We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 star hotel - 5 star service!”
Review of Grand Hotel Aminta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Hotel Aminta
Ranked #25 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Can't wait to go back to this place! The hotel is absolutely beautiful and just slightly out of the hustle and bustle of Sorrento. The hourly courtesy shuttle bus between the centre of Sorrento and Aminta Hotel takes only about 5 min.

The staff are extremely helpful and friendly and offer an impecable service! Breakfast buffet is extensive and lovely.

The views from the hotel are breathtaking and sunsets are glorious enjoyed from the terrace with a cold beer!

Basically - The hotel more than exceeded my expectations and I will most certainly be going back there. The only thing I would do differently is book for longer. We only stayed 3 days in which we had to explore the area, next time we'll book an extra 3 days just to enjoy the lovely hotel.

I'd like to thank the lovely staff at Hotel Aminta for a fantastic stay - we most certainly will be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Annexe room with a balcony (sea view) and this was amazing.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aminta, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Aminta, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2012

Dear Guest, It is always a pleasure to hear from happy guests. Thank you very much for posting your positve review regarding your stay at the Aminta, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,180)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Aminta
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,075 - 2,081 of 3,180 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2012

Just landed back from a week at the Hotel Aminta, it far excelled my expectations. The hotel is beautiful and the decoration oozes class, lots of exquisite tiles and marble. The location was perfect as it is set only a mile away from the hustle and bustle of Sorrento (it's a lovely stroll down a coastal path) and theres a free shuttle bus to get you there and back. The staff were simply amazing and catered from your every need, so polite and they paid such attention to detail.it was my birthday while I was there and the staff found and they made me a cake and sung 'Happy Birthday' and they gave us a bottle of champagne. I was really touched. The food and entertainment was possibly the highlight for me. Very traditional Italian fare,well cooked,lots of choice and plenty of it. We were treated to a Gala and Neopolitan evening, which involved live music and four course meals. I can't wait to return to the Aminta, I cannot praise it enough. We had the best holiday ever and that is alot to do with beauty of Italy and magic found in the Grand Hotel Aminta!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank kerriewb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aminta, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Aminta, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2012

Dear Guest, thank you so much for writing such a glorious review regarding your holiday at the Aminta. We are so happy to hear that you found our staff helpful and courteous. Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

My wife and I spent 4 days in Sorrento and stayed at the Hotel Aminta. The staff was extremely friendly and they spoke perfect English. Not that anyone should expect that...but it was a relief as my Italian is terrible. The views from the hotel (and rooms) were excellent and the rooms were clean. The shuttle bus was also very convenient as it took you right into town. If I had to list one "con" it would be that the hotel is a good 15-20 walk downhill into town.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fdibella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aminta, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Aminta, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your positive review regarding your stay at the Aminta. We are always happy to hear from satisfied guests. Although, the hotel is a 15 minute walk to town, there is a very pleasant path lined with lemon groves and olive trees if one decides to walk down. if not, the shuttle bus runs regularly throught the day and evening. Thank you for choosing the Aminta and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Simply a lovely hotel with great views and great location. Easy access to town with a regular free bus from outside the hotel and the staff are very helpful. Great breakfast selection on top. Definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dec M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aminta, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Aminta, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to post your enthusiastic review regarding your stay at the Aminta. We appreciate any feedback our guests have to offer. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

PROS
- Located a few kilometres out of town but there is a free hotel shuttle bus
- We were upgraded to a corner balcony room on the 2nd floor which was very spacious and has a stunning view out over Sorrento and Bay of Naples
- Breakfast was in the main restaurant and had a extremely wide selection of food including bacon & eggs, cereal and pastries. Fresh squeeze by yourself orange juice in a machine presser and great (American) coffee served by waiter in a tuxedo.
- Great bar area and terrace overlooking Bay of Naples.
- We ate dinner in the restaurant and the food was very good and reasonably priced.
(for a hotel restaurant)
- free WiFi
- We got a great discount room rate (March special) so the price was very good.

CONS
- a little out of town so not so easy just to pop into Sorrento for an hour or 2 although the hotel shuttle bus did help
- Pool wasn’t open as it was out of season

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynch-family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aminta, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Aminta, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2012

Dear Guest, we appreciate you posting such a detailed and positive review regarding your holiday at the Aminta. Our staff and management work diligently to ensure our guests feel at home and pampered. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Thank you for choosing the Grand Hotel Aminta.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We spent a week in this hotel which we selected after reading plenty of good reviews. And they all proved to be true. I am especially very much obliged to the reception staff. I wanted to and failed in finalizing our boarding cards. ( I am 62 and had dificulties with the computer.) It was arranged qickly when I requested assistance. We did dailly tours by buses to Amalfi coast and even as far as Paestum. Thanks to the excellent location of the hotel having a SITA bus stop close by, we could take earler buses when travelling far. We also enjoyed walking along the path(s) going either direnctins from the hotel. This walks proved to be refreshing and provided opportunity for admiring the mediterranean gardens and orchards.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank miklos m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aminta, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Aminta, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for posting your great review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Aminta and that the staff were able to help you with your travel issues. They take great pride in helping each and every guest to their satisfaction. Thank you again, we look forward to welcoming you back at the Aminta in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We have just spent a week at the Aminta. Even though the weather in Sorrento was rainy we still had a brilliant time thanks to the beautiful area, and this fantastic hotel. The staff were all so friendly and helpful. The shuttle bus was an excellent service. The rooms were lovely, and we were lucky enough to have a view facing Vesuvius which made it so special. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 187048Cheers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aminta, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Aminta, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2012

Dear Guest, It is so nice to hear from happy guests after they have spent a holiday at the Aminta. Our staff's goal is to ensure our guests feel comfortable and pampered. We look forward to welcoming you back at the Aminta soon,(with the sun).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
3,388 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Hotel La Vue D'Or
#31 of 100 in Sorrento
1,012 reviews
0.8 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#42 of 100 in Sorrento
1,121 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
2,434 reviews
0.3 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Aminta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Aminta

Address: Via Nastro Verde, 23 | Neapolitan Riviera, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#18 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#21 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £72 - £400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Aminta 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aminta occupies a commanding position overlooking the Gulf of Naples with breathtaking views, just 3.5 Km from the centre of Sorrento to which it offers a courtesy bus service. Complimentary breakfast, free Wi-Fi and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Aminta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Aminta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing