We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrific views -highly recommend this hotel”
Review of Grand Hotel Aminta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel Aminta
Ranked #23 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We stayed 4 nights before moving on to southern italy. Very impressed with the hotel and its facilities also staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. A special thank you to Roland the shuttle bus driver who recommended some nice restaurants and was very friendly and also Maria Rosaria who was always there to help. ( Roland and Maria you are famous now all over the world!!!!).

The views from the hotel were tremendous -the sea, Versuvious and Sorrento day and night views superb.
Most guests were English, with about 40% not retired and just a few children in June so it was quiet and relaxing.

The road outside was bendy, steep so watch out when crossing the road to the shuttle bus which runs every hour.(Could have done with a 10.30 pm return from the town as well as the 9.30 and 11.30pm)
You can walk down a short cut path to town takes about 15-20 mins but I would not like to walk back --a bit steep for us oldies.

We were upgraded to a garden balcony. spacious modern clean room with a lovely view of mountains, greenery and the blue sea.
We loved the walk (50 m from hotel) through the garden very quiet and relaxing especially in the cool morning and evening , beautiful flowers, lemon trees and olives, grape vines and smell of lavender and seeing the locals digging up the fresh veg used in the hotel. We preferred the garden accomm. to main hotel. What i liked about this area is that most houses have large gardens of olive vine lemon etc which is nice to see.

Breakfast was very good (they do cooked stuff and I asked for freshly cooked eggs)

Sorrento is a nice town- bigger than i thought , busy and everywhere is accessible by boat to Capri, Amalfi,PositanoSalerno-Naples .They are fast and efficient-did not fancy bus.The
train to Pompei ( only a couple of euros) is well worth the trip but take plenty of water as its a hot day out)
Brian and linda Thomas

Room Tip: garden balcony very quiet (free coffee machine and ice machine) but you have a 50 m walk AC unit fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alzimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

Dear guest, thank you for writing such a detailed and complimentary review regarding your stay at the Aminta. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your holiday and that you found our hotel unique. The Aminta is strategically positioned making day excursions easy and convenient. Thank you for choosing the Aminta and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,315)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,137 - 2,143 of 3,315 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2012

We just had a week at The Aminta hotel and it was truly 5 star service with all the bells and whistles. We booked and was given the attic room on the top floor, no balcony butlarge room with a opening sky window and soaring ceilings, a real plus.

The breakfast was just amazing, the pool and views spectacular and the free hourly shuttly bus to and from town made our holiday one to remember.

Do stay here and at breakfast ask for Pietro and say a big HI form the Aussie with no voice.

Seriously this is one of the best hotels on the coast and it won't kill the bank, get more bang for your buck here.

Lastly thankyou to all the wonderful staff that made our stay so enjoyable.

Chris x 2

Room Tip: Ask for the attic or if you are well healed rooms 800's
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozteam888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

Dear guest, thank you for writing your complimentary review about your stay at the Aminta. We will definitely say hi to Pietro for you. It is an honour for us to hear from satisifed guests. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

what a beautiful hotel felt like we were royalty from the moment we walked into the hotel .the room was amazing and such a lovely bathroom so big .the view from our balcony was fantastic we could see mount versuvious and looked over the bay of naples .the hotel was very clean and tidy the pool area was lovely ,the breakfast was amazing so much choice and the service was wonderfull the quality of the evening meal and lunch we had was very high .the staff were always well preasented and very helpfull at all times .the hotel provided a free bus from the hotel to the town centre witch ran untill 11.30 in the evening daily .there was parking in the hotel grounds but it was a little tight .we had a lovely stay here and would stay here again

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philip c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

Dear guest, thank you for posting your review regarding your holiday at the Aminta. It is always a pleasure to hear from happy clients. We have done our job if our guests feel relaxed and pampered. Thank you for choosing the Aminta and we look forward to welcoming you back .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

This is a review with a difference and relates to the excellent consideration and customer service we received from the General manager of the hotel .
Due to storm damage to our house we had to cancel our holiday, which was especially disappointing as we knew that the booking was non-refundable.
However, Booking.com contacted the general manager of the hotel and he very graciously agreed to waive the cancellation fee and reimburse us in full. This was service above and beyond the call of duty and both myself and my family were very grateful.
A very kind and considerate act in uncertain economic times, and deserving of the five stars we have awarded the hotel.
We hope to visit the hotel sometime in the future because it looks stunning and we've seen some other extremely favourable reviews.
Ciao, Grand Hotel Aminta!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
1  Thank warwickwiddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting such a beautiful review.
We definitely look forward to welcoming you and your family at the Aminta in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

This was our first visit to Sorrento and I picked this hotel based on the reviews I had read on here. Me and my partner were on a seven night touring holiday with Riviera Travel and as such the option was breakfast and evening meal.

What a gorgeous hotel this is - we had an attic style room with a goregous view of the sea and coastline - the room was smallish but immaculately clean and modern. The maid service was good and we had our bed made and clean towels when we wanted them. The shower was hot and powerful and the lighting in the room was good - there was also a fridge/minibar.

There is a large terrace/bar/pool area which is just lovely - great for sitting out in the evening if you don't fancy a trip into town - very romantic with the stunning views. The bar staff are polite and friendly and you really do feel like you are in a luxury hotel by the level of service you get here. If you do want to go into town there is a free shuttle bus both there and back, but if you wanted to walk it, it is around 15 - 20 minutes down, longer up as it's up high.

The dining room is very nice and looks out onto the terrace - the service again was very good and there is a good selection of food both at breakfast (the usual cereals, fruits, yoghurts and pastries AND hot food - really decently made scrambled eggs with bacon and sausage), and in the evening - again we received really exceptional service from the staff.

The whole hotel is incredibly well run and definitely deserves it's four star status. There was only one minor downside for me- and that was that we had to share tables when eating, which somewhat spoiled our plans for this to be a romantic event - I did not ask for another table just for two so I cannot say whether I would have got one but looking back I wish I had - luckily the people we shared with were of our age and from our area so we had things in common, but I was surprised at the small space on the table that we were expected to share with strangers (it really was a very small table) All that said I would definitely go to this hotel again and am in the process of pricing up hols for next year with a view to staying here - Although if I unable to have a table to eat just for two I would most certainly book bed and breakfast rather than half board. I noticed that the hotel replies to these reviews -maybe you could clarify this for me?

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alisonj1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Just returned from our second visit to the Aminta and although there was a 6 year gap, we were not disappointed by the experience which was excellent. Everything about our holiday was first class and our thanks go to all the staff who made our stay so enjoyable. We would particularly like to thank you Gianfranco for your generosity and your personal involvement in making our stay such a memorable one. That stay co-incided with a heat wave and it was a constant relief to step inside the cool of the hotel and chill out. Every day was rounded off with a delightful meal, the serving of which was exceptional. We also particularly enjoyed the guitarist and mandolin player on the Neapolitan evening and the pianist during the Gala dinner. Our rooms were perfect and the views over Sorrento and the surrounding area were just as breathtaking as we remembered them from 6 years ago when we visited for our son Phil and daughter-in-law Lynn's wedding. All in all "Bellissimo" and we hope to return next year, God willing. Ciao, David, Judith & Keren Atack

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

Dear guest, thank you very much for posting your positive review regarding your return to the Aminta. We will definitely extend your thanks to the manager, Gianfranco. Thank you for choosing the Aminta and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We have just been on a return visit to the Aminta after staying for the first time 5 years ago for a special birthday celebration. This was the right choice again as the hotel is in a lovely position with stunning views of the Bay of Naples. The hotel and rooms are spotless and staff always helpful and friendly. We would not hesitate in recommending this hotel for a holiday in Sorrento.
Thankyou again to the staff on reception for upgrading our room on arrival.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leedz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 June 2012

Dear Guest, thank you so much for posting your lovely review regarding your stay at the Aminta. It is always such an honour to welcome guests back over and over. We hope to see you again in the near future. Thank you for choosing the Aminta.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento
0.6 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
617 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Hotel La Vue D'Or
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
1,046 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
2,526 reviews
0.7 mi away
Maison Tofani
Maison Tofani
#16 of 100 in Sorrento
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Aminta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Aminta

Address: Via Nastro Verde, 23 | Neapolitan Riviera, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#18 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#20 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £64 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Aminta 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aminta occupies a commanding position overlooking the Gulf of Naples with breathtaking views, just 3.5 Km from the centre of Sorrento to which it offers a courtesy bus service. Complimentary breakfast, free Wi-Fi and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel Aminta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Aminta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing