We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Bristol
Ranked #13 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Lurgan, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wedding”
Reviewed 7 November 2010

The Bristol hotel hosted our wedding on the 12th of october 2010 we could not have wished for a better setting in the world.The staff and management made this a day to remember for us and our guests. The food was exceptional however the only thing that overshadowed the food was the superb service from everyone of the staff. The location of the hotel is superb overlooking the bay. Thank you Bristol hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dommurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,767
    392
    102
    26
    10
See reviews for
383
1,430
22
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (772)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2010

I stayed here with a friend around end of October. Couldn't fault the staff, who were more than helpful. The room was fine, clean and spacious, the view from the balcony probably could not be bettered in Sorrento and Wi-fi (available for a small fee) was fast.

The location is slightly out of the main town area, requiring a 10minute walk to the shops/restaurants. If you want to feel in amongst everything in Sorrento I wouldn't choose this hotel. It also has a 'resort' type feel about it.

Unfortunately the hotel did not deliver value for money. The swimming pool was closed and the sauna was closed for refurbishment which was disappointing. The 'crazy golf' is very poor, the gym a windowless room with a small selection of equipment. We didn't ask for a price reduction, but I expected the hotel to offer a discount due to the lack of pool/sauna. They didn't. The hotel might be very good during the peak season when it is busy, but on the evidence of my four days here I would not return.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrG1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensbury, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2010

Our stay at the Hotel Bristol was a more than an excellent experience which started before we even arrived. The front desk assisted us with our plans, suggestions to our itinerary and had a welcoming room for us even though we were a very late arrival. I cannot say enough about how exceptional the Hotel Bristol was from our room to the service, to the breakfast and the view from our room. The only negative was that we had to leave. A special thank you to Antonio and Ercole at the front desk to making our stay at the Hotel Bristol a very memorable one and are anxious for a return stay. Maureen53

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maureen53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2010

Wow, we loved this hotel from the moment we arrived. The views really are superb, the Bay of Naples with Vesuvius in the distance and Sorrento's fishing Harbour way below in the foreground. We travelled independently (ie not with a tour company) with our teenage children - they loved it too. Staff could not be more helpful and welcoming and we arrived late on our first day so we ate in the Hotel restaurant. It was not very busy at the end of the season so we were a bit worried, however, the food was delicious, fresh local ingredients, very Italian but with a contemporary twist. Great wine list too. We thought it was worth eating from the A la Carte menu as the fixed menu looked a bit dull, we kept the cost down by only having 2 courses. It was so good we returned for another meal a couple of days later.
Tip - if you want to visit Pompei, take the train from Sorrento, it drops you right by the gates and leaves every half hour so is a lot less stressful than braving the traffic and paying for parking at Pompei.
Sorrento's restaurants are a mixed bag - as a rule avoid any that send their waiters onto the street to try to cajole you into eating with them.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodee22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2010

I've stayed there previously and,as before, was not disappointed. Short walk into the center(20 minutes to the Circumvesuvianna) and I prefer the views from the Bristol in that they entail both the water and the bluffs of Sorrento. Parking and breakfast was included. And the grounds of the hotel include nice pool areas for both adults and children as well as a number of common areas for lounging about.As an American I enjoyed the breakfast which included eggs fried,poached or scrambled. I also like the option of sipping caffe latte by my mixing the coffee and the hot milk as opposed to just bringing me a cup. Staff was professional and helpful. My pet peeves apply to most Italian 4 star hotels in the areas of lack of free wireless in the rooms(free wireless did exist in the common areas) and the English language tv stations being SKY and BBC. They are terrible stations(IMHO)! The room had a safe,always a welcome amenity.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Don1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2010

We had an absolute awesome stay at the Hotel Bristol. The location was perfect for Sorrento. A 5 minute walk to the town which made the hotel quiet and peaceful when enjoying the beautiful gardens and panoramic pool which overlooks into the sea. I felt so spoiled the entire time. The staff is beyond excellent. Salvatore was the guy at the front desk who would always be ready to give suggestions or directions on where to go for the day. The postcard or Sorrento is actually the view we had from our balcony each morning. So you know how spectacular that must have been if they are selling this postcard throughout Sorrento. The breakfast in the morning included champagne, eggs, salmon, fruit, crepes ect. We went for our 25th anniversary and will definitely go back. We had the best time ever and the hotel Bristol surpassed my expectations. Unlike the other hotels in Sorrento this hotel has a lot of areas to relax in the gardens and around the grounds if you really want to be by yourself with a good book. I highly recommend...Lynne from Chapel Hill, NC USA

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2010

We stayed at Hotel Bristol with Thomsons. We chose it on the basis of the Tripadvisor reviews and their own website and we thoroughly enjoyed our week. The hotel is large and a bit of a 'rabbit warren' as it has various corridors of rooms springing off from the main ones, presumably evolved as the hotel is built into the cliff. We were on the 9th floor and had a balcony overlooking the bay and Vesuvius. It was just warm enough to sit out in October. The beds were comfy and the room although quite basic in furnishing was spotlessly clean. Plenty of hot water for relaxing baths too. We had half board- breakfasts were buffet style with a huge choice- fruit juices, fresh fruit, cereals, yoghurt, pancakes, cold cheeses and meats, hot food, bread, pastries- plus eggs to order. The evening meal was 3 courses. The first course was always good- risotto, pasta, soups. The main course was always meat/fish/vegetarian with potato and vegetables of the day. Nice enough but we were a little disappointed there was not a more Italian flair to this course! Dessert was a choice of gateau, fruit, icecream, cheeses etc. The waiters could not have been more pleasant and attentive.
The hotel is a few minutes walk from the centre of Sorrento, and about 15 minutes from the station. Buses pass by every few minutes. We chose to organise our own sight-seeing as don't always want to go at the pace of a larger group and this was very easy. We bought an Artecard from the little shop by the station, which included 3 days of travel in the whole area, and 2 admissions, subsequent ones half price, to a huge range of places. It was 27 Euros- we used it to visit Pompeii, Herculaneum and the archaelogical museum in Naples by train, and for a bus trip down the Amalfi coast. Other days we went up Vesuvius (using the Vesuvius express minibus from Herculaneum station) and to Capri. Ferries are frequent to Capri, and don't bother queuing for bus tickets when there as you can pay on the bus. Axel Munthe's gardens in Ancapri, the chairlift for views and a walk to Villa Jovis recommended.
Sorrento itself is very pleasant- the rep's walkaround is recommended for getting your bearings, and for limoncello and icecream tastings! It was pretty busy in October- I imagine summer could be unbearably so.
Bad points- none that spoilt our holiday. A small niggle was that the hotel refused to serve tap water with evening meals, their reason being that they had had complaints in the past as it had tasted of chlorine. This, combined with the hefty mark-up for wine and beer, meant we had a largish bill to pay at the end of the week.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank montymax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,841 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#28 of 100 in Sorrento
2,184 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
1,569 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
897 reviews
0.6 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
2,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Property: Hotel Bristol
Address: Via Capo 10, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#4 Spa Hotel in Sorrento
#7 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#25 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Bristol nestles into the cliff side, in one of the most enchanting corners of the coast, offering its guests stunning panoramic views, stretching from the picturesque fishing village of Marina Grande below to the Punta Scutolo in the distance and directly across the bay to the majestic Vesuvius with Pompei and Naples at its feet. For generations the highly professional Acampora Family have been offering a warm welcome to its international clientele, many of whom return year after year and consider the Hotel their second home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bristol Sorrento
Bristol Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing