We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hotel Aminta
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel La Badia(Sorrento)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hotel Capodimonte(Sorrento)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Metropole(Sorrento)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Bristol(Sorrento)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Minerva Hotel(Sorrento)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Britannia(Sorrento)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,400)
Filter reviews
3,400 results
Traveller rating
2,223
904
232
33
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,223
904
232
33
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshuttle busbay of naplesevery hourlovely hotelattic roomalways on timestunning viewsthe main hotelhalf boardriviera travelbus servicereception stafftown centretakes about minutesgala nightmount vesuviusevening meal
Filter
Updating list...
2,339 - 2,344 of 3,400 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2011

My husband and I just returned from a 2 week stay at the Grand Aminta. This was our third trip to Italy, but our first stay in the region, and we couldn't be happier with our experience. The Aminta proved to be the perfect base for seeing the Amalfi Coast, Capri and Ischia. The complimentary shuttle service was the perfect way to get to town (taking about 5-8 min). From the drop-of point the port was easy walking distance, as was Marina Grande, Piazza Tasso and the train station The hotel shuttle runs hourly with the exception of 2 hours in the afternoon (siesta time!) and one hour in the evening. Some TA posters have complained about these "down times" and I really must disagree. The SITA bus picks up at the exact spot the hotel shuttle bus picks up and drops off at the exact location, also. The hotel's front desk sells bus tickets for a mere 2 euros - and the SITa bus runs every 20 minutes. So if the hotel shuttle doesn't accommodate your schedule, the bus is an easy alternative.

We were impressed with the food in the Aminta's restaurant. The wine selection was very good, as wete the menu choices. The breakfasts were very filling, pastries galore, cereals, juices, eggs, sausage and bacon. Again, I've seen some TA posts complaining about the lack of fresh fruit. These people obviously weren't paying attention. The breakfast is served buffet style, but there is a menu on the table listing additional options. If you want your eggs cooked a different style, want a different breakfast meat or fresh fruit, just order it off the menu. Wehad fresh fruit daily, at no extra charge.

We stayed in room 221 which was a deluxe sunrise view room. This room is at the end of the wing, so has a 180 degree view of the bay. We appreciated that it had a separate dressing area with counter, mirror and hair dryer, to be used when someone else is in the bathroom. We also liked that the room had a true king-sized bed, not two twins pushed together. The room safe is large enough to accommodate passports, jewelry, wallets and other small items.

The pool area was our favorite area of the hotel. There is a bar with a big screen tv and comfy chairs to have a cocktail or casual lunch. The music was great, but not too loud if you wanted to read or converse around the pool. Again, some TA posters complain about paying 4 euro to reserve a lounge chair, but we felt it was worth it to avoid the people who invariably get up early and save chairs. We found that when the pool area was not at capacity, the hotel didn't charge us for the loungers. Also, there are regular beach-type chairs that you can use free of charge.

The hotel has free wi-fi throughout, including the rooms and pool area. This was invaluable to us for reasons I won't get into. In looking for a hotel, most charge for wi-fi access or only have it in public areas. With the money we saved for wi-fi, we didn't mind paying for pool loungers. The rooms have a mini fridge stocked with drinks. The cost of the drinks is the same you'd payi in the restaurant or pool bar. They charge 3 euro/day if you use it for your own items. I agree with other posters that this is BS, but we didn't need it so it didn't factor into my review.

Room details: Plenty of electrical outlets for charging your personal electronics. Not a lot of drawer space and very few hangers (none with clips to hang shorts, skirts, etc). There is a digital clock with an alarm amd a stereo system that plays your ipod. The hair dryer is not attached to the wall, so it can be used anywhere. Toiletries provided: soap, bath gel, shampoo, lotion, 2 toothbrushes, disposable razor and a packet of shaving gel. No conditioner provided.

No complaints whatsoever. Staff was pleasant and helpful. I would highly recommend this place to all.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a sunrise view as these look over the town of Sorrento amd the bay amd seem to be better than the other side of the building
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tropicfan17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aminta, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Aminta, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2011

Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to post your great review regarding your stay at the Aminta. We appreciate your opinions and look forward to welcoming you back to Aminta in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Just returned from a week stay at the Hotel Aminta. There's nothing GRAND about this hotel. We had a Superior Balcony with a view of the Bay of Naples. The view was spectacular, however, when we arrived late and exhausted and started unpacking, we realized the drawers where we were supposed to store our clothing and belongings, were very dirty. All the tabletops, desk, night tables, etc. were dirty. Luckily, I travel with Clorox wipes and ended up using an entire packet of them. Later while lying in bed, I noticed the ceiling lamp was filthy, too. The bathroom was a nightmare. There was black mildew all around the bathtub and the grout. (The following day I requested that the mildew be cleaned off, and upon returning noticed that some of it had been removed, but not entirely. It stayed that way the whole week. The bathtub (as well as the entire bathroom) was very narrow. When you use the toilet your knees are up against the wall. The room was very mediocre, not the standard of a 4 star hotel. The blankets were old with marks on them (like cigarette burns) and with torn and ragged edges. You only get 2 bath towels per person per day and there is no turndown service in the evenings. Also, there are no tissues in the bathroom. Whoever heard of a 4 star hotel not providing tissues. You are provided with two bathroom glasses, however, they never get changed or washed.

The staff is very nice and helpful, but when we expressed our displeasure of the room, they were very surprised and seemed to take it personally. When we requested an upgrade to a better, larger room and expressed our willingness to pay an increased charge, we were told the hotel was fully booked.

The breakfast is good, but there is no fresh fruit. The bacon was always lying in grease instead of crispy. The dining room staff is very nice and polite and always try to please. The dinner service is good and the food is OK, not great and it's a little pricey.

The shuttle service is convenient as the hotel is far from the center of the city. However, you always have to time your schedule according to their schedule. There were two evenings of entertainment; one was good the other so so.

The views are great, and there is good wireless internet, but a 'Grand' hotel it isn't. I would not stay there again, and would definitely not recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aminta, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Aminta, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2011

Dear guest, we apologize that your stay at our hotel did not meet your standards. We appreciate your opinion and we will look into the problems you encountered while staying with us. We will take the appropriate measures to remedy the situation for our future clients. Should you return to Sorrento, we hope that you will give us the opportunity to redeem ourselves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Great room overlooking the beautiful pool and view. Staff were fantastic. Good breakfast.

So CLEAN!!!!! :)

A little bit out of town.

Will be recommending to friends!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 119traveler119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aminta, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Aminta, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2011

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your positive experience during your stay at the Aminta. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Have just returned from a delightful week in the Grand Hotel Aminta. The staff were very friendly and helpful, food was wonderful and waiting staff were super efficient. The views from our room were spectacular and, all in all, we were very impressed. I wouldnt hesitate to recommend this hotel to any of my friends!

Room Tip: Choose a sea view and, should you want a balcony, this has to be booked.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aminta, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Aminta, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2011

Dear Guest, it is always a pleasure to hear positive feedback from our guests. We are grateful that you took the time to write your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Aminta.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

My partner and I have just spent seven wonderful nights at the Aminta.
I commend this hotel for its cleanliness just everywhere you looked in the hotel you saw that it was sparkling. Our twin bedroom had two double bed, very spacious with more than adequate cupboard space. The balcony off our room afforded us wonderful views of the most fantastic sunsets over Capri and part of the countryside just outside of Sorrento. The Staff in the restaurant were very attentive, and friendly, particulary the waiter who served the tea and coffee in the morning. The food both at breakfast and dinner was quite delicious.with great variety We particularly enjoyed our meals out on the terrace which we were lucky of have on more than one occasion, very romantic.
The hotel reception staff were very helpful and pleasant, nothing was too much trouble with whatever enquiry you made of them
The hotel shuttle afforded easy access either to or from Sorrento, it was alway on time and very comfortable
We are so glad we chose the Aminta for a short break and much prefered returning to the hotel after sightseeing - away from the noise and hustle and bustle of the town.
I can only say thank you so much and hopefully we shall return to see you again

Liz Reed and Mario Lombardi

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary-Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aminta, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Aminta, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2011

Dear Guest, thank you for posting your complimentary review regarding your holiday at the Aminta. It is wonderful hearing from satisfied clients. Looking forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews