We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely...”
Review of Grand Hotel Aminta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel Aminta
Ranked #25 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Would definitely return. Hotel arranged transport for us from Naples to hotel, expensive but when arriving at night you just want to get to the hotel and its 1hour 15mins away, nice comfortable trip.
Check in was prompt, porters take your cases, receptionist very helpful and pleasant, in fact all the staff at Aminta were very helpful. We chose to stay in the annexe about 100yards from main building but pleasant little walk past lemon groves, would not suggest for disabled though. Large room, a little dated and bathroom needs updating, but we had a balcony with stunning views of mount versuivas and the sea. Breakfast the same daily and not to my liking, fresh fruit and eggs to be ordered but plenty of pastries and breads. Beautiful, stunning views...pool not heated but refreshing on a hot day! No pool waiter but once drinks ordered at the bar they will bring to you around the pool. We mainly ate in the restaurant in the evening, nice food and on par with restaurants in town. Walk to town downhill and approx. 20mins, past a few dead rats on the way! Shuttle buses run hourly except for 2hrs in the afternoon and 10.30pm, godsend when you've been out all day, but you do tend to clock watch to make sure you haven't missed it. We found Italy itself very expensive, forget starters at 10euros + and drinks are pretty expensive, but main meals fairly well priced. Trips we did include: Capri by ferry, Pompeii by train, Amalfi coast by sightseeing bus (would recommend hiring a car for this as you cant really take pictures unless you are quick). All in all a beautiful place and would definitely recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Annexe choose room with balcony on first floor-stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank angie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,665 - 1,671 of 3,249 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

We chose this hotel largely based on reviews on here and were most definitely not disappointed. I can only echo other peoples comments about the stunning views. We had booked a room in the attic on the 5th floor and were pretty impressed with the room that had a skylight as well as a low window behind a set of doors which provided plenty of light along with some spectacular views. The room had a decent amount of storage for 2 people, think there was just one main plug socket not already in use but there was a usb socket which was handy, the bathroom was more than adequate. Only other comment on the room would be to make sure you watch your head due to the eaves.
Breakfast had a good selection on the buffet but you were alsoable to order further items from the menu including melon, fruit salad and various cooked eggs. We had one evening meal in the hotel on our first night and this was lovely and price wise probably on par with some restaurants in the main town.
We tended to make the 15 minute walk down the hill into the town but still used the hotel bus service every day, this was always very prompt. Our only bugbear with this bus service was its timings, it would run on the hour down into town and then on the half hour back from town, except there was no service between 12:30 and 15:30 and then no 22:30 which we found would be the ideal time to come back in the evening. One evening we missed the 21:30 and having not wanted to hang around until 23:30 we took a taxi from the main square, this cost us €25 which personally we found pretty steep for a 7 minute journey.
Overall we found this to be a wonderful hotel in an idyllic location, far enough from the town to allow easy access (down the hill anyway) but far enough to be quiet allowing you to enjoy the beautiful panoramas.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ali083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Really enjoyed our stay here!

The hotel is situated half way up the mountains, it's about 5-6 minutes drive from the centre of Sorrento, or about 20-25 minutes walk down the pathway that can be joined directly opposite the hotel. They also have a mini bus making regular trips into town, and when you check in the reception staff will give you a card with the times on it.

Due to it sitting in the mountains the views are magnificent where ever you are. Whether it be from the bar, the restaurant, the pool or the rooms - you're going to get a great view of the town and sea. On clear days you'll easily be able to make out Mount Vesuvius and the Bay of Naples.

Parking is available on site and there seemed to be plenty of it when we arrived (quite late) so that wasn't a problem. We had booked a room in the Annex, which is a separate building at the end of the gardens, but we were moved into the main building - probably because it was fairly quiet and they hadn't opened the Annex. Fine by us as we viewed it as a free upgrade!

The rooms were excellent, very clean and very modern. My room had a balcony overlooking the sea and mountains. The rooms all had iPhone chargers which was very convenient.

The whole hotel looked very modern and very well maintained. The reception area contained a large break-out room where you could find a sofa and just relax with a drink or two. The bar up stairs was small but jazzed up to look as if it had just had a refit! The restaurant was really nice, clean, and bright. I had the chicken and it was excellent. The continental breakfast was also very good and we were able to get away with just a light lunch because we ate so much!

All the staff (reception, restaurants, bar) were very friendly and helpful.

We stayed for 2 nights and spent our day looking around Sorrento and then catching the fast ferry over to Capri. If I were to visit again I'd be looking at the availability of this hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This was our second stay at the Aminta, and the hotel was every bit as good as we remembered from 4 years earlier. The main attraction is the extended panorama that runs uninterrupted from the bright roofs of Sorrento below you to the hazy form of Ischia standing distant across the bay of Naples. For such a view there is little compromise, as the hotel is only a 10-15 minutes safe walk from Sorrento itself, and is serviced by a private bus that runs every hour for most of the day. The hotel is attractive and well maintained, with staff who are genuinely attentive and knowledgable. The rooms are relatively large, and many have a balcony (ours allowed for many pleasurable afternoons and evenings in the sun). The food was excellent throughout our stay, with a wide variety of choice for both breakfast and the evening meal. The only downside was the tiled and echoing corridors between the rooms, which whilst very pretty, also exacerbate the noises of other guests rising early or returning late.

Room Tip: Any room with a balcony is worth the cost. Stunning views across the bay of Naples from your room ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart_and_Becky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This being my first trip to this part of Italy, my partner and I wanted to stay somewhere a bit special. So after a bit of research, we chose the Aminta. Good choice! The views are as everyone says in their reviews, breathtaking, photos do not do them justice. We stayed in the annexe in the garden which is some distance from the hotel but it suited us perfectly. The large room had a balcony with views over the bay with some slighly worn but very comfortable wicker chairs. The room was well equipped with a dockable radio for ipods etc and a USB socket in the wall. A minifridge was very handy to keep our water and milk cool, purchased from a local supermarket, so tea on demand! The toilet, having a raised cistern had the most powerful flush that I have ever encountered, I don't think many people mention that!
We did have a slight mishap which was dealt with with most satisfactorily. One evening, we retired early after a day tramping around Pompeii. We were just nodding off, when there was an almighty crash from the bathroom. On investigation, it transpired that the narrow glass shelf had fallen into the sink and in the process, a glass tumbler had shattered. It seems that the shelf was glued in place on the 2 support arms.
I cleaned up the glass as best as I could and reported it to reception in the morning. The young girl was aghast and said it would be dealt with immediately. I said we were going out for the day so it could be sorted anytime during our absence On returning in the evening, not only had the shelf been replaced with a new one but so had the sink! There was a hairline crack in the old one but I don't know if the glass had caused it. Also, there was a complimentary fresh bowl of fruit for our "inconvienience", nice touch.
We couldn't fault the staff at the Aminta. Incredibly helpful, all spoke English, even our room maid "Rosa" who kept our room spotless and always smiled and wished us a good day if we saw her.
The food is wonderful too, we went half board and the breakfasts were good but the eveing meals were top class, usually traditional Italian food, plus choices of meats, excellenlty presented and plenty of it. "Michael" (anglicised version of Italian name) was a superp Maitre D', running a very efficient dining room, like clockwork, never waiting for long or being ignored.
On my birthday, which my partner swears she never mentioned to the staff, Michael, presented me witha lovely cake with candle, sang me happy birthday, and not only did we have a free bottle of white wine, but also a bottle of Proscecco, a really nice touch.
There was a "Neopolitan" evening as well as a Gala evening whilst we were there. I won't spoil the surprise as to what they are in case you decide to go there.
Prices are not cheap at the bar or for "extras", this is not a crticism but normal for these parts. We didn't feel cheated though. Organised trips are quite expensive and we normally pay the holiday company directly to save the hassle. However, on this occassion, having booked through British Airways, we had only paid for the flight and hotel. To save a few Euros (actually a lot of Euros), we braved public transport, i.e. buses and trains, eg. train to Pompeii cost next to nothing and easy to get to from Sorrento, even though it was packed on our outward journey. We took a bus to Amalfi and caught a coach coming back as the buses were filling up with school children. We took a hydrofoil from Sorrento to Capri and a ferry back, also the funicular railway to the higher part of Anacapri, if we can do it, anyone can, saves a fortune too.
The free shuttle bus from the hotel is a real boon, runs very promptly every hour except for "siesta" time.
So, dear reader, if you are looking for a hotel in a great location, with fantastic views, brilliant staff, wonderful food, then this is the place. OK its not the cheapest place in the world but we didn't begrudge a euro. Its away from the bustle of Sorrento, but once you have spent time in the town, thats a blessing, delightful as it is, its very busy with traffic, scooters hurtling around like angry bluebottles everywhere, and crossing the road is adventurous to say the least!
I would recommend this hotel to anyone, (not for the bucket and spade brigade though, and no chips unless you ask for them, or bingo, thank goodness!) People make an effort to dress nicely for dinner, it has a superb dining room, where else can you dine and see Vesuvius?
Email me if you have any questions, and I'll do my best to answer them, I'll put a couple of photos on with this review too. Happy holidays.

Room Tip: Overlooking the Bay of Naples!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank edloon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. They upgraded our room on arrival which was awesome! Hotel staff were great, room was very clean. There is a bus to the town every hour but we walked down (to make up for all the pizza!!). Overall we had a great time!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jody T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

My husband and i have just returned from this wonderful hotel and are missing it . The food and service were excellent. The bar staff, restaurant staff and reception staff were excellent, friendly and efficient. The facilities , rooms and general areas in the hotel were excellent and the pool area and outside sitting areas were lovely. The view from the hotel was amazing. The shuttle bus was a fantastic bonus and so punctual. We have no complaints at all and would go again in a heart beat and recommend to anyone. Thanks Aminta

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xxspxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,444 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Hotel La Vue D'Or
#31 of 100 in Sorrento
1,032 reviews
0.8 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#42 of 100 in Sorrento
1,142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,489 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Aminta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Aminta

Address: Via Nastro Verde, 23 | Neapolitan Riviera, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#18 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#21 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £69 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Aminta 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aminta occupies a commanding position overlooking the Gulf of Naples with breathtaking views, just 3.5 Km from the centre of Sorrento to which it offers a courtesy bus service. Complimentary breakfast, free Wi-Fi and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel Aminta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Aminta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing