We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay - amazing views”
Review of Grand Hotel Aminta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Aminta
Ranked #25 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2012

I stayed in the Arminta annex - a short walk from the main hotel - where my room commanded great coastal views! The hotel staff are welcoming and helpful - and no aim to help with any question.

I cannot wait to return to Sorrento and the Aminta

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aminta, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Aminta, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Dear guest, we would like to extend to you our gratitude for writing your positive review regarding your stay at the Aminta in our annex. Our annex is a special building immersed among lemon and olive groves, just a few steps away from the main hotel. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your holiday with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the Aminta in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,186)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Aminta
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,095 - 2,101 of 3,187 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2012

Stayed at the Grand Hotel Aminta just for one night, on my way back from the Amalfi Coast. Hotel was not difficult to find, even moving by public buses, thanks to the directions kindly provided by the staff over the phone. Got an upgrade into a partial sea view room, whic was immaculately furnished all in blue. I simply loved it, particularly bathroom, with its original tiling. Wifi in room worked perfectly as well. Lobby was so spacious and full of light that I even felt to see there and read for a while, something that I rarely do. Free shuttle bus to town is very practical and punctual though walking down through a narrow street bordered by flower-filled patios and gardens was definitely lovely. Pool area looked so inviting but water was still too cold in March, despite the warm weather. Breakfast buffet was extensive and the service spotless. My only observation would be that not all staff was friendly and attentive and some of them were quite patronizing or plainly unattentive, but that was not everybody. In all, a very nice surprise and a hotel I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AusverGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

My fiancee and I stayed at the Aminta 22nd - 25th March 2012. The hotel is in a great location on the top of the hill with gorgeous views of Sorrento, Capri and Mount Vesuvius.

Did not need to take the 15 minute walk into town as the free shuttle service ran every hour and was always on time.

We stayed half board - plenty of choice for breakfast including fresh pastries, scrambled eggs, bacon and sausages, plus cheeses, ham, yoghurts etc. Fresh coffee and juice also included.

Dinner choice for half board was also excellent - about 5 choices for starters and mains, plus a dessert trolley if you have room!! Excellent waiter service provided and the food was wonderful every evening.

The staff were all so very welcoming and friendly from the moment we arrived. We have booked to return to the Aminta with our family and friends in June to celebrate our wedding in Sorrento. We are excited to show them all this wonderful hotel - i cannot recommend it highly enough!

Thank you to Gianfranco and all of his courteous staff - we will see you all again in just over 12 weeks!! Andrew & Laura

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aminta, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Aminta, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you for the rave review regarding your holiday at the Aminta. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the food choices and service. Everyone at the Aminta works very hard to guarantee our client's comfort and relaxation. We look forward to seeing you for your wedding celebration in the summer. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Lovely hotel perched on hillside above Sorrento,views are postcard perfect Amalfi coast at its best.Rooms are a little old fashioned but spotlessly clean,ours had a view to die for,with verandah looking over the port of Sorrento and out to Isle of Capri.Free shuttle bus runs regularly to Sorrento and back,you can walk along a steep path which we did and had lovely views all the way down,takes about 15-20 minutes.Dining area is large and meticulously looked after with grand old style service,bar area is very popular as the stunning views look even better with a beer or wine after the day out exploring the many attractions.Reception gets busy at times however the staff were always helpful and pleasant.I would definitely recommend this hotel,whilst it's not modern it has a real charm that's hard to find.Due to it's location best to arrive and leave by cab or private car as luggage is a pain on the shuttle bus and I wouldn't advise walking with luggage.

Room Tip: Ask for a view
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aminta, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Aminta, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2012

Dear Guest, You couldn't have said it better when describing the postcard views from the hotel. Our location is our pride, whether sitting on your balcony or lounging on the terrace the breathtaking views are endless. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your holiday at the Aminta. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

My husband & I spent 3 nights at Aminta during our time in Sorrento. The location at the top of the hill allows for amazing views out to the Ocean & Sorrento.
The hotel has an amazing buffet breakfast selection and reliable bus transfer to town centre as it's about 20mins walk out.

Our room wasn't huge, basic but clean and we were luckily upgraded to a room with a view.

All staff were incredibly helpfull throughout our entire stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeanneM2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aminta, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Aminta, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your positive comments regarding your holiday at the Aminta. The staff and management take great pride in ensuring that each guest feels relaxed and pampered. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Aminta soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We stayed at the Aminta from 4th to 8th March 2012, and were very impressed with the hotel. On arrival, we were given a free upgrade to a room with a balcony and gorgeous view over Sorrento and the bay. All of the staff were so kind and helpful, and the front desk staff sorted out a problem we had with our WiFi access straight away. The breakfast was delicious, and there was a huge selection of food. The free shuttle bus was always on time and very easy to find. It was a great place to explore Sorrento and Pompei from. We will be recommending it to all our friends!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lottie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aminta, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Aminta, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2012

Dear Guest, We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Aminta. We would like to thank you for posting your positive review and for recommending the Aminta to future guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Aminta in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We had a lovely meal in the dining room. Views out over Pompei, Sorrento and the Bay of Naples. And Very reasonably priced. We paid a lot more for a lot less in Amalfi for lunch.

Room Tip: Aroom with the Bay view is worth the extra
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moiramcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aminta, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Aminta, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your positive comments regarding your stay at the Aminta. We are always happy to hear our clients enjoyed their experience at the Aminta. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,398 reviews
0.8 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,333 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Hotel La Vue D'Or
#31 of 100 in Sorrento
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#43 of 100 in Sorrento
1,123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
2,440 reviews
0.3 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Aminta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Aminta

Address: Via Nastro Verde, 23 | Neapolitan Riviera, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#18 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#21 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £72 - £353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Aminta 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aminta occupies a commanding position overlooking the Gulf of Naples with breathtaking views, just 3.5 Km from the centre of Sorrento to which it offers a courtesy bus service. Complimentary breakfast, free Wi-Fi and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Aminta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Aminta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing