We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely stay here again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Aminta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Hotel Aminta
Ranked #25 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Definitely stay here again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

This hotel was recommended to us. We were not disappointed. Situated up in the hills it’s was ideal to be in a short drive (5 mins) or steep walk (20 Mins) to Sorrento town without staying in the hustle a bustle.

Has a shuttle bus to and from the town for those not brave enough to takle the 20 min walk up/down the hill
The hotel pool was great
The room was great – we got upgraded for free to a sea view room – which was appreciated
If you do get a room with a sea view – it’s awesome, truly awesome
Drinks menu was modern and reasonable priced
Hotel staff extremely helpful and spritely.
We stayed 5 nights and enjoyed every one of them.
Looking forward to going back
The room rate was reasonable for the area.
The pool side area was very nice. Relaxed
The hotel seems to attract a slightly older clientele. This is good or bad depending on what you’re looking for. For me it was great. Few children and no tramps, fantastic.

Room Tip: sea view - top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilBeck12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,809 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,810
    763
    197
    31
    8
See reviews for
598
1,555
49
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (530)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level Contributor
105 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

Just got back yesterday from this beautiful hotel and couldn't wait to share our experience. We had two wonderful weeks. The location of the hotel is superb with fabulous views of Sorrento, the Bay of Naples and Vesuvious from the hotel verandah and we had booked a balcony with sea views and shared these beautiful views. We would put this hotel near the top of our hotel experiences as everything about it was perfect for us. The hotel was kept spotlessly clean. The staff were friendly, courteous, very hard working and helpful without exception. Reception staff, cleaners, restaurant waiters, bar staff, gardeners and all the staff behind the scenes diserve a big thank you from us. We were half board and the breakfast was good, coffee very good and evening meals were wonderful. Only complaint would be that we both need to go on a huge diet as three or 4 course meals of irresistable dishes each evening served with aplomb has spread our waistlines! (Gala and Neapolitan evenings were twice a week and 4 courses). There is an efficient shuttle bus service running hourly from 9am to 11 pm, with a break for siesta time. Last return is 11.30 which suited us oldies! The driver we had was friendly and helpful - of course! We walked down the country lane quite a few times, which was a really pleasant walk down hill, but always caught the shuttle bus back as it was so steep. (Watch out for the scooters free-wheeling though!) Only ate out in Sorrento for one evening as hotel food too good to miss. If we wanted an evening we would catch the 9pm shuttle down or walk with torches and the 11.30pm back. Bar 2000 is a great stop for people watching, friendly staff and very reasonable prices in the main narrow alley. Would agree that there is not much for children at the hotel , but this was more a bonus than problem for us. Service in restaurant and bar was great. Room was cleaned daily, and towels replaced daily so long as we did not hang them back up on rails to indicate that we did not need them changed. Lunch at hotel was reasonably priced and good. Particularly enjoyed shrimp and orange salad, which we would classify as king prawns in UK! Ate out a few lunch times and could recommend the tiny Bagnia S.Anna at the Marina Grande. Simple freshly cooked fish or pasta dishes, served on the little jetty. Were with Thomsons, and enjoyed the Amalfi Select trip with them very much, despite the cost. Worth the extra to be in a small party of about 16. Iskia trip was a disaster as the guide was totally disorganised, plus he took us to a restaurant which served us a plate of wilted lettuce as a starter, some chewy pasta as a main and ice cream which was fine for a desert. 12 euros with a glass of wine. The island is well worth a visit but could save a fortune by going over on the same boat booked direct and getting a taxi to the beautiful gardens. The Capri trip also booked with Thomsons was worth the guide who was everything the other guide wasn't. Went to Pompei by train for about 6 Euros return for both of us, and got an audio guide which suited us as we could do everything on our own and in our own time nistead of being rushed around with lots of people with a guide. If this is what suits you also, turn right out of the station at Pompei and you can book the audio guide and entrance tickets at the main gates just up the road on left. Just tell the guys who try to lead you to the left that you don't want a guide. We had such a lovely impression of Positano on our Amalfi coast trip, where we were allowed an hour, that we returned by boat booked from the main Marina stopping at Positano and Amalfi. We chose to get off at Poistano and got the 5pm return boat. Had a wonderful five hours exploring the tiny alleways and shops, lovely lunch higher up in town with beautiful views over the bay followed by a relax on beach and swim in sea. All in all a wonderful holiday in beautiful Sorrento.

Room Tip: Loved our room with end balcony a superb views of Sorrneto, bay of Naples and Vesuvious. Sun in morn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pamstrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

We have just returned from Aminta. It was my second trip and my husbands first. I was eager to show him Aminta in all its glory.
Our room was pleasant ( balcony ) and very clean. One gripe we didnt get clean towels EVERYDAY more like every other ! I was going to speak to reception but kept forgetting so my fault as well.
Breakfast was very good, much improved since my last stay. We had lunch a few times and were equally pleased, infact the portions are quite large so you could order just one and share. ( we did on one occas ) We ate in the restaurant one evening and chose the AL A CARTE menu, pricey but very good. The set-menu appeared like a Butlins type meal !! Pool area was great apart from people paying to secure a sunbed @ 4euro a day ! So as you can imagine a real shortage of sunbeds, they did have deck chairs but are hardly the same also you were out on a limb as no spaces for them. We got up and sat at the pool one morning from 8AM so we could secure abed....NOT GOOD ! It wasnt till around 2 ish that some of the reserved sunbeds were used. Clearly the hotel doesnt care about this as they are making extra money. There were quite alot of small children and they amused themselves in the pool etc but I have to say its not a hotel geared up for children which appealed to us , we want to relax and enjoy not have children screaming and causing havoc !!
The pool bar and entertainment was very good, however the poor waiters are worked to death !! Just two guys working most evenings, as you can imagine they were extra busy when the football was being screened. The owner fully aware of this as he stands in the bar in the exact same SPOT every evening . The shuttle bus very handy for trips back from town however we used to walk down as quite a pleasant walk, we did walk back one eve when we missed the bus by 3mins !!! BOY was it a task !! Receptionists abit hit and miss but pleasant enough ladies. Notices were displayed about a train strike 3 days before it was due, then we noticed that it was removed when we enquired about this we were told " Oh its not the trains now its the bus's ! " We were very concerned as were going to the airport by bus on the 22nd Fri. We were asking about other means of transport and was told THE BOAT or THE TRAIN ! Yet on the 22nd my husband asked first thing in the morning " What is the positon today ?" Oh you can pay 25 Euro each and get a shuttle !! We werent told that the day before ! So he asked please can you book for us as we are leaving today? Finally after an hour and a half he went to enquire "No its fully booked " As it happend the bus's were working but we really felt that the receptionist werent that helpful with advice when asked and if you were an independant traveller it was tough. However all in all a wonderful holiday with just a few minor gripes.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank poppet1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

Thought almost every aspect of the communal parts of the hotel were good particularly the lounges, pool, restaurant, entertainment and befitting of its four star However the bedroom we were in, an attic room, was small and needed new furniture and bathroom suite, and therefore would only mark as three star max. All the doors on our corridor would only slam shut, as they had to be pulled hard to engage the lock which was very noisy. The restaurant food ranged from good to fare but great restaurant staff and atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fids30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlehampton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

The Aminta lived up to every expectation and more Beautiful location, staff who are helpful friendly and extremely courteous The location is stunnng, an oasis, when returning from the lovely, busy town of Sorrento A chance remark at reception , regarding my cancelled birthday meal, at a local restaurant due to bad weather, resulted, in a lovely surprise cake and champagne
, and a happy birthday from all the waiters , thank you Aminta, you made my day,, and my holiday cant wait to return

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank januk17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

Recently stayed at Aminta on a family holiday with my wife, children and my parents. Despite being a hotel that attracts all age groups, my main criticism is that they could provide more facilities for children. Other than the pool, which is predominantly very deep, there is nothing else to entertain them, no play area or games room. This is a nice hotel though, with stunning views and very friendly and helpful staff. Very clean and well run with a good shuttle service to and from Sorrento.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bert-Camem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

Our group of four have just returned from the Aminta today, what an amazing place.

We booked for the Annex Gardens view rooms and were upgraded to Annex Sea view rooms with balconies. Lovely little walk through the pretty gardens to the main Hotel building.

The food - breakfast, lunches and dinner were delicious! and the staff were so friendly, always smiling. Especially to Pepe (thank you Boss!).

We came to Sorrento to attend a wedding, but will definitely be returning next year to stay at the Aminta.

Thank you

Stayed June 2012
Helpful?
Thank SamanthaDoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#28 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
0.8 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,949 reviews
0.3 mi away
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Aminta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Aminta

Property: Grand Hotel Aminta
Address: Via Nastro Verde, 23 | Neapolitan Riviera, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#18 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#21 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Aminta 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aminta occupies a commanding position overlooking the Gulf of Naples with breathtaking views, just 3.5 Km from the centre of Sorrento to which it offers a courtesy bus service. Complimentary breakfast, free Wi-Fi and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your Grand Hotel Aminta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Aminta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing