We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for 4 stars, half board”
Review of Grand Hotel Aminta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel Aminta
Ranked #23 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights in an attic room. I was originally worried about distance from Sorrento proper, but found that the free hotel shuttle service was awesome. Dinner and breakfast were included, the food was good, not great, but the service was amazing. The house red wine was great for the price. Would stay here again. Views were awesome.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank amandal1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,727 - 1,733 of 3,294 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2014

This hotel is way up the hill from Sorrento town centre and sea front. But from the terraces and sea view rooms the views are outstanding! Luckily they have a shuttle service on the hour right up till 11.30pm BUT not including Siesta time 12.00 till 3 ish. Miss the bus and you've got a taxi ride costing about 28 euros....(I've never seen a meter run round so fast)....or a long hard uphill walk!
The service is outstanding and everyone working there friendly and helpful. As it was our anniversary they upgraded us to a balcony with sea view but there was no sign of some bubbly.
We were sent to the annexe - a villa just behind the main building which you access via a walk though a garden and across the swimming pool terrace. If the weather had been bad, that would have been a wet walk to the restaurant and breakfast. The entire floor was covered in small blue and white tiles and the bathroom was very dated. The shower curtain just couldn't stop attaching itself to you. There was hardly anywhere apart from a narrow shelf above the sink to put your toiletries on either! We ate in the restaurant one night but it was very expensive for the small amount of food on the plate. We had more fun tracking down better deals in town. The hotel guide says there's entertainment but the grand piano in the bar was untouched for the whole 5 days we were there! Not even piped background music. Ultimately the bar experience was boring! BEWARE: The restaurant and bar staff seem to pride themselves in remembering your room number when you sign for meals or drinks...usually they get it wrong! So when you get the bill at the end of your stay CHECK THOSE EXTRA COSTS!!! I found three mistakes that would have cost me 15 euros if I hadn't checked....luckily the bloke who ordered drinks on my room number hadn't got the same signature as me! Basically though, and it was basic, it was a nice weekend!

Room Tip: Go for the sea views...the garden views are boring with loads of lemon trees in rows and no afternoo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wayne321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Do NOT stay here if you want to be located in the hustle and bustle of Sorrento itself. The hotel is up a large hill and while it's nice that they offer a free bus back and forth to the town centre, it can often be full leaving you left behind. The walk is a pleasant one with amazing views but I think - particularly if you're older - walking up the hill is a bit much for most people. I'm a seasoned walker and even I tired of it after a few days. This is completely down to personal preference though, and I very much prefer to stay close to where everything is going on.

As for the hotel itself, I adored it. Nice large and clean rooms, great shower, decent selection of British TV channels, friendly staff and a very good pool area. Breakfast had a lot of choice and didn't feel awkward like a lot can do. I didn't find the dinner menu to cater for Vegetarians that well, but in Italy that is not exactly unusual. So long as you are aware of (and are okay with) the occasionally inconvenient location I'd strongly recommend the hotel, particularly if you have a car.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Good location, friendly staff and very good a la carte food. (did not try the table d'hote). Maybe breakfast slightly limited and occasionally a bit tense waiting for the courtesy bus into town if you had a deadline, but overall a very enjoyable stay. Good views from balcony, and extended our knowledge of cocktails!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 30-years-experience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Booked a one week "Winter Package" directly online with the hotel for March 3-10, 2014. With so few hotels open until April, had to rely heavily on Trip Advisor comments from previous visitors.Turned out to be a hit for my wife and I--aged mid 60s. We came directly from the US West Coast and were met at the Naples Airport by a car from the hotel (included in the package). Given the 9 hour time change we were rather useless for 48+ hours. We had upgraded to a Superior room with balcony on the swimming pool side (third floor). Phenomenal views over Sorrento and Vesuvius in the distance both day and night. Room clean and sufficiently roomy. Breakfasts (included) were good and dinners (also included in the package) we also quite acceptable. Hotel and restaurant staff were very friendly and helpful. We had good weather given the time of year and other than several windy days enjoyed the sunny high location of the hotel. Of course, the hotel shuttle to near the town center is a must for this location but works well.. Walked down several times but not back up. Like others on this site, my comment is that the 3 hour break in the shuttle schedule in the afternoon is too long--two hours would be much better. Days trips to Capri and the Amalfi coast were very good but the highlight were long lunches at the Marina Grande sitting the in the sun. We will go back at the drop of a hat and the Grand Aminta "Winter Package" in great value.

Room Tip: 3rd and 4th floors pool side have unbelievable views to Sorrento and Vesuvius
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel through Hotwire and really enjoyed our stay. We had booked a standard room but were upgraded to sea view on arrival. The finishes to the hotel are beautiful, the front desk staff were really warm and friendly, and the food in the restaurant was delicious! The wifi worked great. Only cons were thin walls - we were next to a crying baby and it was quite loud but the reception staff moved us into another room no problem, and the furniture could be upgraded but then it would probably be 5 stars. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jgoodtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We had a great stay at Hotel Aminta. The hotel was very clean and spacious. We had a great view and the staff was GREAT. If you are using a GPS please be careful as we had some adventures with ours. When you get to the fork with all the hotel names take the road on the left vs right. Look for the hotel name on the list.
The breakfast was amazing. There was eggs, bacon, sausages, cheese, ham, croissants, and many other breads and sweets! The waiter is constantly going around to each table to refill coffee and tea. The hotel also has a shuttle and FREE parking. Love our stay! :)

Room Tip: Room with the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ange A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento
0.6 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
3,490 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Prestige Sorrento
Hotel Prestige Sorrento
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
2,521 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Hotel La Vue D'Or
#30 of 100 in Sorrento
1,043 reviews
0.7 mi away
Maison Tofani
Maison Tofani
#16 of 100 in Sorrento
1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Aminta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Aminta

Address: Via Nastro Verde, 23 | Neapolitan Riviera, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#18 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#20 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £57 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Aminta 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aminta occupies a commanding position overlooking the Gulf of Naples with breathtaking views, just 3.5 Km from the centre of Sorrento to which it offers a courtesy bus service. Complimentary breakfast, free Wi-Fi and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel Aminta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Aminta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing