We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great View & Wonderful Experience in Sorrento” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Aminta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Hotel Aminta
Ranked #25 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great View & Wonderful Experience in Sorrento”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

My husband and I traveled to the Amalfi Coast over Memorial Day in May. We started in Naples, hit Capri and then made the Grand Hotel Aminta our home for the week. I am so glad we did. Originally booked in a room in the annex without any of the "perks", when we arrived, the reception desk told us that we had been upgraded to a room in the main building and all breakfasts and dinners were included. Now, I don't know about you, but being greeted with THAT kind of message makes me a very happy camper! The rooms were spacious and comfortable. We had a balcony overlooking the pool -- and from the pool / outdoor bar, there was a beautiful view of the city and the harbor. Also, score one for the shuttle bus that went to and from the city. Plus more points for the incredibly helpful reception staff who helped us book our Amalfi Coast excursions directly with the companies and arranged for our pick-up times right out in front of the hotel. We saw Pompeii / Herculaneum and did the Amalfi Drive. Both excursions that I'd recommend ... and if you do the drive, make sure to get a seat on the "passenger side" for the best views!! Finally, the dinner at the hotel made me feel so special. Four course meals every evening served by a waitstaff in formal attire. Two nights were themed dinners and everyone dressed a little nicer - and there was live entertainment and cake! Overall, this was a WONDERFUL vacation to get away from everything. This hotel had a lot to do with that. Now we're just trying to figure out when we can go back!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreaR82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,808 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,809
    763
    197
    31
    8
See reviews for
598
1,554
49
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (530)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

This was our first holiday abroad together.so it was important that it was romantic.
I have to say that It was just perfect.
Our room 417 had no balcony but window opened onto a shelf that you can sit at and admire the wonderful views across the bay.
The staff were all very helpful,and seemed so happy,restaurant was excellent food so good and the staff there always making sure that you were satisfied.If you didn't eat or finish your meal they showed genuine concern and offered several other choices..
Nice clean rooms well maintained.
Had a problem with air conditioning and reported it at 9, by 9:10 They were on to it and fixed it within minutes.
Shuttle bus was brilliant a real asset.
Visited several restaurants in the town all were very good.
Had a trip to Marina grand and hired a bed on Tonys bar,good position easy access to the sea.

Did several tripsn,Amalfitour,herculiam,versuvius, boat trip to Capri was excellent, we had an exclusive tour with just 10 passengers.also had a trip to Ischa island visited the spa there.
So much to do and see, but be aware that it's not cheap in Italy.
Overall a brilliant holiday spot, not one boring moment ,my most favourite holiday to date.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hevken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aminta, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Aminta, responded to this review, 4 October 2011
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for your generous and positive comments you posted regarding your stay at the Aminta. Hoping to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
187 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

A lovely spotless hotel with excellent, attentive staff. Lovely gardens and pool area with a fabulous terrace and amazing view. The courtesy bus into town was a very positive feature. Tiny gripes , however. Why no fresh fruit at breakfast rather than lots of sticky cake and buns? Also I dont really think that a 4* hotel should be charging extra for sunbeds and pool towels.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandEartha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aminta, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Aminta, responded to this review, 4 October 2011
Dear Guest, thank you for your comments posted on trip advisor.
After reading yours and other reviews about the sunbeds we changed our policy. Sunbeds are free on a first come first serve basis. If someone wishes to reserve a sunbed, reservation costs 4 Euros per day.
Also, we would like to inform you that there is no charge for using
the minibar as a fridge.
Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Aminta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

Very good position above Sorrento and the air conditioned shuttle bus is invaluble when it gets hot. Room om the small side but thats often the case, particularly in Italy. The odd waiter a little surley when we only wanted water with meals as we don't like wine but overall staff friendly and helpful. Must say however that we travelled with Thompsons and other travellers not with them were given more time, care & help, you were almost 2nd class instaed of 1st. Overall though a very nive relaxing stay

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark580422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aminta, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Aminta, responded to this review, 4 October 2011
Dear Guest, We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Aminta. We apologize if you felt that you were not treated with the same care and attention as the other guests, that was definitely not our intention. Each guest is equally important to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

Me and my partner spent a week at the Grand Hotel Aminta from the end of August to the beginning of September 2011, What a beautiful stunning hotel, room, pool, bar, reception and everywhere else is Spotless. The view is priceless. The staff are friendly and great and always willing to help no matter what!! I miss the place so much, there is always music playing around the pool and bar, and its nice music, not the usual tacky stuff you get on holiday, they played rock anthems (queen and such like) during the day and slower chill out stuff at night like Elton John while i sat with a Margarita! Theres also live music outside a few times a week, the woman has a fantastic voice. We travelled with Expedia and had to make our own way to the Airport (Naples), the best way that we found to do this was to use a Curreri taxi, the cheapest taxi co at 80 euros (the italians do drive slightly insane though!) When you arrive at the Aminta the reception staff give you a trip brochure (to rome, pompeii etc) and a list of the free shuttle bus times to and from Sorrento town center. Warning that if you miss the bus, it will cost you 30 euros in a taxi back to the hotel. The bus goes to the centre and back all afternoon and night until 11pm. There is no bus back between 9 and 11pm, its so easy. You must eat in 'La Favourita' restaraunt, a 30 second walk from where the shuttle bus drops you off, ask to sit in the lemon grove, outdoor lemons all above you with fairy lights.
If you are going to Pompeii, we found that there is little shade and it was very hot the day that we went, i got lots of mosquito bites so take lots of spray. We got the train from Sorrento station to Pomeii, there were a few intoxicated dodgy looking people on the train who were eyeing up my camera, one dodgy dirty looking man who had got on the train with one shoe was phoning another strange man at the other end of the train and talking about my parter which was quite intimidating. We went over to Capri on the boat, the actual boat trip was nice but personally i didnt see the big deal about Capri, the cliffs are beautiful but its not any nicer than Sorrentos views and i was gutted to only find a row of tacky shops and not much more when i got off the boat (yes maybe i didnt explore enough!!)

One more thing, if you cant really be bothered waiting on the bus to go to the town centre or just fancy somewhere different, there is a restaurant up the hill from the hotel called Il Burgo, the reception staff will call you a complimentary car that will take you to and from dinner, the food is regular prices and the steak with balsamic vinegar and parmesan is to die for!!!! Oh if you like your steak 'well done' in Italy, you should say 'Very very well done, No blood' as i found in several places that 'well done' is like the uk version of rare!! Overall I would really recommend the hotel if you are looking for great views, amazing Carbonara or a chill romantic out couples week.

Room Tip: High up and Pool facing rooms seem to be best....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise0022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aminta, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Aminta, responded to this review, 5 October 2011
Dear Guest, we would like to thank you for posting such a wonderful review regarding your stay at the Aminta. We are always happy to hear that our guests enjoyed their holiday with us. Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Aminta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

Grand Hotel Aminta in Sorrento was a glorious find ----- once we found it. It is located high on the hill overlooking old town Sorrento with exceptional views of the water and hills surrounding. Our room had a wonderful view, clean spacious bathroom and comfortable bed. The hotel offered bus trips to town every half hour. A wonderful service as it was not walkable to town from the hotel and if driving there is very little parking to be found. Begin your day with the included bountiful breakfast buffet and end the day at the beautiful bar/pool lounge area often with live music. The staff was helpful and friendly in every way. We would highly reccommend Hotel Aminta and would stay there again.

Room Tip: They have budget rooms with no view! If this is important make sure you get a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jbmuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aminta, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Aminta, responded to this review, 5 October 2011
Dear Guest, thank you so much for writing about your positive experience at the Aminta. It is always a pleasure hearing from satisfied clients. We look forward to seeing you at the Aminta in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

Just came back from my amazing week stay at The Grand Hotel Aminta.

The staff were extremely friendly and couldn't have done more to make our stay more comfortable. They were always on hand if we needed them without being intrusive.

The shuttle bus was really handy and the location of the hotel meant that you could access the town easily and then escape to the sanctity of the pool!

The pool and bar area were fantastic. Having a tasty cocktail and was a great and relaxing way to end a busy day exploring Sorrento. The bar man was fun and friendly and made excellent cocktails!

Our room was extremely clean and comfortable with a nice sea view - unfortunately we weren't lucky enough to have a balcony but that didn't worry us too much as we didn't spend too much in the room.

The evening meals were really nice, especially if you had them on the terrace. You could choose from around 4 options from main meals and there was a lot of variety. On my birthday they surprised me was a complimentary bottle wine and cake.

I would really recommend this hotel however, I do feel that there were some additional charges that were a bit cheeky and you should be aware of when booking such including €4 per day for sun bed hire and €3.5 per day for using the mini bar to store your own drinks in.

Room Tip: Call and ask for a balcony when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aminta, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Aminta, responded to this review, 5 October 2011
Dear Guest, thanks for posting your review regarding your holiday at the Aminta. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. However, after reading yours and other reviews regarding the sunbed and minibar charges, we have changed our policy. Sunbeds are available by the pool on a first come first serve basis, or for a 4€ charge you can reserve the sunbed for the entire day. There is no charge for use of the minibar as a fridge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#28 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
0.8 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,946 reviews
0.3 mi away
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Aminta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Aminta

Property: Grand Hotel Aminta
Address: Via Nastro Verde, 23 | Neapolitan Riviera, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#18 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#21 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Aminta 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aminta occupies a commanding position overlooking the Gulf of Naples with breathtaking views, just 3.5 Km from the centre of Sorrento to which it offers a courtesy bus service. Complimentary breakfast, free Wi-Fi and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your Grand Hotel Aminta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Aminta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing