We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant”
Review of Grand Hotel Aminta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Aminta
Ranked #24 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2009

This hotel in Sorrento was beautiful, we had a wonderful room with a seaside view which was breath taking. The room was clean. The pool was closed due to not being in season... The hotel staff was very helpful. The breakfast which was included in our rate was good. The wait staff wonderful, happy and friendly. The dinner experience was good. There was a bar area which we took advantage of and enjoyed the view as well. We would go back again and highly recommend. There is a shuttle bus on a shedule outside the hotel which we used and had no problem. If you had to walk to town you could but coming back uphill could be a hike. The staff was great.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eteichman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,627 - 2,633 of 3,287 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2009

The Grand Aminta was exactly as shown. We booked and upgraded Double Room with Balcony and Sea View. The upgrade was worth it. The view is spectacular from Aminta - with one drawback - the Flagpoles over the Restaurant interfere from the second and third floor balconies. The Staff were always helpful, some more than others but all were courteous and polite - and they all spoke english very well. We Stayed before Tourist Season so some of the normal hotel amenities weren't available - like next day laundry. But that wasn't an issue we couldn't adjust for. It was only a small surprise I wasn't ready for. There was another normal service that was limited because of pre-season. These could have been Identified in the Room Binders ahead of time to preclude the "suprise". The Rooms were very clean and well equipped. Our Bed was a king size, and was firmer than any hotel I'd stayed in with the exception of Okinawa, Japan, but they didn't keep us from sleeping as our busy schedule and jet lag all helped. The noise from the rooms on either side was more than expected also. We could hear our neighbors talking late into the night, so our ear plugs came in handy. We didn't use the hotel restaurant or bar, with the exception of breakfast (which was included in my rate), and it was excellent, with a decent choice of pastries, breads, fruit, eggs, meat, juices, and coffee and tea that competes with many five star hotel restaurants. We opted not to bring our laptop. The room safe was was small, but large enough to hold a couple my american wallet, a couple jewelry items and my small camera - but there was a room safe which I liked. The Room Doors still use metal keys, which are on a large Fob, that I removed so I wouldn't have to lug it around. They would be well served to install electronic card entry locks and catch locks on the inside, to prevent instruders when you're in the room. Being located away from town can be a plus or a negative - I liked the view as I said, but had to rely on the Hotel Shuttle to get to/from town - It ran on a regular schedule and was right on time every time (I had read other articles contrary to this). The Drivers were courteous also and we ran into one of them in a local resturaunt who volunteered to bring us back to the Hotel on his own time in his personal car, because he saw that we would have had to wait over an hour for the shuttle (between 6:30 and 9:30 there is no service - at least in pre-season). All in all the Room was nice, clean, and large enough to relax, there was ample space to hang our clothes and store our other items. The View was really nice, and the Staff was always more than helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ctocm_aw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2009

The location, the food, the pool lounge bar , EVERYTHING was wonderful! We would like to convey our thanks to all your staff - from reception, to the restaurant and bar area, to the pool and the maid that looked after our room. Everyone we had contact with was a real credit to the hotel,
they all went out of their way to make sure our holiday was perfect.
We defenetly recommend this beautiful spot of the world to everybody!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pkircher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2009

This was the first stop on our 2 week Italian honeymoon adventure and it was perfect. The hotel is beautiful, clean, comfortable, has very helpful receptionists and amazing views. We went in the beginning of March, which is their off season, so there were not too many guests staying at the hotel. Because of this, we were upgraded to a room with a balcony and a view. The rooms have very clean bathrooms.The staff was very friendly and helpful. My husband forgot to bring a converter for his camera charger and they offered to lend him one from the front desk(although it didn't work because we needed a transformer). They gave us great recommendations to restaurants and day trip to towns nearby. They offer a shuttle bus to and from the center of town that runs very frequently. The hotel is about a 15 min walk from the center of Sorrento, so this was very convenient. They also have free internet in the rooms as well as on 3 computers in the lobby. All in all it was a very good experience.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank milikkelbutmitaliwah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2009

I have been to the Grand Hotel Aminta many times. It is a wonderful hotel in a beautiful location. Each time I revisit the hotel it is like visiting old friends. The staff is always friendly and the quality of the food is outstanding. The hotel is close to the city center but far enough away to feel removed from busy traffic. The complimentary shuttle bus is great but sometimes I decided to walk among the old city walls. The whole area is perfumed by the citrus trees.
Wonderful views of Mt Vesuvius and the town of Sorrento from the hotels restaurant really make the dining experience so special.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Limoncello40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2009

We stayed one week at the Aminta in March '08. This was a great place to stay if you are looking for a relaxing break. We stayed in a room with balcony overlooking the front of the hotel. The views were beautiful with fantastic sunsets.
Staff were friendly and helpful. We stayed on a half board basis and we were not disappointed! Food, wine and service excellent with good variety. We never had any need to eat out.
Our room was clean and comfortable . We used the free hotel shuttle bus into Sorrento many times which was great; however, we did walk down into Sorrento a couple of times and the scenery/views are beautiful.. This is downhill so makes a great stroll down though would not recommend walking back uphill unless you are feeling very energetic!
The only negative thing we could say about this hotel is its location (situated in the hills) - this may not suit everyone who want to be near shops etc .
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AndyDKnebworth_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2009

Our receptionist made a world of difference to our experience. We did not like our room. Was a bit too clinical, stiff. The hotel was a but away from the main town so we had to be catch the hotel bus which ran on timely schedule. We would have prefered to be be near to town to do our own thing but alot was hinged on keeping the same schedule as the bus.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SSSJam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento
0.6 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
3,477 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Hotel La Vue D'Or
#31 of 100 in Sorrento
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,521 reviews
0.8 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#9 of 100 in Sorrento
2,360 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Prestige Sorrento
Hotel Prestige Sorrento
#28 of 100 in Sorrento
1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Aminta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Aminta

Address: Via Nastro Verde, 23 | Neapolitan Riviera, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#18 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#20 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £59 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Aminta 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aminta occupies a commanding position overlooking the Gulf of Naples with breathtaking views, just 3.5 Km from the centre of Sorrento to which it offers a courtesy bus service. Complimentary breakfast, free Wi-Fi and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Aminta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Aminta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing