We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great holiday,wished we had stayed longer.”
Review of Grand Hotel Aminta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Aminta
Ranked #26 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A great holiday,wished we had stayed longer.”
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Excellent Hotel and Holiday. Rooms good size, decorated to very good standard. Pool area, Restaurant service and menus very good. Particularly like sun bed reservation/towels etc. worth the small daily charge. Will definitely go back for longer visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyStockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,059 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,983
    826
    210
    33
    7
See reviews for
661
1,707
56
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (553)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

My wife and I thought we'd come to sorrento as a bit of a treat as holidaying in the eurozone is a bit pricey these days. We wanted a nice hotel with a view over the bay and that's exactly what we got. The view is spectacular and it was worth paying extra for the sea view. Our room was lovely and had everything we needed. The pool area is quite small and paying for sunbeds is very cheeky but that is the main niggle. The bus into town was great as the hotel is a bit out of it. But that suited us fine. We went down to sorrento for dinner and had some great meals. The breakfast and lunch at the hotel were ok but we didn't have dinner at the hotel. The last thing to say is that the staff really are great. We'd like to thank them for making our stay at the aminta so wonderful!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheekies4eva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

My self and my wife just spent 10 nights in sorrento at this hotel. I thought this was a great hotel, the location just out of town with a mini bus is great.
The walk into town is about 10 minutes and all down hill would not advise the walk back up but that's what the mini bus is for.
The room was lovely with great views, read the info book if you use the fridge for your own things the hotel will charge you €3.50 per day??. But even with this charge we would definitely go back.
We were half board, breakfast is a Buffett with excellent choice of cooked food, cereial, fruit and breads. The evening meals were to die for plenty of options and all served to your table. My wife is a vegetarian and when there was nothing on the menu they just gave her more options which was great. The only downside was not enough time between courses but there was never a time I left feeling hungry. There are tables outside to eat and the staff ask people in the morning if you want to eat outside which is great with views.
The staff are great but as per other people reviews it was a little annoying to have to pay €4 per sun bed. We did not use then and had no problem getting a deck chair which are good.

We had a great time at the hotel but you need to be warned about the taxi's in sorrento we got one from the train station to the hotel which is about a 8 minute drive and paid nearly €30. If you can I would take your bags to the pick up point for the free bus.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimbo0608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Fantastic Holiday and would return! However, Receptionist was not very welcoming and just gave basic details, with no smile or welcome and it was up to other guests to advise us on the routine i.e. book a sunbed with reception the day prior, pay 4 euros each, which mounted up over the week, bus service etc. We didn't like having to share every meal time with the same couple who were complete "know it all", would like to have been given the option to eat alone. Food was good but not very "Italian". Restaurant and bar staff amazing and nothing too much trouble. Amazing view. A little far out and shuttle bus a bit of a fight for a seat on last bus back!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Urmson43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We came here 3 years ago and had a great holiday - lovely hotel with nice room and really good food. Also loved the view over the bay of Naples. The only real gripe we had was having to pay for sunbeds which is mean and hard to understand.

We came back to the Aminta for the above reasons. Sadly, although the room is great and the service good, the dinners have gone really downhill. Most meals have been bland and disappointing and not very italian at all!.What a shame, as otherwise it is a really nice place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaly2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We stayed at the Aminta for one week in August. We were very impressed as our transfer coach pulled up outside the lovely building. Our hotel room was spacious, bright and clean. We had a balcony that had a sea view and amazing view of Sorrento. The hotel reception area and lounge are lovely and very welcoming.
The whole hotel was very clean and well looked after. The pool area is lovely and made a relaxing place to sit. There are sunbeds which are charged at €4 a day which you can reserve in advance to get a particular spot (in the top corner keeps the sun the longest)however, there are also plenty of deckchairs which are free of charge. You can hire beach towels for €1.50 per day if you don't want to bring your own. In the day you can have drinks brought to you by the pool. The pool bar is very relaxing with a nice atmosphere and staff at the pool bar are very friendly and helpful. They do some lovely cocktails for €7.

We were half board and enjoyed the food at the hotel. The breakfast was nice with bacon, egg, sausage, toast plus cereals, cakes and pastries. The dinners were nice (especially the tomato pasta dishes) but there was no break inbetween courses. We did swap our dinner for a packed lunch one day too.

The hotel has a shuttle bus which runs every hour except for a break for lunch and a break for an hour at night. The bus was good and made for a very quick journey down into Sorrento (6mins with no traffic). It was a little inconvenient sometimes with the breaks but you can also take the blus Sita bus back to the hotel for a small charge (you need to buy travel cards from shops and they are based on the time you spend travelling rather than distance with the minimum card being for a 40 minute journey). It would have been good to have a later bus back than the hotel one which was at 11.30.

We travelled to Pompeii and Capri whilst in Sorrento. The staff at reception provided us with bus/train times etc. Beware if going to Capri that it is a very choppy journey and there were a lot of sick people on the boat! We found the Aminta to be a perfect base for exploring. Sorrento itself is fairly compact and very busy so it was lovely to come back to the Aminta and sit on the balcony and relax. We would definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DKCV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

This hotel cannot be faulted! From the minute we arrived we were treated as individuals with the utmost care and courtesy from all staff. They made us feel welcome and special. The rooms are not huge but have enough space for getting ready and are comfortably furnished. The bedroom and ensuite were kept clean daily.
The terrace and pool area were kept immaculate and provided a comfortable area to relax with the most stunning views that we never tired off.
The breakfast was amazing with everything you could possibly want and more! Dinner was fantastic too with a good choice all freshly made. To my surprise on my birthday evening I was presented with a special cake and a bottle of bubbly which made my day even more special. The courtesty bus to the town provides a good service but it is also easy to stroll down a quiet lane although it is tougher coming back uphill, especially in the heat of the day!
This hotel is 1st class and we cannot wait to return. I travelled with my husband and 17 year old son and they thought everything was top class too.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor and our room had a sloping roof with a window giving partial views across t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NellieMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,219 reviews
1.7 mi away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#39 of 100 in Sorrento
1,081 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,285 reviews
0.3 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
230 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Aminta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Aminta

Property: Grand Hotel Aminta
Address: Via Nastro Verde, 23 | Neapolitan Riviera, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#18 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#22 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Aminta 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aminta occupies a commanding position overlooking the Gulf of Naples with breathtaking views, just 3.5 Km from the centre of Sorrento to which it offers a courtesy bus service. Complimentary breakfast, free Wi-Fi and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Aminta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Aminta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing