the Thomson trips are really expensive compared to making your own arrangements. We went on the Blue cruise but don't bother unless you want to be crammed onto a boat and hearded around like sheep. Not worth the money or the bother.
All in all this was a great holiday and we would return.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SWales55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2010

Stayed for a week in July with family. Had a suite with jacuzzi and the kids had a double room in the main building with sea view and great air conditioning. It was a relaxing break and we found the staff were very friendly and efficient. The hotel stands in a commanding position overlooking Sorrento with fabulous views over the Bay of Naples to Vesuvius. Plenty to keep you occupied just looking at the view all day. The pool was a highlight - very clean and orderly and the sun loungers all kept in line throughout the day. The food was a slight disappointment in that it lacked typical Italian generosity and if you are not part of the majority British clientele on a package, the set menu dinner at 30 Euros per head doesn't represent the best value, compared to a meal in town. Overall we really enjoyed the holiday - Sorrento is a great base to go visiting Vesuvius, Pompei, Herculaneum and of course the Amalfi coast. p.s. beware the loud bangs in Sorrento at 9pm - gave us a fright the first time!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cocobeanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2010

WOW - simply fantastic.
The location was stunning, the rooms very comfortable and stylish.
The service levels were particularly impressive througout,
A perfect week but really needed two.
As a person that never goes somewhere twice, I WOULD go back!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PDH0503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clevedon England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

We wanted a special holiday to celebrate our Silver Wedding, Hotel Bristol met all of our hopes/expectations & more. All the staff are extremely curteous & helpful, nothing is too much trouble. The food is of the highest quality & no meals were repeated in the whole 2 weeks. Cleanliness is of the highest standard. It's in a perfect location within the resort for the shops & the harbour. You can book excursions through reception. Rome is easy to get to from Sorrento (3 hours by train & there's s rail station in Sorrento). We did a 2 day trip to Rome, but made the arrangements ourselves rather than as an organized excursion.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clevedon1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

Nice hotel but not 4 star plus,I booked this hotel after reading tripadvisor.I wasnt blown away, room was adequate tea and coffee making facilities would have been nice as is the norm in almost all hotels these days, noise from the road directly outside was annoying at times by night. I must say the staff were very helpfull and friendly, pool area and views from the hotel were lovely but the sun only stays in one half of the pool which is something to watch out for as these loungers become very sought after. We were halfboard but didnt enjoy the evening dinners which at times I felt were poor so ate out mostly.They should have done more with the bar by night although they had music at times, they didnt really do much to create a warm atmosphere there, also walls between hotel rooms were paper thin. Its been my experience with Italian hotels to deduct a star from their ratings to give a better idea of the standards when compared to an irish hotel. Despite the above points the overall experience was pleasent so I would recommend this hotel to a friend after making them aware of the few short comings.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WBYates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,903 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,233 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,599 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
0.6 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Property: Hotel Bristol
Address: Via Capo 10, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sorrento
#3 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#7 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Bristol nestles into the cliff side, in one of the most enchanting corners of the coast, offering its guests stunning panoramic views, stretching from the picturesque fishing village of Marina Grande below to the Punta Scutolo in the distance and directly across the bay to the majestic Vesuvius with Pompei and Naples at its feet. For generations the highly professional Acampora Family have been offering a warm welcome to its international clientele, many of whom return year after year and consider the Hotel their second home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bristol Sorrento
Bristol Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing