We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Grand Aminta!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Hotel Aminta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Aminta
Ranked #25 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Southminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic Grand Aminta!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

We have just left after a fantastic week staying at The Hotel Grand Aminta. This Hotel was recommended to us and it far exceeded our expectations! Every member of staff went out of their way to ensure our stay was memorable and they were all so polite and smart! I'd mentioned in an email that it would be my Husbands Birthday while we were there and also the Year of our Silver Wedding and not only did they upgrade our room from Garden to Sea view with complimentary Champagne on arrival, but presented my Husband with a lovely Birthday Cake and MORE Champagne on the night of his Birthday! The Room was spotlessly clean with a huge Bed, Sofa, desk and a great Jacuzzi Bath! The Restaurant was fantastic with huge windows with views to die for! Food was excellent (I'd consider half board next time as probably better value) Buffet style Breakfast the best I've had - so much choice! Large Terrace with Panoramic views and a great Pool area (unheated, so too cold in May!) In the Bar, Tony and Giuseppi gave us great friendly service and always had time for a chat. Deborah in reception was always so very helpful (even charging my Camera for me) and Victoria just lovely too. The location is fantastic, high up overlooking Sorrento and the Bay of Naples and with the bonus of a courtesy shuttle Bus which was a Godsend - so punctual you could set your watch by it! All in all a wonderful Hotel that well deserves it's 4* rating and we will be returning! Thankyou Grand Aminta!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank 58diane58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,845 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,837
    771
    198
    31
    8
See reviews for
608
1,572
52
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Our first hotel stay on our trip to Italy in March '14 was the Grand Hotel Aminta. It took a while to locate the hotel driving (took a couple of false starts up into the hills out of town), but we were blown away by the views once we got up there. It was not very busy that time of year, so they upgraded us to big rooms with wonderful views and fancy bathrooms. Rooms were quite clean and well furnished.
Parking is easy, and free.
The shuttle into town in indispensable, and very convenient. It is a fairly long walk into town.
The breakfast buffet was the best we had on the whole trip.
Unless you want to be right in the middle of the hustle and bustle of town, this place is an excellent choice for a stay in Sorrento.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mruts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Como, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

I stayed 3 nights in seafront room with a beautiful view of Sorrento.
The personnel was extremely friendly and helpful.
The room was clean, size ok, shower not the best.
Good breakfast with a great view on the Gulf of Naples.
Free private parking in front of the hotel or across the street.
It's about 10 minutes drive to the center of Sorrento, and in direction to visit the Amalfi Coast.
They organize shuttles every hour that go back and forth to Sorrento.
I would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilJacko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wantage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

The Grand Hotel Aminta is blessed with truly stunning views. The vista from the hotel is a one hundred and eighty degree panorama; Naples, fifteen miles away; Vesuvius, the brooding but dormant volcano; iconic Pomei; Monte Faito, tumbling down into the sea; the ocean liners, anchored in the Bay of Sorrento, made to look like tot boats by the surrounding hills.

The staff are all smartly dressed and very polite, could not do enough to make you feel welcome. We found the restaurant to be 'good', dammed by faint praise in this sea of opulence; weak concentrate orange juice in a region famed for it's citruses fruit?

Would go back and use this as a base for exploring the region. Capri and Amalfi coast are all just a boat ride away.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JerseyBean55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Aminta for 1 week at the end of April .it was our 50th birthday the day we arrived. At night they brought in a cake and champagne after our meal. It was so lovely of them. The staff can't do enough for you, and the waiters are so friendly and work very hard as do all the staff.the food is really nice and you have 2 gala nights which is great as you get entertainment while you eat brilliant. Our room faced the pool which had a sea view and view of mount Vesuvius stunning .the bed in our room was massive and very comfy couldn't have picked a begetter room. The walk into town is lovely passed the lemon trees doesn't take long to walk, and the free bus is great to come back up.would certainly recommend this hotel. A very big thank you for making our birthday extra special.

Room Tip: Recommend the sea view rooms in the hotel opposite the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank southwell43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Good views fine food and very good service. suited us but is set up for a relaxing time rather than a full on holiday hotel. not for those people looking for full on entertainment. nothing is to much trouble and your made to feel very welcome.

Room Tip: room overlooking the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lindsay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Beautiful location, beautiful view from the balcony, the only negative was the loud barking of dogs every night, hard to sleep. I would not get those rooms again because of that. We could not leave our doors open because of this and the other two couples we were with felt the same way. Breakfast was great, but could have been open a little longer. Dinner on Easter was superb. Everyone extremely friendly and helpful. The transportation to the center of town was great, the bus driver made it even a better experience, playing music and singing along with us.
Paula R.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paula R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.8 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,230 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,184 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,003 reviews
0.3 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
1.7 mi away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#40 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Aminta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Aminta

Property: Grand Hotel Aminta
Address: Via Nastro Verde, 23 | Neapolitan Riviera, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#18 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#21 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Aminta 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aminta occupies a commanding position overlooking the Gulf of Naples with breathtaking views, just 3.5 Km from the centre of Sorrento to which it offers a courtesy bus service. Complimentary breakfast, free Wi-Fi and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Aminta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Aminta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing