We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Must Stay When In Sorrento” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Aminta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Hotel Aminta
Ranked #25 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Matthews, North Carolina
Level Contributor
106 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A Must Stay When In Sorrento”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

This was our second visit to Aminta within six months. We brought our three children along for a family vacation this trip and once again the staff and accomodations were top notch. The views are breath-taking (sea view room with balcony) and the bar and restaurant fantastic. Be sure to catch the sunset over Ischia! Aminta will always be on our must stay list when visiting Campania. Thank you for yet another amazing vacation! A presto! Joseph Albanese USA

Room Tip: Superior rooms with balcony provide the best view of either the sunset or Sorrento.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JosephAIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aminta, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Aminta, responded to this review, 17 June 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for posting your positive review. It is the greatest compliment when guests return to the Aminta. Thank you for choosing the Aminta and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Aminta in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,809 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,810
    763
    197
    31
    8
See reviews for
598
1,555
49
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (530)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

I have just returned from a weeks stay at the Grand Hotel Aminta. Fantastic first time in Italy. Hotel was fabulous. Clean, tidy with exceptional staff. Nothing was too much trouble. Our room was on fourth floor with fantastic views of Sorento and the bay. Didn't opt for balcony but that didn't matter. We felt we didn't need it. Beds were very comfy. Bathroom was big and spacious. Food was fabulous. Two gala evenings with 4 or 5 courses. Shared dining in evening which some may not like but we had a lovely couple all week and couldnt have asked for better company. Thanks jayne and jeff. Breakfast was buffet style with choice for everyone. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Cannot fault them. Always cheerful and smiling. The courtesy bus to Sorento was brilliant. Left every hour and had a break for dinner. He was never late and a true gem. I shall definitely return to this hotel and would highly recommend it to anyone who asks. My only complaint....I had to come home. Well done Aminta.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank j0j037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

We have just returned from a week's stay half board at The Aminta booked through Thomson and can only re-iterate the comments on Trip Advisor about this Hotel. From the moment you arrive you can relax and enjoy the superb views and outstanding customer service from the staff - nothing is too much trouble. We had a balcony room with sea view and as has been said the room was kept spotlessly clean. There was an enormous double bed with large bathroom - looked like it had been recently re-furbished as furniture was fairly new. Blackout blinds were particularly efficient. Yes there is a bit of noise from other rooms but that is partly down to the lovely marble floors which accentuate it - also there is noise from the road and domestic pets but close the window and it is peaceful and in any case the Hotel has no control over this. There is a good choice at breakfast and evening meal. As has been pointed out you do share a table but that is nice as you have a chance to discuss your day with fellow travellers and in our case we had lovely people who quickly became friends. Most other guests are happy to share experiences and tips and another couple we met pointed out that there are fireflies on the walk down to Sorrento about 50 yards down the path on the left - they also warned of the "stealth" (their words) scooters that whizz up and down the path as sometimes all you hear is their horn just before they pass you. The courtesy bus runs hourly but the walk down takes about 20 minutes to the town centre - a bit longer coming back as it is fairly steep. We booked a couple of trips through Thomson but found it more interesting to try and organise these ourselves where you can save quite a bit. Pompeii, Herculaneum and Capri are simple to get to by public transport and buses are available to take you to Vesuvius various ways next to Pompeii railway station. Also there is one short trip not well advertised which gives you great views of the Bay of Naples and that is the cable car ride from Castellamare - about 6 stops from Sorrento on the train. For less than 8 Euros you get a return trip to the top of Mount Faito - only an 8 minute ride with some walks at the top.

Anyway back to the hotel which is what this review is really about. It was our first trip to Sorrento and the Aminta made it a truly memorable experience. The reception staff are so friendly and helpful as are the cleaning staff. The waiters are all impeccably turned out and the dining room light and airy. The waiters are very attentive ensuring your coffee/tea cup is kept full and they have a nice way of revealing your meal by lifting the plate covers for all the people at your table at the same time - it is obvious all the staff want to give you the best possible service in a professional and friendly way and they succeed.

We will return to Sorrento and whilst there are other nice hotels in the town, the Aminta is numero uno for us

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fedfan56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

We stayed here for a week and were very happy with the hotel. When we came in from the airport we caught the bus direct to sorrento for 10 euro, the bus took about 1 hour. To get to the hotel from the bus station we had to take a taxi as we were not sure of the location. Unfortunetly the taxi cost 28 euro for a 5 min ride up to the hotel. From then on once we new the location of the free shuttle bus that left every hour (except at lunch time) we caught that. We also walked down the hillside which takes about 15 mins, although i would recomend not wearing thongs as it is a bit steep and cobblestone (as i discovered) you can also walk back up to the hotel if the shuttle times do not suit, this took a bit of effort and i was fairly puffed to get up and im reasonably fit, its just a steep walk with a few stairs. however the shuttle obviously avoids that if the time suits you.

The hotel is lovely inside very clean and nice, its not as modern, but is maintained well and has character. The outside area with the pool and the terrace is fantastic, you can see the whole of sorrento and over to the bay of naples and its beautiful views. The pool has a bar beside it with snacks and drinks and they bring the drinks to you whilst your enjoying the lovely sun so thats great.
The rooms are a standard size with everything you need, there is a tv with quite a few english stations which was good when we needed to rest. Its in a quite location, the only thing we woke up to was the rooster across the road, but we didnt mind that at all

There is a lovely lounge area in the lobby with heaps of comfortable lounges to sit on, if you want, however we prefered to be outside by the pool in the sun, or obviously down in town

We ate at the hotel resturant, buffet breakfast was great with lots of options. The dinner was lovely to. It cost about 38 euro for the two of us for tea and we both had meat and vegetables. The staff in the resturant were very lovely, they all spoke good english and were very friendly
The staff at reception were pleasant and friendly. There was 2 computers with free internet in the lobby which was very handy.

We were happy with our stay here

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

We have just returned from 10 days through Thomson and had a sea view room as standard. The hotel is spotless and the food of a high standard. The staff went out of their way to arrange special diets ( I hate garlic!! and my wife is vegetarian).
I work in hotels all the time and agree with the 4 star rating with a plus.
Most of the clientele this time of year are not young. This is not an hotel for disco late nighters. It was recommended by friends and they were not wrong.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edwin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow scotland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

We arrived at the Aminta with high expectations, we were not disappointed. High on a hill overlooking Sorrento it offered amazing views of Sorrento and Naples with Vesuvius dominating the skyline to the north.
The room we had (319) had a balcony and I had a great time watching the sunrise in the morning and the lovely town of Sorrento light up at night. Between times we visited Capri , Amalfi , Pompei and Vesuvius. Outstanding coastline and towns.
The hotel cannot be faulted. Modern and spotless. Sweeping staircase to the first floor, marble floors, spacious well furnished lounge areas and bars with terrific views. The outdoor areas are equally well situated and the pool proved very popular.
The food was varied , perfectly cooked and presented.
Breakfast was an experience with a choice of hot food consisting of scrambled egg ,bacon and sausage,or, from a large selection of continental pastries,fruit and cold meats with cheese.
Now to the staff. I have never came across such friendly and efficient hotel staf in my life.
Getting to and from the hotel was no problem as the hotel ran a shuttle to Sorrento every hour with the last run from Sorrento being 11.30 pm.
Beautiful dining room with entertainment made eating there a pleasure.
I loved the place and will definately go back.

Room Tip: We were very happy on the third floor with a balcony overlooking the town of Sorrento.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john fegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

My husband and I just spent our 25th Wedding Anniversary in Italy and we stayed at the Grand Hotel Aminta. I would highly recommend this hotel. It has a fantastic view, lovely rooms, great food and a handy shuttle bus to and from town. I can't say enough about the staff and owner, they all made our stay a wonderful experience. Hope to return in the near future.
Allison Harris

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#28 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
0.8 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,950 reviews
0.3 mi away
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Aminta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Aminta

Property: Grand Hotel Aminta
Address: Via Nastro Verde, 23 | Neapolitan Riviera, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#18 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#21 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Aminta 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aminta occupies a commanding position overlooking the Gulf of Naples with breathtaking views, just 3.5 Km from the centre of Sorrento to which it offers a courtesy bus service. Complimentary breakfast, free Wi-Fi and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelUp and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Aminta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Aminta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing