We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”
Review of Grand Hotel Aminta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Hotel Aminta
Ranked #23 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2011

superb hotel, friendly, helpful staff, amazing views, good food and nice accommodation with a good shuttle service into town. Free parking too. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DPS_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,305)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,350 - 2,356 of 3,305 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2011

Welcoming & friendly staff who go to great measures to ensure your needs are met & often exceeded. Stylish & well appointed public areas & comfortable bedrooms. Very good choice & quality at all mealtimes with special mention for the delicious Gala & Neopolitan nights!
So a big thank you to everyone at the Aminta for all the hardwork that goes into making such a memorable & enjoyable experience & we can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuvNaples66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2011

From the moment we arrived the location, staff, cleanliness and decor of this hotel exceeded all our expectations. Views from hotel are stunning and a free shuttle bus runs hourly into Sorrento. Room was spacious and airy with a modern natural decor and the bathroom was large with all the mod cons. Breakfast was great with a self service buffet and restaurant staff were immaculate and very efficient. Pool fantastic and outside bar served brilliant and reasonably priced lunches everyday. Weather was glorious and whole surrounding area is beautiful. Having travelled and stayed in a lot of European hotels this has to rate as one of the best we have stayed in.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade out of season
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bergerac27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2011

I had a lovely time staying at this hotel. My room was in the villa which is next to its own lemon grove. The views from the hotel are fantastic and the hotel staff and very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Go for a room in the Villa (annex)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonOfficeWorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

The location is fantastic, providing wonderful views from the hillside location. The town centre is made very accessible by the complimentary shuttle service provided by friendly drivers, although the walk down down into town is lovely! We received a warm welcome and a very efficient check in by very informative receptionist who provided lots of very useful local information. Service is taken seriously with a high standard maintained throughout our stay.The food quality and levels of service is excellent with many lovely dishes served at dinner and both buffet and a la carte available at breakfast. Our rooms were on the second floor and were great, very airy and spotlessly clean. We pre booked sunset view rooms which faced away from the central pool area and the town itself however the aspects are lovely from pretty much any direction. Previous tripadvisor reviews helped us choose this hotel from the many lovely hotels in the area. We would certainly return and have already recommended the hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ontheroadagain2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

We stayed at the Aminta from April 21 to April 25 and totally enjoyed the hotel. We were given a room in the annex with a balcony view that was stunning. The room was a good size, very clean with a comfortable bed. Breakfast was served in the lovely dining room and offered a plentiful variety of both hot and cold foods, with lots of fresh baking. Staff at the reception desk all spoke English and made helpful suggestions. Although the hotel is outside the main town, the shuttle to the center of town ran on time and made commuting easy. Often we chose to take the walking path down to town - an enjoyable 10-15 minute walk - and catch the shuttle back up. It was nice after busy Sorrento, to retreat to this quiet space and take in the view from high up on the hill. Highly recommend it for your stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edm0nt0n_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2011

We stayed four nights during the Easter long weekend. We arrived at the train station when the hotel shuttle wasn't running and had to take a taxi that cost us 30 euros for a barely five minute ride. We would have waited if we had known the cost of the taxi and the shuttle pickup point before hand.
The hotel is situated in a very lovely spot over looking Sorrento below. It is a couple of miles out of town only because of the winding roads. But it is very walkable; esp. into town because you are going downhill. The grounds are really pretty with a large patio and pool area. The pool unfortunately wasn't heated. I only had one dip in it and it took me 15 minutes under a hot shower to thaw....
The staff is very friendly and helpful. They will even print online hotel, train, etc. bookings for you.
The food however can only be described as awful. We had Easter dinner in the restaurant and both our meals were really bad. My boyfriend had fish that came with canned peas!!! I'm sorry, but being North American, we don't even eat fresh peas, let alone canned peas!!! What self respecting restaurant chef would serve canned peas? Breakfast wasn't any better; fried eggs that ate for hours in warming dishes till they are rock hard! And tons and tons of cookies (very pretty, mind you) for breakfast. What really disappointed me was the canned peaches and stewed prunes everyday. Where are the fresh fruits? Especially when everywhere you go in Sorrento, you see bags and bags of oranges and lemons hanging in stalls...

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joyToronto_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aminta, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Aminta, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2011

Dear guest, Thank you for your comments that you posted, we are always appreciative to hear from our customerss, it helps us to improve the quality and pleasure for future clients. We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your dining experience in our restaurant, it would have been helpful if you would have mentioned your issues with the restaurant manager, who would have been happy to remind you that your reservation included full breakfast from the a la carte menu which includes fresh fruit and dishes made to order. We would also like to mention that we do not use canned peas at anytime in any of our meals. We understand that this is your personal opinion and appreciate any feedback our guests post.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento
2.2 mi away
Hotel Prestige Sorrento
Hotel Prestige Sorrento
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
1,387 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
2,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Maison Tofani
Maison Tofani
#16 of 100 in Sorrento
1,033 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Aminta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Aminta

Address: Via Nastro Verde, 23 | Neapolitan Riviera, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#18 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#20 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £56 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Aminta 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aminta occupies a commanding position overlooking the Gulf of Naples with breathtaking views, just 3.5 Km from the centre of Sorrento to which it offers a courtesy bus service. Complimentary breakfast, free Wi-Fi and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Aminta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Aminta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing