We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel, ask for Balcony and Sea View” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Aminta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Hotel Aminta
Ranked #25 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel, ask for Balcony and Sea View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

The roads around the area are very twisted and steep but also very picturesque, well done to the various bus drivers manouvering the large busses around the coast line!
The Grand Aminta is just outside Sorrento. Web pics of the hotel do it justice, it is lovely and sparkling clean with plenty of space to chill out either inside or out. Book a sea view with a balcony as the view of the Bay of Naples is stunning!
All staff helpfull and friendly.
The rooms have a tiled floor, adequate space for clothing, and large double beds, all kept very clean, with towels changed daily and bed linen changed frequently.
There are no tea and coffee making facilities so take your own if you wish. Free wi-fi and free safe key! Also free bus into Sorrento hourly with a break in the afternoon, with the las bus leaving Sorrento around 11.30pm.
The restaurant is stunning, meals served by impecably dressed waiters, cannot fault them! The food was lovely, allthough could do with more fruit in the morning. There were two special nights where there is a set menu for everyone, Gala evenings, which they made a special effort for. The food was very rich, and dessert was usually cake which was heavilly laced with rum, or similar.
Overall a lovely holiday destination!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony and view of the bay of Naples
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,809 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,810
    763
    197
    31
    8
See reviews for
598
1,555
49
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (530)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Catterick Garrison
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

Brilliant Hotel, Fantastic Staff, Very welcoming, very clean, nothing is to much for them to make sure your holiday meets and exceeds your expectations. Gala nights in the restaurant were very good with entertainment and a 5 course meal that showed off the chefs skill.

Room Tip: most rooms overlooking the pool have views down to Sorrento and the Bay of Napples, To the front vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

We stayed at the Aminta for 10 days on half board on 10th may13.What can we say except that fantastic all round,the reception staff were so lovely and helpfull,the diningroom staff were all so friendly and helpfull and our meals were excellent .We had good sevice when we were in the bar with really nice staff.The pool area and terrace is beautifull with fantastic views allround.Our room was really lovely and our maid kept it so nice .We are definately coming back to the Aminta next May 2014 So we rate the Aminta 110%and many thanks to all the staff for helping to giving us such a lovely holiday.

Room Tip: We were on floor 3 with sea view and the bed was so comfotable also we were Married at the San Franc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank arthur h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

We stayed at the Grand Hotel Aminta with our 2 teenage sons. Both of our rooms were of a very high standard as was the hotel throughout. The restaurant was fantastic and staff were extremely professional and attentive. The food was excellent - even the fussy teenagers loved it.
There is a beautiful pool-side area where you can relax and watch the sunset over the bay.
We used the footpath down to the town on a regular basis but the walk back up may be challenging for some. A hotel shuttle bus runs at intervals to and from the town and the streets are enchanting after dark.
We would go back again without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Batca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polmont, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

We stayed at the Aminta for a week half board booked through Thomsons. Great value for money. Hotel restaurant was lovely with a good choice of food.
The shuttle bus was a great service departing every hour. The walk down to Sorrento centre was nice also though, but I wouldn't have walked back up!
Hotel room was really clean and regular maid service.
Would recommend staying here and would stay here again!

Room Tip: We had a balcony and it was definitely worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed a week at the Aminta and you really can't go wrong here.

With the Aminta you are about 5 mins drive out of town up on the hill, so you have incredible views. If you are worried about accessibility, don't be, there's a free shuttle bus hourly.

The only part of your stay you may want to consider is dining. The restaurant is either overpriced or not good quality for the price, depending on your view. We ate in town most evenings though, so no need for that to be much of an issue

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Craigsoota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed at The Aminta in April. We booked through Thomson. It was myself and my two teenage girls.
The journey there was ok. It was bank holiday and took an hour extra due to traffic. Our room was nice with three single beds at the end of the top floor. The view from the room was lovely over Capri. The sunsets were gorgeous. The bathroom had a spectacular view of Vesuvius the room was small but perfectly adequate. Importantly it was quiet at night once the double glazed balcony doors were closed.
The food was a bit repetitive but lovely. I found the head waiter a bit intimidating as he watched the staff like a hawk and shouted at them. Also we had the same table every day. We were not allowed to move! When I asked if we could move from the middle of the room he refused. The hotel owner got drunk one night and made a scene. But most nights we went to bed early.
It is a nice comfortable hotel, quiet within walking distance of town. You get fit waking back or of course there is a free shuttle. Nest time I would not stay here though, I would go to Sorrento for food in the evenings in a relaxed restaruant.
The thomson rep sold very expensive excursions. All that she sold could be booked independently. Quite a few people paid four times the price that we did to go to Vesuvius and when they got to the top it was cloudy and could see nothing. We paid a snip and went on the train and just got the bus from Pompeii. We bought day tickets for the bus along the Amalfi coast and saved over a hundred pounds! Travel is easy and cheap to all the sights. The rep told us their guides were the best.... I am definitely dubious about this and asked how she justified the four or five times inflated prices. All she could come up with was that you were picked up on a coach from the hotel. The way we did it saved hundreds if pounds, was flexible, fun as we had a great time on the train and we did it at our pace. We sent the money saved on pizza on the beach.
Sorrento is lovely, laid back, safe, and wonderful for its architectural and cultural experiences. Suitable for all ages.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shropshirelass66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#28 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
0.8 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,949 reviews
0.3 mi away
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Aminta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Aminta

Property: Grand Hotel Aminta
Address: Via Nastro Verde, 23 | Neapolitan Riviera, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#18 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#21 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Aminta 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aminta occupies a commanding position overlooking the Gulf of Naples with breathtaking views, just 3.5 Km from the centre of Sorrento to which it offers a courtesy bus service. Complimentary breakfast, free Wi-Fi and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your Grand Hotel Aminta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Aminta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing