We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, but not great”
Review of Grand Hotel Aminta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Aminta
Ranked #25 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good, but not great”
Reviewed 20 May 2012

My wife and I spent a week at the Aminta in mid-May. The hotel is very clean and well-furnished. Public areas are extensive and very comfortable - the very large lobby has comfortable and smart seating areas, the pool and outdoor terrace/bar is very nice, though the poolside area is a bit on the small side. The indoor bar area is cramped and uncomfortable, though, and a bit basic - great views from the picture windows, though. Staff are extraordinarily helpful and really do understand the concept of service.

Our room (on the 4th floor) was on the small side but perfectly adequate. The bathroom was very compact - you had to slide on and off the toilet sideways! No proper shower, and water pressure was poor. The rooms aren't well sound-proofed, either, with noise from above and next door. Very clean, though, and it looked recently decorated.

The views from the room and the pool/terrace are as impressive as everyone says - unless it's a hot day, in which case the haze is so bad even the mighty bulk of Vesuvius disappears. The locals say that, if you can see Vesuvius clearly, it's going to rain. On the basis of our limited experience, they ain't wrong - see Vesuvius on Sunday, take your brolly with you on Monday.

The hotel shuttle bus is excellent and runs throughout the day, every hour - except for siesta in the early afternoon.

Things they don't tell you: in-room air con is disabled until mid-June. That's right, even though it's advertised, it doesn't work. It's waay too hot to sleep with the balcony doors closed so you have to leave the doors open. Next thing they don't tell you: the area around the Aminta is incredibly noisy. We didn't get a decent night's sleep all week. The Aminta sits on the main road and there's LOTS of traffic and pretty much all of it sounds horns on the approach to the corners from dawn-to-dusk, and there are hordes of screaming 2-stroke tuk-tuk-like vans struggling up the hill; local dogs carry out long distance conversations at all hours, and if I hear just one more cockerel doing its cock-a-doodle-do routine at 4am...

Other things they don't tell you: shorts are verboten in the dining room for the evening meal, so make sure you pack some long trousers!

The biggest problem with the Aminta, though, is the food. Breakfast is OK but the evening meal is disappointing: it's presented well and service is excellent, but the food itself isn't great. It's bland, the veggies taste tinned, and some of the combinations are a bit odd. For an area of the world where food quality is so high this is a real disappointment.

If we were to return to Sorrento on holiday we'd probably choose a different hotel or, at the very least ask for a room away from the road and opt for bed-and-breakfast only.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Endevol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,907 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,877
    786
    205
    31
    8
See reviews for
616
1,612
55
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (539)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

My husband and I have just returned from our trip to Italy. We stayed in this hotel for our 5 day trip to Sorrento. The hotel was perfect in every way possible.

We arrived at Sorrento train station and took a taxi to the hotel. The hotel is quite high up the hill, so we were glad we didn't walk it. The views from the hotel are amazing. When we first arrived, the reception staff were very friendly and helpful (good English too). We stayed in the seperate building to the hotel (which for some reason we had a free upgrade). We were shown to our room, which was only a 2 minute walk from the main building. They offered to also take our bags. The lady who showed us to the room explained that the hotel owns alot of the ground too. They grow their own olives, which is used for the olive oil in the restaurant.

Room was spotless, very large, had a balcony and fantastic view of the sea. Everything was clean. The breakfast in the mornings was brilliant. You could order extra items such as eggs, sausages, melon etc to your table. The selection they put out was a good variety. The restaurant staff were very friendly and always served you with a smile. We ate at the hotel for one of the evenings. The food was nice, and they had some entertainment on (think this is on selected days).

Pool was nice, the bar area was also very relaxing. I'm glad we spent some time in the hotel as well as going out, because it was the perfect place to relax. We would recommend this place for anyone wanting to stay in Sorrento.

Room Tip: We had a room with a sea view - well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenSt11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Just returned after another great stay at the Aminta Hotel. Its really nice when the staff remember you from last time you visited. I have stayed at various hotels closer to the centre of Sorrento, but the Aminta is our favourite, due to outstanding views from every angle of the hotel. The hotel is spotless and the staff are always smiling and friendly, nothing is too much trouble.

We were on a Half Board basis and each night was a 4 course dinner, we could not fault the food.

Hopefully, will return to the Aminta sometime in the near future.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pat80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
n ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

we just returned from trip to sorrento staying in the hotel aminto. what a delightful venue.the views from the hotel were breathtaking,the service was brilliant and all the staff,bar staff,dining room,and receptionists were more than helpful.any query was dealt with promptly all speaking very good english,which was just as well as we dont speak any italian at all.this was not a problem using buses,trains and ferries to get around, much cheaper than organised tours.the hotel shuttle bus was really useful going up and down to the town itself, the drivers on this were very helpful as well.we stayed half board which was very handy as we didnt need to leave the hotel in the evening just relax after a lot of sightseeing. our bedrooms were spotlessly clean and kept that way during our stay. altogether a lovely break in the sun.

Room Tip: my room was on the ground floor with garden view but you dont spend time in your room,if you want vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank irishroseNIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

I always check hotels reviews on Trip advisor before I book any holiday and as a result I am never disappointed. Our latest holiday at the Grand Hotel Aminta which is highly recommended by Trip Advisor reviewers was yet another great experience.
As previous reviewers have said, the hotel is really lovely. It is spotlessly clean,there are two lovely pools ( childrens and adults )with sunloungers beautiful terraces with comfortable seating and cool and relaxing indoor lounges. The food is superb and the staff are pleasant and helpful - most speak excellent English. The Aminta is located in a fantastic position overlooking the Bay of Naples and runs a reliable free shuttle bus up and down to Sorrento town centre. Bar prices are reasonable - draught beer and house wine cost less than you would expect in a hotel of this standard. There are also free internet facilities and a TV room. During our one week stay there was great musical entertainment on 3 nights.
When we arrived we had a problem with our room which we found rather noisy as it was situated near the kitchen ventilation system. When we drew this to the attention of reception staff we were moved to another room immediately and with the minimum of fuss. Guests can have problems in any hotel but it is how the problem is dealt with that matters- the Aminta's response was all and more we could have hoped for - really excellent customer care.
I cannot recommend the Aminta highly enough.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cathy_mccarthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at the Aminta - and we'd definitely recommend to others! The staff really make this place - they were amazingly attentive, and very helpful. They quickly remembered us, and even when we asked to change one of our excursions, it was never too much trouble. They even upgraded us which was a nice surprise on check in. The breakfast was good, lots of choice of Italian cakes and pastries, although the savoury options seemed limited. The shuttle bus was excellent - a life saver! - always on time too. We ate in the hotel's restaurant one evening - the food was very good and very reasonable price wise, there was just too much of it (we overheard others saying the portions were always too big). Pool area was very nice, clean and well maintained, with a nice outside terrace area - and there was a lovely atmospheric bar inside too. The area is very quiet area, a great location with stunning views. The sunbeds around the pool weren't that comfortable (and seemingly couldn't be fixed in an upright sitting position). Also, it would be better, we felt, if there was a 10.30pm shuttle bus from Sorrento as there was a gap between 9.30pm - 11:30pm. Hard to fault the hotel otherwise – really lovely trip, great value for money.

Room Tip: Lift is a bit noisy - try not to be directly outside it like we were!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kika_Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jean004
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

We have just returned from hotel Aminta and was more than pleased with our choice. The staff were lovely, so helpful and professional. The hotel is so relaxing and peaceful with fantastic views, especially the rectangular window in the bar area like a ever changing picture. The food was great and we ate far too much and the bar prices were reasonable. Would definately return some of the hotels in Sorrento are very busy and touristy, but we found the Aminta calm and peaceful.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jean004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.8 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,254 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,234 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,075 reviews
0.3 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
1.7 mi away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#39 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Aminta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Aminta

Property: Grand Hotel Aminta
Address: Via Nastro Verde, 23 | Neapolitan Riviera, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#18 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#21 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Aminta 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aminta occupies a commanding position overlooking the Gulf of Naples with breathtaking views, just 3.5 Km from the centre of Sorrento to which it offers a courtesy bus service. Complimentary breakfast, free Wi-Fi and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Hotel Aminta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Aminta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing