We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four class but lacking in class”
Review of Grand Hotel Aminta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Aminta
Ranked #25 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Four class but lacking in class”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Let me just say to start off we were on an organised tour and therefore I think that had an impact on our treatment. Secondly in general the staff were very nice. I would have very good things to say about Leila on reception in that she was always c harming and her customer service was excellent. A lot of the younger receptionists frankly were a tad disinterested.
the rooms are very basic and you would want to be very careful in your choice some are up a stairs in the attic with no views and skylights or at least that is what I heard a receptionist say to one very unhappy guest checking in. The first room were were shown would have graced a convent in its sparseness and utilitarianism.
The views are spectacular and worth the charming walk down the winding via cappidamonte. The pool is ok but the poolside chairs were amongst the most uncomfortable I have ever had. Also a main road wraps itself around the hotel so between the noise of cars and lorries and scooters and the not always pleasant bar music peaceful it was not.
But the worst thing of the whole lot was the food and wine. How anyone in Italy could charge 8 euros for a glass of mediocre plonk is above and beyond me and that was the cost of the house wine. What a rip off. Breakfast featured very little fresh fruit - horrenduous orange juice watered down from a machine and plastic cheese. In a land that produces amazing cheeses and the cheese plate after the meal was just as awful. The chef prepared the worst food I have ever had in a four star hotel lots of it and very tasteless and again tinned it tasted like vegetables.
Would never go there again. I had been in sorrento twice in the 90s and love Italy but generally felt that this was not an Italian experince I would ever want to repeat.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a balcony with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SRD18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,062 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,985
    826
    211
    33
    7
See reviews for
662
1,709
56
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (553)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Stayed in Aminta 9/9/2013 for one week and as other reviews say the view is amazing. From the terrace just sit and relax and just soak up the view.On arrival at the Aminta we were allocated a sea view room no balcony which would have been nice but a good room and the housekeeping was great the room was kept spotless.
Had buffet breakfast choice of continental or hot, plenty to choose from we also ate twice in the evening at the hotel 30 euro per person for three course meal 18 euro bottle wine the meals we had where very nice but most nights we liked to walk down into town and eat.Path across road takes you straight into Sorrento about 15 min walk but always got the bus back we took a taxi once but cost 22 euros .
Nice pool area and we never had trouble with sunbeds although September I don't think it was as busy as during peak season.
Sorrento a lovely place but was a bit pricey and I would say a trip along the Amalfi coast is a must if we come back to Sorrento I would stay at the Aminta again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

The hotel was everything that we wanted. It was very clean,the food and service excellent. The views are spectacular. The hotel is quite high up and outside of the town, so it is quiet on a night which we liked. A shuttle bus is provided and we found this to be reliable and the driver was friendly. It is worth doing some research before visiting Sorrento as there are so many interesting places to visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aminta89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Location is nice in way. It's on one of the mountain sides so your view, if you have a ocean view is amazing. But getting back and forth into town without the shuttles can be a real hassle and expensive. 27€. The bus is unreliable as well. Sorrento itself is VERY touristy. The restaurant is atrocious. You have to be out of there by 2130-2200 or you'll get rushed out. Very disappointing and very un-European. I would pick someplace else to eat and spend your €.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BKBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

An excellent hotel in a stunning location - amazing view of the bay of Naples/Vesuvius from the terrace area. Generally the hotel rooms were perfectly adequate with very comfortable beds and efficient air conditioning. The buffet breakfast was excellent with a good choice of both hot and cold food, fruit, pastries, fresh coffee etc.

The only negatives were the lack of sunbeds - almost impossible to get one unless you paid for it and although the shuttle bus was an excellent service, there should have been more buses put on in the height of the season. You could walk fairly easily into town (20 minutes all downhill) but definitely a must to get the bus back. Unfortunately there was one at 9.30pm and then not another one until 11.30pm which could get quite crowded and often difficult to get on! One night this caused some arguments when people were seen to be pushing in and then other people had to wait for a second bus which didn't go down well! However overall a fantastic stay and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

This hotel is in the top of the hill where you can enjoy great views of mount Vesuvius and the bay of Naples.

The service is excellent and the food is very high quality.

We have a very happy stay and because it was off peak season we could enjoy the hotel almost for our self.

If you have a car to move around this hotel should be you first choice, I cannot understand why is not a lot higher in the TripAdvisor ranking.

Room Tip: a balcony room should do the job.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davodiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here at the beginning of September.

First, the positives. The shuttle bus is useful, many of the staff are friendly, and the food in the evenings is delicious and highly recommended.

Now the negatives. Simply put, the Annex is not in my opinion 4 star accomodation. From the start, you have to walk through the pool area to get to it and feel like you are heading to the paupers quarters. The rooms have no sound proofing whatsoever. Every time somebody goes to the toilet in another room you hear everything. Further, if you are in a lower floor room, it sounds as though the toilet and waste pipes are going to dump everything on your head. We had issues with our room and ended up moving twice. We found some reception staff helpful but some seemed disinterested in our problems and were rude.

Having read the reviews on here in detail it is clear that the Annex has issues. I would warn anybody planning to stay here to make sure their room is in the main hotel. We did see someone getting one of the fabled upgrades but this further disappointed us as it came after we were told no rooms in the hotel were available despite the fact I offered to pay to move. This confounded the feeling that having made one reasonable complaint we were on some staffs blacklist.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hungryman456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,233 reviews
1.7 mi away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#41 of 100 in Sorrento
1,084 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,290 reviews
0.3 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
231 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Aminta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Aminta

Property: Grand Hotel Aminta
Address: Via Nastro Verde, 23 | Neapolitan Riviera, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#18 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#21 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Aminta 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aminta occupies a commanding position overlooking the Gulf of Naples with breathtaking views, just 3.5 Km from the centre of Sorrento to which it offers a courtesy bus service. Complimentary breakfast, free Wi-Fi and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Aminta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Aminta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing