We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location”
Review of Grand Hotel Aminta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Hotel Aminta
Ranked #23 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2011

We went to italy for our honeymoon during feb 2011 and sorrento was the third destination on our list. The hotel excellently complements the scenic beauty of this place, with the perfect location on a hilltop, overlooking the bright blue sea. In the first look, it looked like a white manion on the top of the city. excellent staff, very friendly and a scrumptious breakfast buffet. a must see- the view of the cliff at dawn and twilight!

Room Tip: the hotel has a regular bus service to the city , so find the timings to commute to and from
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hersheyhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aminta, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Aminta, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2011

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for posting your complimentary review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your honeymoon at the Aminta. Our client's satisfaction is our main priority. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Aminta in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,245 - 2,251 of 3,316 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2011

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our first taste of Italy. Sorrento and the surrounding areas are breathtaking. The hotel was superb, very friendly, welcoming, clean, attentive. The breakfast set you up for the day, the poached eggs were cooked to perfection! We loved the waiters who came round with the coffee trolley, great coffee too and having breakfast whilst enjoying the stunning views was a real bonus. Our room was spacious and we had a balcony with an amazing view. We were lucky to get a free upgrade which enhanced our stay. Our only moan was that the pool was too cold to swim in! It was freezing and it looked so inviting. Obviously though it didn't spoil our stay as we made sure we had some daily exercise by walking into town each day via the quiet path down and we even walked it going up one day which was fine as we are fit and healthy and it wasn't overly hot in October. The shuttle bus is a great service to and from the town and the hotel reception staff are very informative about the local buses and trains which are so easy to use. We fell in love with Sorrento and Capri and Pompeii, all are easy to get to via train, bus and hydrofoil. I would highly recommend this hotel and when we were going around the town I am glad that I didn't book one in the centre as the views and the location were just perfect. I love looking at my photos and the memories will stay with us for many years to come. You will have a lovely stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade and a room with a balcony /view. You might be lucky like we were!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JuliePapworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aminta, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Aminta, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2011

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for taking your time to post such an elaborate and positive review regarding your holiday at the Aminta. It is great to hear from satisfied clients. The staff and management work very hard to ensure that guests feel special and looked after during their time at the Aminta. We hope to welcome you back soon. Take care and best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Nick & I were in Italy for 10 days....the last 3, we stayed at the Grand Aminta. We loved it, very nice. The staff there was amazing, and the food was great! Very clean rooms, with everything you needed at hand.
In the evenings, we went to the bar/lounge area, where the atmosphere was very laid back & relaxing.
We will definitely go back!!
~LittleCountry Girl =)

Room Tip: The views from the front is so gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shelley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aminta, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Aminta, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2011

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to post your great review regarding your stay at the Aminta. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

I would highly recommend Hotel Aminta. The staff is so very nice and helpful. The hotel is beautiful and very clean. Good food, also.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aminta, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Aminta, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2011

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for posting your positive review regarding your stay at the Aminta. It's always a pleasure hearing from happy clients. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Aminta in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

I recently had the pleasure of staying at the Grand Aminta hotel in Sorrento. What a beatiful hotel. It sits a top of a hill overlooking the coast. The views are incredible! The food was first class. They were so accomodating in everything that I needed. The staff spoke perfect English which made it easy for my children. I was there with my family of 6 children and they went our of their way to make us have the vacation of a lifetime. My little son Herbie loved the pool so much. We couldnt get him out of it! The rooms were modern, clean and comfortable. I highly recommend this hotel for a wonderful trip. We will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a coastal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aminta, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Aminta, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2011

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to post your positive comments regarding your stay at the Aminta. Our staff and management take great pride in ensuring our clients enjoy their time with us. We look forward to seeing you at the Aminta soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Went on my first European vacation with my girlfriends this summer and had a fantastic experience at the Hotel Aminta. The breath taking views from our rooms were enough for me but they surpassed my expectations with the multiple English speaking staff members, the convienent shuttle to and from town, the amazing food and service. The lobster risotto was one of the best things I've ever eaten. My only regret is I was unable to stay longer but I am looking forward with anticipation to my next visit there! I highly reccommend anyone who visits Sorrento to either stay at the Hotel Aminta or at least stop in and check out this fabulous hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cari L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aminta, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Aminta, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2011

Dear Guest, We really appreciate you taking the time to write such a wonderful review regarding your stay at the Aminta. We're happy to hear we could make your first trip to Europe such a pleasure. We hope to see you again at the Aminta.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

I stayed at the Aminta for a total of seven days this summer and the experience kept getting better as the days went by. One of the things that stood out the most was the quality of service you get from the minute you step into the beautiful lobby. They help you with anything you need from planning trips to Capri and Pompei or just giving you a place to have a romantic dinner, even though we did not eat out much because the food at the hotel was excellent. The room was excellent and the views from this hotel are to die for. I would recommend to anyone that is visiting Sorrento to stay at the Hotel Aminta, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gianni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento
0.6 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
617 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Hotel La Vue D'Or
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
1,046 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
2,526 reviews
0.7 mi away
Maison Tofani
Maison Tofani
#16 of 100 in Sorrento
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Aminta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Aminta

Address: Via Nastro Verde, 23 | Neapolitan Riviera, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#18 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#20 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £64 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Aminta 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aminta occupies a commanding position overlooking the Gulf of Naples with breathtaking views, just 3.5 Km from the centre of Sorrento to which it offers a courtesy bus service. Complimentary breakfast, free Wi-Fi and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel Aminta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Aminta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing