We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, lovely setting”
Review of Grand Hotel Aminta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Aminta
Ranked #25 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, lovely setting”
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at the Aminta - and we'd definitely recommend to others! The staff really make this place - they were amazingly attentive, and very helpful. They quickly remembered us, and even when we asked to change one of our excursions, it was never too much trouble. They even upgraded us which was a nice surprise on check in. The breakfast was good, lots of choice of Italian cakes and pastries, although the savoury options seemed limited. The shuttle bus was excellent - a life saver! - always on time too. We ate in the hotel's restaurant one evening - the food was very good and very reasonable price wise, there was just too much of it (we overheard others saying the portions were always too big). Pool area was very nice, clean and well maintained, with a nice outside terrace area - and there was a lovely atmospheric bar inside too. The area is very quiet area, a great location with stunning views. The sunbeds around the pool weren't that comfortable (and seemingly couldn't be fixed in an upright sitting position). Also, it would be better, we felt, if there was a 10.30pm shuttle bus from Sorrento as there was a gap between 9.30pm - 11:30pm. Hard to fault the hotel otherwise – really lovely trip, great value for money.

Room Tip: Lift is a bit noisy - try not to be directly outside it like we were!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kika_Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,911 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,881
    786
    205
    31
    8
See reviews for
618
1,614
55
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (540)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
jean004
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

We have just returned from hotel Aminta and was more than pleased with our choice. The staff were lovely, so helpful and professional. The hotel is so relaxing and peaceful with fantastic views, especially the rectangular window in the bar area like a ever changing picture. The food was great and we ate far too much and the bar prices were reasonable. Would definately return some of the hotels in Sorrento are very busy and touristy, but we found the Aminta calm and peaceful.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jean004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Our three night stay at the Aminta Hotel above the town of Sorrento was enchanting. The interior and exterior are stunning, and the views from the rooms and the patios of Sorrento, Vesuvius, and the sea were wonderful. Our room had a lovely terrace where we watched the boats come into the harbor and at night the twinkling lights of the city.
The hotel offerred free shuttle service every hour to and from town (a mere 5 minute ride). We used this service each day and never needed other transportation.
The breakfasts are delicious and huge! We also enjoyed our dinner at the hotel.
I will always stay at the Aminta Hotel when in Sorrento.

Room Tip: Ask to have a room with a terrace overlooking Sorrento and the sea. Ask for a room away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudithElizabeth66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Can't wait to go back to this place! The hotel is absolutely beautiful and just slightly out of the hustle and bustle of Sorrento. The hourly courtesy shuttle bus between the centre of Sorrento and Aminta Hotel takes only about 5 min.

The staff are extremely helpful and friendly and offer an impecable service! Breakfast buffet is extensive and lovely.

The views from the hotel are breathtaking and sunsets are glorious enjoyed from the terrace with a cold beer!

Basically - The hotel more than exceeded my expectations and I will most certainly be going back there. The only thing I would do differently is book for longer. We only stayed 3 days in which we had to explore the area, next time we'll book an extra 3 days just to enjoy the lovely hotel.

I'd like to thank the lovely staff at Hotel Aminta for a fantastic stay - we most certainly will be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Annexe room with a balcony (sea view) and this was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aminta, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Aminta, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
Dear Guest, It is always a pleasure to hear from happy guests. Thank you very much for posting your positve review regarding your stay at the Aminta, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Just landed back from a week at the Hotel Aminta, it far excelled my expectations. The hotel is beautiful and the decoration oozes class, lots of exquisite tiles and marble. The location was perfect as it is set only a mile away from the hustle and bustle of Sorrento (it's a lovely stroll down a coastal path) and theres a free shuttle bus to get you there and back. The staff were simply amazing and catered from your every need, so polite and they paid such attention to detail.it was my birthday while I was there and the staff found and they made me a cake and sung 'Happy Birthday' and they gave us a bottle of champagne. I was really touched. The food and entertainment was possibly the highlight for me. Very traditional Italian fare,well cooked,lots of choice and plenty of it. We were treated to a Gala and Neopolitan evening, which involved live music and four course meals. I can't wait to return to the Aminta, I cannot praise it enough. We had the best holiday ever and that is alot to do with beauty of Italy and magic found in the Grand Hotel Aminta!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank kerriewb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aminta, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Aminta, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
Dear Guest, thank you so much for writing such a glorious review regarding your holiday at the Aminta. We are so happy to hear that you found our staff helpful and courteous. Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

My wife and I spent 4 days in Sorrento and stayed at the Hotel Aminta. The staff was extremely friendly and they spoke perfect English. Not that anyone should expect that...but it was a relief as my Italian is terrible. The views from the hotel (and rooms) were excellent and the rooms were clean. The shuttle bus was also very convenient as it took you right into town. If I had to list one "con" it would be that the hotel is a good 15-20 walk downhill into town.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fdibella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aminta, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Aminta, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your positive review regarding your stay at the Aminta. We are always happy to hear from satisfied guests. Although, the hotel is a 15 minute walk to town, there is a very pleasant path lined with lemon groves and olive trees if one decides to walk down. if not, the shuttle bus runs regularly throught the day and evening. Thank you for choosing the Aminta and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Simply a lovely hotel with great views and great location. Easy access to town with a regular free bus from outside the hotel and the staff are very helpful. Great breakfast selection on top. Definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dec M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aminta, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Aminta, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to post your enthusiastic review regarding your stay at the Aminta. We appreciate any feedback our guests have to offer. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.8 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,255 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,240 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,083 reviews
0.3 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
1.7 mi away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#39 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Aminta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Aminta

Property: Grand Hotel Aminta
Address: Via Nastro Verde, 23 | Neapolitan Riviera, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#18 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#21 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Aminta 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aminta occupies a commanding position overlooking the Gulf of Naples with breathtaking views, just 3.5 Km from the centre of Sorrento to which it offers a courtesy bus service. Complimentary breakfast, free Wi-Fi and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Hotel Aminta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Aminta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing